Seriously, is BYD good?

Firestorm1978

BYD is a very established brand in China and all my China friends swear by this brand. I heard that billions are spent on research and they are the leader in terms of batteries for EVs. If really need to buy China brand, BYD would probably be the first choice. While in China, I have sat in many BYD's vehicles which were generally smooth and the interior quite spacious. Value for money (over there in China) lol.

However, I have not personally owned one and may not know it's actual reliability in Singapore. So can't comment.

champion09

My lao pok chia going to uplorry soon. Sigh.
for EV it is decent, but the price in singapore is 10-12 times more than that in China which I think is crazy. Thats why the chinese EV makers are laughing at duff sgreans.

singaporean11

Obviously they cannot afford sustain their merc and bmw la! Arbo tell you upfront they can't afford ah? :s13:

My friend also like that, cannot afford car then have to take bus bmw walk then everyday chanting only kum-gongs then buy car to convince himself public transport jin good jin efficient go car-less is the smartest way to be
Merc and BMW are over-rated lah, nowsaday not as good, especially the A and B class (including GLA and GLB), thin can lah (not made in Germany)!
Even the Merc C class and E class and the BMW engines always leak oil after a few years old, my estate's car park always got lots of oil under them after they parked.
My friend got a Merc whose engine suddenly die while driving on expressway, so scary! Another time engine cannot start and need to be towed back C&C for repairs (and without car for a few days). So many problems after a few years even though my friend bought a brand new Merc from C&C!

Assault

for EV it is decent, but the price in singapore is 10-12 times more than that in China which I think is crazy. Thats why the chinese EV makers are laughing at duff sgreans.
the price is high in Singapore due to Government tax, not because the sellers are making more money. All cars in SG are like that. You know that, right?

champion09

the price is high in Singapore due to Government tax, not because the sellers are making more money. All cars in SG are like that. You know that, right?
even before our green rebate grant, BYD priced M6 at SGD220k. take away the paper, it is at SGD120k which is RMB660k (which I dont understand why they have the courage to set that price level). The didi drivers in china probably paid only RMB100k which is probably around SGD18k.

The maths is pretty straight forward. Anything that comes to our shores will auto mark up multiple times cause Sgreans can pay.

Jirachi

even before our green rebate grant, BYD priced M6 at SGD220k. take away the paper, it is at SGD120k which is RMB660k (which I dont understand why they have the courage to set that price level). The didi drivers in china probably paid only RMB100k which is probably around SGD18k.

The maths is pretty straight forward. Anything that comes to our shores will auto mark up multiple times cause Sgreans can pay.
Probably the import duties for cars and also ARF is part of the selling price.

harbinger255

It's not rocket science or a deep conspiracy leh...

https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/cont...ying/Car_Cost_Update/M032-Car_Cost_Update.pdf

runforyourlife

Ish true.... I buy a byd to do phv until I can afford a non entry level audi/merc/beemer :crazy:

Seriously, you don't feel claustrophobic in anything less than an A6/5/E class meh?
Not in an X, GL or Q series.

And the facts you haven't buy a byd yet. If we buy den is sunset liao. Like downgrade to hdb from landed.

Forever84

Actually I think BYD battery tech is one of the most advanced already. Even Tesla uses their battery

and people who think their interior no good should go test drive one… some inside materials are even better than the rubbish entry level bmw or merc

koster

Merc and BMW are over-rated lah, nowsaday not as good, especially the A and B class (including GLA and GLB), thin can lah (not made in Germany)!
Even the Merc C class and E class and the BMW engines always leak oil after a few years old, my estate's car park always got lots of oil under them after they parked.
My friend got a Merc whose engine suddenly die while driving on expressway, so scary! Another time engine cannot start and need to be towed back C&C for repairs (and without car for a few days). So many problems after a few years even though my friend bought a brand new Merc from C&C!
But amdk syndrome very strong here leh

rabies79

Actually I think BYD battery tech is one of the most advanced already. Even Tesla uses their battery

and people who think their interior no good should go test drive one… some inside materials are even better than the rubbish entry level bmw or merc

To consider the battery of advanced technology you need to understand what is being placed inside between cell to cell to eliminate possible thermal runway. But this we wouldn't know since BYD never declare or no one asked. I have came across automotive makers using Packed aerogel slotting between cells to counteract thermal runway.

Having said that BYD is still considered one of the world's top 3 battery manufacturers besides CALB and CATL, but the other two are more well known for industrial purposes like we are using them for marine electrification business as well as energy storage purposes.

Jeremy1

If no good, it won't be the Number 1 Best Selling Car in Singapore liao :s21:

Forever84

To consider the battery of advanced technology you need to understand what is being placed inside between cell to cell to eliminate possible thermal runway. But this we wouldn't know since BYD never declare or no one asked. I have came across automotive makers using Packed aerogel slotting between cells to counteract thermal runway.

Having said that BYD is still considered one of the world's top 3 battery manufacturers besides CALB and CATL, but the other two are more well known for industrial purposes like we are using them for marine electrification business as well as energy storage purposes.
BYD use LFP. Thermal runaway got chain reaction bo? I not sure u sound like expert

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.