Seriously, is BYD good?

singaporean11

Yup. They bringing in Sealion 7 Cat A variant soon. Those that just brought Sealion 6 n 7 Cat B must be damn tu lan. Typical Ah Tiong style of doing business. Ah Tiong think sinkies can change cars like changing underwear. :ROFLMAO:
Sealion 7 Cat A?
So small engine?
No idea who will buy except those who want to own a car but want to save every penny? Will this car be like Merc GLA or A-class will have problem climbing the slopes of Genting Highlands? 🤭

V_for_Vanilla

Singaporeans have the mentality that "Expensive" means always "Better" than "Cheap" is it? 🤭
No wonder so many got chop "carrot heads" buying Hermes bags or LV bags or Chanel bags, etc! :ROFLMAO:
Or buy Maserati (that always go into Garage for repairs)? :rolleyes:
Maserati is going down plagued by poor sales and financial losses. Stellantis who owns the brand has written off their future projects and investments. They are now trying to pivot to EV, assuming the brand can survive till the transition. I can understand why people pay for perceived brand perceptions. But a car is more than just a woman's handbag. It is not very smart to pay for brand and overlook the hardware and tech.

Jacy_Phang

Sealion 7 Cat A?
So small engine?
No idea who will buy except those who want to own a car but want to save every penny? Will this car be like Merc GLA or A-class will have problem climbing the slopes of Genting Highlands? 🤭
Yes. Hearsay it weigh 2.2 tons..imagine the weight vs power...not very sure on this though..wait for the official release ba .

AndroidComa

Ah Tiong think sinkies can change cars like changing underwear. :ROFLMAO:
their own internal and international sales not so good
see SG as dumping grounds
it is scary to buy a 200-300K Chinese ev cos within 1 year your car is OUTDATED liao
that's what is happening to denza
china already push out 2-3 new 'facelift' compared to the 1 selling in SG and denza is still selling the older version in sg, trying to lelong

AndroidComa

So u are sure 100% BYD battery won't catch fire lol
https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20250711-7126508

Electric car smoke in the morning civil defense water gun and fire extinguisher cooling​

The new electric car smokes in the early morning, and the civil defense forces use water guns and fire extinguishers to cool down.
The incident occurred at 00:20 a.m. on Friday (July 11) at the location of the agent distributor of the Derman Garden Bend BYD brand.
It is understood that the smoking vehicle is a new BYD Seal series electric car, the car was in a static state at that time.
Vantage Automotive, the official dealer of BYD Automobile in Singapore, said in response to the "Lianhe Morning Post" inquiry that the dealer has been informed of the relevant accident.
All BYD cars in Singapore are equipped with BYD "blade batteries" (lithier-shaped lithium iron phosphate batteries), which is widely regarded as one of the safest electric vehicle battery technologies in the world.

“Safety is always our top priority. Although the preliminary investigation revealed that this may have been an isolated incident, we have dealt with the matter with the utmost seriousness and will publish the full report after the completion of the investigation.”
In response to the Associated Morning Post, the Singapore Civil Defence Force said that when the authorities arrived, they found white smoke at the bottom of an electric car.
Firefighters immediately dispatched water guns and fire extinguishers to cool the electric car and injected water directly into the battery compartment to cool down.
After the battery cooled, the contractor towed the electric car to the repair plant.
No one was injured in the crash and the Civil Defence Force is investigating the cause.

administrator88

it is scary to buy a 200-300K Chinese ev cos within 1 year your car is OUTDATED liao
china already push out 2-3 new 'facelift' compared to the 1 selling in SG and denza is still selling the older version in sg, trying to lelong
Because due to time to market. Paper approval from authorities etc. the model become outdated liao as China EV pushing new model very fast now compared to last time

AndroidComa

Because due to time to market. Paper approval from authorities etc. the model become outdated liao as China EV pushing new model very fast now compared to last time
yah
i heard from my C&C SE the EQS SUV took 6 months for approval....

dunno what LTA is doing also

Jacy_Phang

Like I said..its typical Ah Tiong business style.

I used to dabble in those China made retro handheld last time. Every 3mths they push out new model with little to zero improvement..handheld r cheap..cars here are not..I do agree they r using here as dumping ground..eg. oredi have Dolphin , why still launch Atto 2 n last I heard..Indo side have Atto 1..

AndroidComa

Like I said..its typical Ah Tiong business style.

I used to dabble in those China made retro handheld last time. Every 3mths they push out new model with little to zero improvement..handheld r cheap..cars here are not..I do agree they r using here as dumping ground..eg. oredi have Dolphin , why still launch Atto 2 n last I heard..Indo side have Atto 1..
they want copy BMW
X1,2,3,4,5,6,7

Forever84

Singaporeans have the mentality that "Expensive" means always "Better" than "Cheap" is it? 🤭
No wonder so many got chop "carrot heads" buying Hermes bags or LV bags or Chanel bags, etc! :ROFLMAO:
Or buy Maserati (that always go into Garage for repairs)? :rolleyes:
Many buy brand like xpeng or zeekr instead as it is branded as luxury Chinese EV. Is it really? 🤭

harbinger255

someone once said ppl buyed KR cars because they cannot afford a proper JP cars.
I jolly well know what I can and cannot afford... who cares as long as I drive happy... :s13:

Only idiots spend money to please/impress others..... dunno how hard it is to earn lor

Jacy_Phang

Many buy brand like xpeng or zeekr instead as it is branded as luxury Chinese EV. Is it really? 🤭
LoL..I didnt know China cars owners here choose based on badge..pple buy whichever brand based on the price, design n functionality that they fancy/need.

Forever84

Car in SG is different. The value is defined by COE. Even old Tesla model are not selling “cheaper”

Forever84

LoL..I didnt know China cars owners here choose based on badge..pple buy whichever brand based on the price, design n functionality that they fancy/need.
They think more high class Ma

it’s like korean vs Japanese car like that

singaporean11

Every brand's car, regardless of from China or Germany or France or Japan or Korea, every year they also introduce a new model (some with just minor touch-ups and/or facelifts) and the previous year's launched ones will be OUTDATED, don't understand what is the difference compared to the Chinese ones you singled out? :unsure:
You got some "beef" with anything "Chinese"? 🤭

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.