Seriously, is BYD good?

DragonFire

Unbiased personal opinion is that it is a good meow. Support is good, performance is good, pricing is about as good as can be for what you get.

If you want a more refined UI I think Tesla is better. If you want a more refined interior, Zeekr, Avatr. Xpeng

If you have money to burn for less performance and a nice name, the traditional European marques be it. Interior may not necessarily be better than the high end Chinese models mind you. Those give even Lexus a run for the money.

starry_starry_night

Just saw my friend ig stories, his byd atto3 got some problem with the screen behind his steering (I think is the screen for showing the speedometer all that), the screen flickering can't see sheet..ended up tio towed back to workshop.

Any byd atto3 owner kenna before?

peterpater

But this does not ans the
If you ask any BYD owner they will sing until skies high praise until 天上有低下无

But if you offer to buy them a merc or bmw, they will be gladly to give away their BYD.

So you guess is BYD good or bad?
this does not answer if bud is good or not tho. It answers that merc and better.

DragonFire

i know I will get shot down, I test drove twice, Atto 3 and M6. Honestly, the driving is meh. For a light footed person, the brakes are so sensitive that every mm you step down felt like an e-brake. The acceleration is suitable for heavy foot ppl cause my usual light tap on accelerator doesnt really move the car.
The problem with Chinese EVs is that a lot of things need to be messed with in software. Accel aggressiveness, braking aggressivemess, regen braking. Sometimes just too much customization.

dev_stg_prd

Unbiased personal opinion is that it is a good meow. Support is good, performance is good, pricing is about as good as can be for what you get.

If you want a more refined UI I think Tesla is better. If you want a more refined interior, Zeekr, Avatr. Xpeng

If you have money to burn for less performance and a nice name, the traditional European marques be it. Interior may not necessarily be better than the high end Chinese models mind you. Those give even Lexus a run for the money.
the XPeng L03 Mona quite nice

Dudick

Should say COE not cheap .. plus byd not much china ev competitors in SG yet... just see china brand in Sg Vs Msia.. In msia they have much and better choice to choose from.

With no major competition no incentives for BYD to fight price war in SG.
And yet Msia best selling brand is Proton, so just buy Proton

Flexamoria

A single BYD e6 has recorded the highest lifetime odometer mileage for the brand at 1,124,518 km (approx. 698,745 miles) during its active service life.High-Mileage Milestones & RecordsHighest Odometer (EV):

A high-use BYD e6 electric taxi/fleet vehicle crossed the 1.12 million-kilometer mark, showcasing the long-term durability of early BYD battery and electric motor systems.High-Mileage Private/Taxi EVs:

Individual reports on models like the BYD Han have documented working fleet units passing 433,000 km on original factory motors and batteries.Rapid-Use Consumer Record:

Recent real-world commercial tracking featured a BYD Atto 3 reaching 170,000 km in just two years of heavy work use on its original Blade Battery.

DragonFire

the XPeng L03 Mona quite nice
Chinese interiors have seriously come a long way. I would never have dreamed just 5 years ago comparing them to Lexus. Now, Lexus needs to be real scared. Let’s see how they hold up over time. Because that long term viability in my view is a solid challenge in our climate.

cherynsq

Took a grab home earlier and a Attos 3 came . the interior light are quite cool. but driver said once it goes above 100kmh, the car doesn't accelerate as fast as from 0-99kmh. he says he can feel got resistance

paperplane1943

EJB

You see ah... good or not, is depending on your wallet.

Your wallet is good, then BYD confirm no good. If your wallet is not good, any cat also good.

There is never a perfect cat, what we buy is always limited by our wallets.

EmPtYsOuLz

Took a grab home earlier and a Attos 3 came . the interior light are quite cool. but driver said once it goes above 100kmh, the car doesn't accelerate as fast as from 0-99kmh. he says he can feel got resistance

Yes this is true, the "power" of EVs comes from the instant torque delivery as compared to a more gradual RPM build up in ICE.
For most EVs the sweet spot is reaching 70-90km, after that drag becomes more significant and the motor needs to generate more torque to overcome the increased drag while generating increased speed.

EJB

Yes this is true, the "power" of EVs comes from the instant torque delivery as compared to a more gradual RPM build up in ICE.
For most EVs the sweet spot is reaching 70-90km, after that drag becomes more significant and the motor needs to generate more torque to overcome the increased drag while generating increased speed.
Depends on model... Atto3 is tuned for fast acceleration between 0-50, usually after 50, my ICE easily catches up to it and overtakes it.

For certain other models, 100 onwards also easy to accelerate, but hor, your consumption prepare to go up. I tried before for testing purposes. 70, 80, 90 up to 150, honestly the usage of power doesn't differ much despite sayings claim that 80 is most conservative and saves the power consumption best.

EVs have no engine, no gears, so the torque is instant, which also results in higher wear and tear on the tyres.... trade off.

koster

Depends on model... Atto3 is tuned for fast acceleration between 0-50, usually after 50, my ICE easily catches up to it and overtakes it.

For certain other models, 100 onwards also easy to accelerate, but hor, your consumption prepare to go up. I tried before for testing purposes. 70, 80, 90 up to 150, honestly the usage of power doesn't differ much despite sayings claim that 80 is most conservative and saves the power consumption best.

EVs have no engine, no gears, so the torque is instant, which also results in higher wear and tear on the tyres.... trade off.

Big brother @EJB what ice u driving?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.