Set up for new home

derrickgoh

I currently live in a small 3 room flat. The fibre TP is located near the door and my ONT and router are placed on top of the shoe cabinet near the door. I have RJ45 ports in my rooms and these all connect to the router. So when I'm on my Mac, its wired connection. I only use wifi for my phone and since the flat is small, no issues with coverage.

I am planning to move to a 4 room flat in the near future. Its a new flat in Punggol so I guess they should already have some sort of internet access patch panel (or whatever its called) built into the utility closet just like my parent's flat in Sengkang has. Have not seen the physical flat yet so I don't know where this panel is located but floor plan is similar to this:

29qibd4.jpg

But if my mum's flat is anything to go by, it should also be near the door. No issue as far as the wired connections are concerned as all new flats have RJ45 ports in all rooms so my Mac will continue being connected to the router via RJ45. Issue now is wifi.

The utility closet door is closed and if the router is placed inside the closet, the range is already affected. Plus 4 room flat is obviously bigger than my current place so I'm pretty sure coverage will be an issue. I'm not keen to use range extenders and besides with the closet door close, I doubt much signals can get out in the first place.

With my limited networking knowledge I was thinking of this and was wondering if its the best solution for my needs or if anyone can offer better alternatives.

Fibre TP and ONT remain inside the utility closet since that's where the internet patch panel is located. All the RJ45 ports in the various rooms terminate at this patch panel so no issues for my iMac. I connect one cat 6 cable from my ONT to the patch panel and another cat 6 cable from my iMac to the RJ45 port in the room. Settled. I assume? LOL!

Now for the router. Obviously bad idea to hide it inside the utility closet so I was thinking of putting it in my living room. I intend to have a TV console cum feature wall. The TV will be mounted on the feature wall and items like Starhub TV set top box, sound bar and my router will be placed on the TV console.

I know some ppl think its ugly with so many devices there but I'm okay with it. Coverage wise should be okay too since the router is not hidden. Plus the living room is probably about as central in the flat as I can get.

Only thing is, unlike my current set up where the ONT and router are side by side and connected by cat 6 cable, for the new set up my ONT will now be hidden inside the utility closet located near the door while the router will be at the TV console in the living room. Quite a distance apart so obviously its crazy to run a super long cat 6 cable.

Since I intend to have false ceiling for cove lights, I guess the best solution will be to ask my interior designer to create one new RJ45 port inside the utility closet and another RJ45 port on my TV console and the wire can run hidden in the false ceiling.

I will then connect one cat 6 cable from the ONT to the RJ45 port my ID newly created inside the utility closet. At the other end, I will connect the other newly created RJ45 port on my TV console to my router. Then any other devices of course will plug directly into the router. I am assuming this works? Or does anyone have better solutions?

A friend mentioned my idea works but suggested placing the router beside the bomb shelter as its more central. Problem is, I can imagine its going to be damn ugly having some sort of shelf on the outer wall of the bomb shelter and placing router, switch, etc on it. Look like some altar table sia. LOL!

So I guess TV console is still the best place to leave the router. And since the AC88U is a decent router, I am hoping the signals can reach to my bedrooms.

abstrax

I currently live in a small 3 room flat. The fibre TP is located near the door and my ONT and router are placed on top of the shoe cabinet near the door. I have RJ45 ports in my rooms and these all connect to the router. So when I'm on my Mac, its wired connection. I only use wifi for my phone and since the flat is small, no issues with coverage.

I am planning to move to a 4 room flat in the near future. Its a new flat in Punggol so I guess they should already have some sort of internet access patch panel (or whatever its called) built into the utility closet just like my parent's flat in Sengkang has. Have not seen the physical flat yet so I don't know where this panel is located but floor plan is similar to this:

29qibd4.jpg

But if my mum's flat is anything to go by, it should also be near the door. No issue as far as the wired connections are concerned as all new flats have RJ45 ports in all rooms so my Mac will continue being connected to the router via RJ45. Issue now is wifi.

The utility closet door is closed and if the router is placed inside the closet, the range is already affected. Plus 4 room flat is obviously bigger than my current place so I'm pretty sure coverage will be an issue. I'm not keen to use range extenders and besides with the closet door close, I doubt much signals can get out in the first place.

With my limited networking knowledge I was thinking of this and was wondering if its the best solution for my needs or if anyone can offer better alternatives.

Fibre TP and ONT remain inside the utility closet since that's where the internet patch panel is located. All the RJ45 ports in the various rooms terminate at this patch panel so no issues for my iMac. I connect one cat 6 cable from my ONT to the patch panel and another cat 6 cable from my iMac to the RJ45 port in the room. Settled. I assume? LOL!

Now for the router. Obviously bad idea to hide it inside the utility closet so I was thinking of putting it in my living room. I intend to have a TV console cum feature wall. The TV will be mounted on the feature wall and items like Starhub TV set top box, sound bar and my router will be placed on the TV console.

I know some ppl think its ugly with so many devices there but I'm okay with it. Coverage wise should be okay too since the router is not hidden. Plus the living room is probably about as central in the flat as I can get.

Only thing is, unlike my current set up where the ONT and router are side by side and connected by cat 6 cable, for the new set up my ONT will now be hidden inside the utility closet located near the door while the router will be at the TV console in the living room. Quite a distance apart so obviously its crazy to run a super long cat 6 cable.

Since I intend to have false ceiling for cove lights, I guess the best solution will be to ask my interior designer to create one new RJ45 port inside the utility closet and another RJ45 port on my TV console and the wire can run hidden in the false ceiling.

I will then connect one cat 6 cable from the ONT to the RJ45 port my ID newly created inside the utility closet. At the other end, I will connect the other newly created RJ45 port on my TV console to my router. Then any other devices of course will plug directly into the router. I am assuming this works? Or does anyone have better solutions?

A friend mentioned my idea works but suggested placing the router beside the bomb shelter as its more central. Problem is, I can imagine its going to be damn ugly having some sort of shelf on the outer wall of the bomb shelter and placing router, switch, etc on it. Look like some altar table sia. LOL!

So I guess TV console is still the best place to leave the router. And since the AC88U is a decent router, I am hoping the signals can reach to my bedrooms.

My floor plan same as u in sengkang......

The method u want to use is ok...just need to test trial the wifi signal after u setup everything. Especially in the main bedroom...where it might be the weakest spot...

As for me, I use 1 router inside my closest and 1 AP in my main bedroom....and wifi all around the house with no dead spot!!!(min. 3 bar on my hp) So watching youtube HD won't have buffering!!!

derrickgoh

My floor plan same as u in sengkang......

The method u want to use is ok...just need to test trial the wifi signal after u setup everything. Especially in the main bedroom...where it might be the weakest spot...

As for me, I use 1 router inside my closest and 1 AP in my main bedroom....and wifi all around the house with no dead spot!!!(min. 3 bar on my hp) So watching youtube HD won't have buffering!!!
The router inside the closet got any use meh? I mean does the wifi coverage even reach your living room?

By using my method I guess if the coverage in master bedroom sucks then what I could do is put an AP in one of the 2 bedrooms. But I'm hoping the coverage is good enough so no need AP.

BTW AP just needs a power socket right? Or does it need to be connected to a RJ45 port as well?

abstrax

The router inside the closet got any use meh? I mean does the wifi coverage even reach your living room?

By using my method I guess if the coverage in master bedroom sucks then what I could do is put an AP in one of the 2 bedrooms. But I'm hoping the coverage is good enough so no need AP.

BTW AP just needs a power socket right? Or does it need to be connected to a RJ45 port as well?

My AC56U can cover my living room, kitchen and service yard(using 2.4GHz) even the closet door are closed totally. But once it reach near the toilet, the signal is weak(like 1-2bar on hp). Buffering occurs when using YouTube HD.

Wifi signal is ok in the 1st bedroom nearer to the living room.(Watch youtube HD no pbm.)

Tats y I recommend after u setup everything then u test trial the wifi signal for ur AC88U. If the wifi is really not up to ur satisfaction inside the master room, then u consider for an AP.

The AP need to be connected to ur room RJ45 socket which is linked to ur main router(AC88U). And some may need additional power supply. Depends on what kind of AP u r buying....many types in the market now. FYI,
I am using AC56S as my AP inside my master room. Maybe it is overkill but I trust more on Asus network products.....as I have wired connection for my tv players as well.

So my AP cover all the toilets, 2nd bedroom and master room.(I can use 2.4/5GHz in my master room and MR toilet.) All full wifi signal!!!

ralliart12

Random thought:
Ever thought of paying the couple hundreds extra to get the FTP relocated to the center of your new apartment? Anyways...

...as all new flats have RJ45 ports in all rooms ...

That nice, but do they come terminated with all the proper faceplates (LAN), or is it still terminated in RJ-11 ports?

...I connect one cat 6 cable from my ONT to the patch panel and another cat 6 cable from my iMac to the RJ45 port in the room. Settled. I assume? LOL!...

If 1 port of your ONT is patched to your iMac, will there be any active GE ports on your ONT left to patch to your other rooms? This is based on the assumption that the ONT supplied by most ISPs have only 1 port activated on the device.

...Since I intend to have false ceiling for cove lights, I guess the best solution will be to ask my interior designer to create one new RJ45 port inside the utility closet and another RJ45 port on my TV console and the wire can run hidden in the false ceiling...

There should already be a port in your utility closet that's already patched to your living room TV console area. May not need your ID to do anything extra. It's just...as what I mentioned above: if 1 port from your ONT is feeding to your iMac, you may not have active ports left to feed to your other LAN ports in your other rooms.

...Plus the living room is probably about as central in the flat as I can get...Since I intend to have false ceiling...
A friend mentioned my idea works but suggested placing the router beside the bomb shelter as its more central. Problem is, I can imagine its going to be damn ugly having some sort of shelf on the outer wall of the bomb shelter and placing router, switch, etc on it. Look like some altar table sia. LOL! ...

I'm inclined to agree with your friend, i.e. that spot is the most central to place your source of WLAN without placing it in any rooms with 3 full walls.

Possible to get the ID to make a nice niche in the false ceiling to ceiling mount your router? But need to make the niche user-accessible so that can physically access the router if necessary.

I mount my access point in the same general area your friend suggested. Coverage is quite decent.

...So I guess TV console is still the best place to leave the router. And since the AC88U is a decent router, I am hoping the signals can reach to my bedrooms.

We have to agree to disagree here: I don't think the master bedroom will get a quality coverage.

...BTW AP just needs a power socket right? Or does it need to be connected to a RJ45 port as well?

Some access points don't need a power outlet for power supply; but most requires LAN port.

derrickgoh

Random thought:
Ever thought of paying the couple hundreds extra to get the FTP relocated to the center of your new apartment? Anyways...
But the patch panel is in the utility cabinet. No point moving the TP away from it surely? If its old flat like my current one with no patch panel I would agree lah but sure sounds odd moving the TP away from the patch panel. :s11:

That nice, but do they come terminated with all the proper faceplates (LAN), or is it still terminated in RJ-11 ports?
Should be RJ45 bah? My parent's flat is older than this Punggol one and is already RJ45 so I don't see why the Punggol one would be RJ11.

If 1 port of your ONT is patched to your iMac, will there be any active GE ports on your ONT left to patch to your other rooms? This is based on the assumption that the ONT supplied by most ISPs have only 1 port activated on the device.
I am on Viewqwest and they said I just need to request for the ONT to be converted to router mode and make sure my router is set to AP mode then ok liao.

There should already be a port in your utility closet that's already patched to your living room TV console area. May not need your ID to do anything extra.
If already there lagi best if not no issues lah simple thing.

I'm inclined to agree with your friend, i.e. that spot is the most central to place your source of WLAN without placing it in any rooms with 3 full walls.

Possible to get the ID to make a nice niche in the false ceiling to ceiling mount your router? But need to make the niche user-accessible so that can physically access the router if necessary.

I mount my access point in the same general area your friend suggested. Coverage is quite decent.
Well based on the floor plan there is that small corner area beside the bomb shelter and the kitchen. I thought maybe can do a feature wall thingie there and dump the router, switch and any other item there.

But the thing is. I might be adding more items on future. I am 90% intending to get the Netgear Arlo or something similar i.e. wireless IP cams with a base station. I could also be intending to set up a wireless NAS in future. I just thought since the TV console is more spacious I can dump more stuff there.

Wherelse there is less space if I was to use the corner between the bomb shelter wall and the kitchen. Though I guess I could always ask him to build shelves on the so called feature wall though it might be a bit ugly having all these devices displayed all over as though they are decorative devices.

The same reason of me possibly having more devices in future is also why I'm not keen on making a niche in the false ceiling. If it was just the router alone or router & switch only ok lah. We are talking bout router, switch, Netgear Arlo, NAS, etc. Probably not a good idea using false ceiling niche for so many items.

We have to agree to disagree here: I don't think the master bedroom will get a quality coverage.

As abstrax said, only way is to do first. Hopefully its still ok but if really cannot then no choice lor, get a AP. I'm guessing bedroom 2 would be a good place to put the AP? If there is going to be any coverage issues I'm guessing its going to be bedroom 2 and master bedroom.

I would most likely be using bedroom 2 as a study so I guess I can connect the AP to the RJ45 port there. Was thinking of the Asus RP-AC52 till I noticed the speed is only 300/400 Mbps. Plus it doesn't have any ports. As I am intending to connect my iMac to the RJ45 wall socket in bedroom 2, if there is a need to use an AP, that would mean 2 devices but only one RJ45 wall socket.

So I would surely need an AP that has gigabit ports e.g. Asus EA-AC87 or RP-AC68U. That way I guess I plug the AP into the RJ45 wall socket and then plug my iMac into one of the AP's gigabit ports. Is this correct?

derrickgoh

My AC56U can cover my living room, kitchen and service yard(using 2.4GHz) even the closet door are closed totally. But once it reach near the toilet, the signal is weak(like 1-2bar on hp). Buffering occurs when using YouTube HD.

Wifi signal is ok in the 1st bedroom nearer to the living room.(Watch youtube HD no pbm.)

Tats y I recommend after u setup everything then u test trial the wifi signal for ur AC88U. If the wifi is really not up to ur satisfaction inside the master room, then u consider for an AP.

The AP need to be connected to ur room RJ45 socket which is linked to ur main router(AC88U). And some may need additional power supply. Depends on what kind of AP u r buying....many types in the market now. FYI,
I am using AC56S as my AP inside my master room. Maybe it is overkill but I trust more on Asus network products.....as I have wired connection for my tv players as well.

So my AP cover all the toilets, 2nd bedroom and master room.(I can use 2.4/5GHz in my master room and MR toilet.) All full wifi signal!!!
Since the room only has one RJ45 wall socket, if I'm intending to connect my iMac to it directly and also intending to have an AP, that means I will need to first connect an AP which has ethernet ports to the RJ45 wall socket, and then connect my iMac to the AP right?

abstrax

Since the room only has one RJ45 wall socket, if I'm intending to connect my iMac to it directly and also intending to have an AP, that means I will need to first connect an AP which has ethernet ports to the RJ45 wall socket, and then connect my iMac to the AP right?

Then might as well get a router and use it as AP mode? Like what I doing now using AC56S as AP with Ethernet ports and wifi too....

derrickgoh

On second thoughts since i will have 2 routers when my AC88U is delivered, i guess i could save $ and use my existing AC68U instead of getting an AP since both 88 and 68 are dual band i guess should have no issues.

abstrax

On second thoughts since i will have 2 routers when my AC88U is delivered, i guess i could save $ and use my existing AC68U instead of getting an AP since both 88 and 68 are dual band i guess should have no issues.

U should use ur AC68U as the AP!!! lol....

There solved ur problem.....

wazaguy

hi All, I getting a resale flat can do fully rewiring for the whole house, my intention to have the below set up:

ONT - - modem/router( 8 port) near the rooms (6 port each room 2 port) and balance 2 port wiring back to the false wall for tv and one for spare ..

or will this be better

ONT - - modem/router( 4 port) -- 1 set of 4 port network patch (6 port each room 2 port) -- 1 port wiring back to the false wall for one more 4 port network patch for tv and future use

Sorry newbie to this , and only get M1 , 300 mbps ...but building it up for future proof.

I love to get myrepublic currently have one plan which ONT can use 2 port...but stuck with M1 cos of the bundle deal "D

UchihaSasuke

This is what i did for my new BTO flat.

1. Change all room telephone line to data.
2. TP>ONT>Router inside the utility box.
3. Connect all the data ports inside the utility box to the router. (All room data ports are terminated here)
4. Put a 2nd router in the 2nd bedroom, connect the data port in that room to the router, and do cater 1 more cable to connect to the router, so you can use cable or wireless.

Pros
1. You will have wired and wireless for your whole flat.
2. Wireless are 4 bars and above for my entire 5 room flat, no blind spot.

Cons
1. Some people consider this is an additional cost, because you need to get another router and cabling management in the 2nd room.
2. You will need to switch on power for 2 locations, if not anything beyond the 2nd room will get very weak or no wireless signal.

wazaguy

Oh BTO is easy, as can change telephone port to LAn and wiring can keep at the door, however my is Old flat and have check to tel port wiring only Cat3 using only 2 wiring...and making it worst no TP point.

I also wondering can switch one of the teleport to broadcast the line out to the rest (ONT -- Rounter --- (telephone line) -- to any wall port and broadcast to all rooms ???

wazaguy

Hi all,

How can i post my image here , as i still restricted to post my layout???

ridney

hi All, I getting a resale flat can do fully rewiring for the whole house, my intention to have the below set up:

ONT - - modem/router( 8 port) near the rooms (6 port each room 2 port) and balance 2 port wiring back to the false wall for tv and one for spare ..

or will this be better

ONT - - modem/router( 4 port) -- 1 set of 4 port network patch (6 port each room 2 port) -- 1 port wiring back to the false wall for one more 4 port network patch for tv and future use

Sorry newbie to this , and only get M1 , 300 mbps ...but building it up for future proof.

I love to get myrepublic currently have one plan which ONT can use 2 port...but stuck with M1 cos of the bundle deal "D

i think your plan 1 or 2 is fine whichever you go is the same. for me, i would prefer to have a dedicated 16/24 port switch so that when the time comes where you need to restart your router or take it down for maintenance you still have your entire network up while doing something else like streaming media from nas, printing documents etc.

also its better to provision some extra points for future growth or some of type of fallback in case network points/wires gets spoiled.

also consider all your devices and try to wire all of them as much as possible i.e. access points, printers, ip camera, apple tv, ps4/xbox one, nas etc..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.