Share your retirement strategy

mummy1234

For me, I plan to leverage on properties to increase my net worth faster and eventually rent out for passive income my Sg terrace and condo and retire in Low cost JB....will also TOP up my SA as much as possible to get higher CPF Life payout...

For average income earners, I think once the HDB is paid off, can rent out for $2200 and rent a cheap Malaysia property to retire too..

frenchbriefs

u seem to have this obssession with these retirement fantasies yet u are unwilling to take the first step.u have millions you can live anywhere in the world do anything you want yet you choose to stay stuck on this island with the rest of us peasants.90 percent of us wish we could have the net worth you have,the median wealth in singapore is only 130k,half of sinkies dont even have 130k in their name.yet you seem paralysed,afraid.

im only 27 and iv been to australia 4 times,twice of those alone,boarded the plane alone and lived in another country alone for months.it blows my mind that most sinkies are probably afraid to go to the shopping mall or the kopitiam down the street without a friend or a parent sibling to hold their hands afraid to be seen alone or something.

anyone can make money and lots of it,but seems like u can never encourage a sinkie to grow a pair of balls.i see all these ang moh expats from norway and russia coming here to seize the opportunities,iv met pinoys in australia who worked in singapore for years before jumping to better opportunities,and i wonder

it doesnt take much to live in this world,a person can live quite comfortably on less than 2k a month,some even less than 1k a month if they are the simple,frugal,unmaterialistic type.most broke ass sinkies live on less than 2k per month anyway.hence i consider 500k to be sufficiently financially independant.with 500k u can easily generate enough passive income that can be supplemented with a few months of part time work here and then.hence with 500k u are more or less "free" to do whatever u want in life......of course 500k is per capita,for those of you with spouse or children,just add another 500k for each person.

mummy1234

u seem to have this obssession with these retirement fantasies yet u are unwilling to take the first step.u have millions you can live anywhere in the world do anything you want yet you choose to stay stuck on this island with the rest of us peasants.90 percent of us wish we could have the net worth you have,the median wealth in singapore is only 130k,half of sinkies dont even have 130k in their name.yet you seem paralysed,afraid.

im only 27 and iv been to australia 4 times,twice of those alone,boarded the plane alone and lived in another country alone for months.it blows my mind that most sinkies are probably afraid to go to the shopping mall or the kopitiam down the street without a friend or a parent sibling to hold their hands afraid to be seen alone or something.

anyone can make money and lots of it,but seems like u can never encourage a sinkie to grow a pair of balls.i see all these ang moh expats from norway and russia coming here to seize the opportunities,iv met pinoys in australia who worked in singapore for years before jumping to better opportunities,and i wonder

I have already taken the first step by buying my investment properties...

Genosis

it doesnt take much to live in this world,a person can live quite comfortably on less than 2k a month,some even less than 1k a month if they are the simple,frugal,unmaterialistic type.most broke ass sinkies live on less than 2k per month anyway.hence i consider 500k to be sufficiently financially independant.with 500k u can easily generate enough passive income that can be supplemented with a few months of part time work here and then.hence with 500k u are more or less "free" to do whatever u want in life......

I have a strong feeling that TS has been trolling all these while...

Shiny Things

1) Park my money in a "110-minus-your-age" portfolio, and bulk it up with regular contributions out of my salary;
2) Keep working! I'm not planning to retire early, but I might downshift at some point, or switch from my current software career to a full-time markets and investment consulting business;
3) Buy a little house in Hawaii with a view over the ocean and an office to run said consulting biz from, and potter around in my garden cultivating tropical plants in my spare time. Living the dream, etc etc.

Darkzi0n

toto is my primary strategy.

my backup plan is to save as much as i can and invest in stocks with moderate risk for now. still too young and too many other milestones to clear before i can come up with anything more concrete.

SpeedingBullet

I'm young but I do believe in dividend investing. So basically I'll park my money in an index fund and some value plays (which may or may not turn out well for me, but I like a challenge). Let the thing snowball into my retirement. I'mma start working next year so I'll see what I'll get. Since I'm able to save a lot, I think even on a $2k salary I'd be able to have a substantial portfolio by the time I'm 40.

And then... buy a house in the Alps and eat Raclette and Comte everyday till I die of a serious heart attack... or fall to my death climbing the Eiger.

highsulphur

1) Park my money in a "110-minus-your-age" portfolio, and bulk it up with regular contributions out of my salary;
2) Keep working! I'm not planning to retire early, but I might downshift at some point, or switch from my current software career to a full-time markets and investment consulting business;
3) Buy a little house in Hawaii with a view over the ocean and an office to run said consulting biz from, and potter around in my garden cultivating tropical plants in my spare time. Living the dream, etc etc.

Part 3 sounds good. Or you can run a real estate firm over there to sell houses to singaporeans.

qhong61

For me, I plan to leverage on properties to increase my net worth faster and eventually rent out for passive income my Sg terrace and condo and retire in Low cost JB....will also TOP up my SA as much as possible to get higher CPF Life payout...

For average income earners, I think once the HDB is paid off, can rent out for $2200 and rent a cheap Malaysia property to retire too..
still think security and peace of mind more impt.

homer123

My good friend finally sold his HDB EA flat for S$600K last week and move to his Iskandar retirement house which he bought for S$250K many years ago. I went to his house..not bad got a small swimming pool and a couple of fruit trees. He told me his neighbors are all Sporean ...retired uncles and aunties type already welcome him to join them for road trip and makan session. Not a bad retirement plan.

mummy1234

My good friend finally sold his HDB EA flat for S$600K last week and move to his Iskandar retirement house which he bought for S$250K many years ago. I went to his house..not bad got a small swimming pool and a couple of fruit trees. He told me his neighbors are all Sporean ...retired uncles and aunties type already welcome him to join them for road trip and makan session. Not a bad retirement plan.

That is good to hear.... How old is he?

limster

I have a strong feeling that TS has been trolling all these while...

TS says she's a full-time doctor and owns condo and terrace house, but husband no job stay at home. Yet she's the one posting on HWZ every day, but husband who has no job, doesn't post on HWZ. Sounds quite realistic, why you think trolling? :D

Dunno how come nobody post retirement dream to marry a doctor who earns the money, so can quit the job, stay at home and surf the net.

mummy1234

TS says she's a full-time doctor and owns condo and terrace house, but husband no job stay at home. Yet she's the one posting on HWZ every day, but husband who has no job, doesn't post on HWZ. Sounds quite realistic, why you think trolling? :D

Dunno how come nobody post retirement dream to marry a doctor who earns the money, so can quit the job, stay at home and surf the net.

Ha ha...hubby blocks my wifi access to HWZ sometimes...

focus1974

So , he will remain a singaporean riteee?
and ultimately... when u r old like 60-70yrs old and you have to see doctor more frequent and hospital visits ...

what is his plan for that?

Seannie

I discussed with moi colleagues and they told me im stoopid to think of pumping cash into SA account. Reason is no liquidity and if need monies to use we cant take out from SA until 65 yrs old then pay us back little by little. Scolded me for being naive leh. Wah piang. Regret voicing out. Now they think im really stupid naive boy. My coleagues is in their 40s 50s already and the one scolded me supports WP go to their rallies one.

For moi i think rent out the paid-off hdb is ok then the rent use to hire a maid or reinvest in another sg property. Sg properties still da best. Rent jb hse not say no good but the $2.2k rent converts to MYR 6.6k nia. In jb needs buy a car, maintainance already ard RM1k. Food not cheap. One meal outside coffeeshop at least RM6 also jiak not ba. Sg cai png $3 eat full alry. Jb internet v slow. Basically must sleep at 10pm. No life leh. Unless you are one waiting for time to die can go nursing hme in jb. One month RM6k VIP room. Jin sakti. Got personal nurse to assist you. Personal toilet. Big tv screen etc. I saw many sg old ple staying at the one at ECON perling branch. Big and new. The kids from sg come visit all look like well to do.

Seannie

the median wealth in singapore is only 130k,half of sinkies dont even have 130k in their name.yet you seem paralysed,afraid.

it doesnt take much to live in this world,a person can live quite comfortably on less than 2k a month,some even less than 1k a month.

Didnt know that 130k is the median wealtg in sg. Thankz for the note.

If no dependents i can live with less than $2k a month lar notwithstanding the big ticket items of course.

$500k harder to reach. Will aim for that before thinking of retirement.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.