Sharp Z2

chromehead

FYI: Saw an ad in e papers ytd (Sat).. I think Gain City having offer on the Z2 @ $299 (UP: $399)... :eek:

i saw the gain city ad on Today paper, 10th march fri , ad just writes Branded Smartphone $399 -> $299

but pic used is z2, the gross lotus holey speaker is the dead giveaway for z2

chromehead

299 for z2 deal is legit, because i just went down sungei kadut to hoot one. the guy said deal is only for silver unit, some ppl reserved their units.

didn't ask when deal for the phone ends, but according to the print ad, today should be last day for the page of printed deals (maybe take note of newspaper next week).

may want to call to chope before chionging down lol

8-lane

i saw the gain city ad on Today paper, 10th march fri , ad just writes Branded Smartphone $399 -> $299

but pic used is z2, the gross lotus holey speaker is the dead giveaway for z2

Lol 10th Mar is not Fri.. r u referring to Sat's TODAY paper?

Actually the ad that i saw on e Saturday Straits Times oso stated some of the specs which correlates with those of Z2 (besides just using e pic of Z2)

299 for z2 deal is legit, because i just went down sungei kadut to hoot one. the guy said deal is only for silver unit, some ppl reserved their units.

didn't ask when deal for the phone ends, but according to the print ad, today should be last day for the page of printed deals (maybe take note of newspaper next week).

Congrats on a gd buy.. how r u liking ur Z2 so far?

amazingone

It's indeed a Friday..
GHTKbCSl.png

Sent from an Xperia using GAGT

amazingone

Good buy!

Actually, this Sharp Z2 support 4G+3G dual SIM too, which is a good feature when 2G is gone from next month onwards.

chromehead

Actually the ad that i saw on e Saturday Straits Times oso stated some of the specs which correlates with those of Z2 (besides just using e pic of Z2)

Congrats on a gd buy.. how r u liking ur Z2 so far?

maybe see this week if got same promo.
the thing is even in the shop or website, all still shows full retail $399 unless you ask the salesperson about the it (i just bring the newsprint ad down to ask about the deal)

feels snappy so far

the onboard speakers not good for music imo, then again i only use earpieces.

fingerprint sensor seems to be working well, though i only set up yesterday.
touch and unlock feels very fast.

stock phone stuff already eat up 8+gb iirc, was quite shocked and dunno if its the norm.

am new to phone or manufacturer's UI, all along used vanila android from tablet.
think the only difference is i have to up-scroll when going through pages of apps, vs purely side-scrolling.

can't comment on gaming though, where the 10-core may make a difference, as i only use phone (or tablet) for browsing and preloaded news apps

Good buy!

Actually, this Sharp Z2 support 4G+3G dual SIM too, which is a good feature when 2G is gone from next month onwards.

first timer on smartphone, can't comment much as all the while been using android tablet with nokia brick.
not used to phone format for surfing (so small), still prefer tablet :s22:

when i push out the tab, the "dual sim w. microSD" is actually 2 slots nia. either 1 nanosim +1 microSD, or 2 nanosims..
think other phones are actually 3 slots (2 nanosim + 1 microSD), duno if am supposed gonna feel sian

forgot to ask if got free screen protector of sorts when buying. standard package have the TPU casing, plug and cable.

screen specs only states gorilla glass, but never state its generation. duno should put glass or not.

have to find flip cases online with extra hole in back for fingerprint sensor.

amazingone

the thing is even in the shop or website, all still shows full retail $399 unless you ask the salesperson about the it (i just bring the newsprint ad down to ask about the deal)

feels snappy so far

stock phone stuff already eat up 8+gb iirc, was quite shocked and dunno if its the norm.

am new to phone or manufacturer's UI, all along used vanila android from tablet.
think the only difference is i have to up-scroll when going through pages of apps, vs purely side-scrolling.

can't comment on gaming though, where the 10-core may make a difference, as i only use phone (or tablet) for browsing and preloaded news apps

first timer on smartphone, can't comment much as all the while been using android tablet with nokia brick.

when i push out the tab, the "dual sim w. microSD" is actually 2 slots nia. either 1 nanosim +1 microSD, or 2 nanosims..
think other phones are actually 3 slots (2 nanosim + 1 microSD), duno if am supposed gonna feel sian

forgot to ask if got free screen protector of sorts when buying. standard package have the TPU casing, plug and cable.

screen specs only states gorilla glass, but never state its generation. duno should put glass or not.

I think there's only a few phones supporting 2 nano SIM with 1 micro SD, such as the Galaxy A5/7 (2017) and OPPO F1s for example.

Would be good to have a tempered glass on it to protect it, but not too sure if the Sharp Z2 has 2.5D curved glass. If it has, then there would be bubbles on the side if apply tempered glass.

Sharp Z2 is a rather rare phone in Singapore since not much people is using it locally here.
Can try looking on Taobao:
→ http://c.b1wt.com/h.3MhvOE?cv=prdrmekNd5&sm=185de1
→ http://c.b1wt.com/h.3MSYWf?cv=vJW4mePbuu&sm=4c9f3b

8-lane

Haha ohh my bad..

feels snappy so far

Lol oops i got the date wrong.. it was indeed Friday's TODAY..

U can consider getting TGSP for ur phone here (if u subscribe to Shop365's mailing list, u'll get a S$10 voucher but i dunno got min. spend anot)........ https://shop365.com.sg/tempered-glass-screen-for-sharp-z2-smartphone.html

chromehead

phone has 4gb ram, seems like under normal use/idle it is consuming 2gb ram.

whats the norm for android phone ram usage these days (marshmallow i think)? is using this much ram good or bad?

8-lane

phone has 4gb ram, seems like under normal use/idle it is consuming 2gb ram.

whats the norm for android phone ram usage these days (marshmallow i think)? is using this much ram good or bad?

Lol i dunno abt this..

Woah! The fingerprint sensor at the side?

As far as I can get the info on the "future" Z3, it seems like the SoC use might be a little "regressive", back to Snapdragon Octa-cores now, instead of the Deca-core X Series SoC used in the Z2, although I would be more impressed if the future Z3 can use MediaTek's Helio X30 SoC, not only for cost but for power-efficiency (flexible "sweet-spot" type of performance) which MediaTek is now getting more market-comfortable in these days.
For the under-informed, Helio X Series is considered MediaTek's flagship line of SoCs for smartphones and having them in low-mid price range is a feat in itself.

And is it just me or does the Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ trying to pull a Z2-kind of fingerprint sensor right there??

amazingone

Sharp Z3 will be making its appearance in Taiwan next Wednesday, 12 April~
2017040703460790141_ExtraLargeSize-640x640.jpg

The Sharp Z3 will feature:
- 5.5" 2K display, probably a SHARP IGZO display
- 3020mAh battery
- Dual SIM, probably with 4G+3G support like the Sharp Z2
- Dimension: 157.9 x 78.5 x 7.78mm

bersaLobangSG

Sharp Z3 will be making its appearance in Taiwan next Wednesday, 12 April~
2017040703460790141_ExtraLargeSize-640x640.jpg

The Sharp Z3 will feature:
- 5.5" 2K display, probably a SHARP IGZO display
- 3020mAh battery
- Dual SIM, probably with 4G+3G support like the Sharp Z2
- Dimension: 157.9 x 78.5 x 7.78mm

Good that they are continuing the z series. Last time sharp always one device then disappear.

Sharp Z3 Announced (late)

Sharp Z3 Specs announced: http://www.sharpmobile.com.tw/products/z3/

Highlighted Specs:
- Qualcomm Snapdragon 652 SoC (MSM8976 Octa-Core, 4x A72 @ 1.8GHz + 4x A53 @ 1.4GHz) with Adreno 510 GPU
- 5.7-inch WQHD (2560 x 1440) Corning Gorilla Glass 2.5D
- 4GB RAM; 64GB ROM and expandable Memory up to 128GB (basically mixing RAM of Z2 with ROM of MS1)
- Cameras: 16MP Rear + 13MP Front Selfie (AGAIN a mix of Z2's Rear Cam with MS1's front Cam)
- SIM Type: Nano-SIM (same as Z2)
- Colours Available: Champagne Gold
- Special Feature: Fingerprint Reader is fused inside the front Home Button.

Pros:
- Larger Display Size and Quality, Higher Resolution Imaging
- Larger Internal Memory and better Selfie Camera
- Android Nougat OS out-of-box
Cons:
- Inferior SoC installed (comparison puts Z3's 28nm Octa-Core SD652 as overally weaker than its predecessor Z2's 20nm Helio X20 Deca-Core)
- Inferior Charging Port (the Z3 uses Micro-B port compared to Z2's Type-C Reversible and same as MS1's own charging port)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.