Should I semiretire in JB now?

mummy1234

Hmmmm seems like mummy hell bent on jb liao. The force is strong. I see no way of stopping her path liao.
So funny that jb ple wanna stay in sg while sg ple wanna stay in jb.

Still considering our options...just that hubby savings for mortgage payments can only last 5 years so will have to make a decision soon if he still does not get a job...either I work harder or sell the car or move to JB or downgrade from terrace etc...or live with very little savings...

mummy1234

I just gave a month's notice to stop my busy Monday morning locum, so will have to find something to replace it soon. But will appreciate the temporary reduction in working hours....

OngHuatHuat

I just gave a month's notice to stop my busy Monday morning locum, so will have to find something to replace it soon. But will appreciate the temporary reduction in working hours....

you earn so much still worry for what.....
walao.....:(

aetherheal

I think u are pretty capable and strong-minded, but u married the wrong guy. I feel sad for your parents who spent a lifetime bringing u to singapore, and now u want to go jb

OngHuatHuat

I think u are pretty capable and strong-minded, but u married the wrong guy. I feel sad for your parents who spent a lifetime bringing u to singapore, and now u want to go jb

spouse not good in earning money means married wrong? what say you?

I rather have a good character wife than to have a fierce wife that earn a lot of money.

aetherheal

spouse not good in earning money means married wrong? what say you?

I rather have a good character wife than to have a fierce wife that earn a lot of money.

Are you a bummer as well? I am talking about the man, not woman. Your wife earn very little?

OngHuatHuat

Are you a bummer as well? I am talking about the man, not woman. Your wife earn very little?

yeah my wife earn very little so i have to plan for 2 persons.
Strong + weak more long lasting, if both characters strong, hard to maintain.

mummy1234

My hubby is just unlucky in his career after marrying me, maybe I jinxed him but he is trying hard and otherwise has no vices and is very thrifty and fairly patient...my dad is deceased but my mum does not seem to be too upset about my buying a JB house, she has even stayed over there with us last Christmas....and I will still be working in Sg even if I do stay there so not like I am migrating from Sg totally...

Broadwalk

My hubby is just unlucky in his career after marrying me, maybe I jinxed him but he is trying hard and otherwise has no vices and is very thrifty and fairly patient...my dad is deceased but my mum does not seem to be too upset about my buying a JB house, she has even stayed over there with us last Christmas....and I will still be working in Sg even if I do stay there so not like I am migrating from Sg totally...

How old is your husband now? recently I met up with some of my ex colleagues and bosses they all cannot find jobs. They are in 50 to 55 year old. :(

mummy1234

How old is your husband now? recently I met up with some of my ex colleagues and bosses they all cannot find jobs. They are in 50 to 55 year old. :(

He is 43 years old, 3 years older than me...but he has been in and out of jobs eversince we married like for 13 years....

01asdf

Take a couple of weeks during the school term to stay there with your kids and see how they feel about the commute from hell?

Taking 6am shuttle = waking at 4? 5? then taking public transport IN sg to get to school. And back.

Driving in is even worse with the perennial jam.

mummy1234

Take a couple of weeks during the school term to stay there with your kids and see how they feel about the commute from hell?

Taking 6am shuttle = waking at 4? 5? then taking public transport IN sg to get to school. And back.

Driving in is even worse with the perennial jam.

If commute too tough, another option is to let them study in international school there while I commute 2x a week for work...

henrylbh

Certainly not a carefree retirement with kids around. I have no such baggage and I plan to move from state to state and stay a little longer where I like as well as outside that country till I am old and not so mobile. Sg will still be my final resting place. It's got everything 24 hours and 365/365. I only wish prices there forever remain cheaper than Sg including housing as I do not intend to buy one and that the government don't disfavour long term stayers. I particularly like middle of Genting Highlands with a cool weather whole year round, serene and not far from city.

mummy1234

Certainly not a carefree retirement with kids around. I have no such baggage and I plan to move from state to state and stay a little longer where I like as well as outside that country till I am old and not so mobile. Sg will still be my final resting place. It's got everything 24 hours and 365/365. I only wish prices there forever remain cheaper than Sg including housing as I do not intend to buy one and that the government don't disfavour long term stayers. I particularly like middle of Genting Highlands with a cool weather whole year round, serene and not far from city.

You have no kids? How old are you and when do you intend to retire?

I think will need to come back to Sg and stamp passport going back into Malaysia every few months if intend to stay longterm in Malaysia...

Broadwalk

He is 43 years old, 3 years older than me...but he has been in and out of jobs eversince we married like for 13 years....

Why don't consider do some business? Maybe he can do relationship manager and you be the doctor of your own clinic and he will go out solicit business partnership with hawker etc. This is un-tap business opportunity. :o

henrylbh

You have no kids? How old are you and when do you intend to retire?

I think will need to come back to Sg and stamp passport going back into Malaysia every few months if intend to stay longterm in Malaysia...

I think each entry is for 14 or 28 days only, unless MM2H. But money can settle issues including possession of gun.

That reminds me of an incidence in Cambodia. I was coming home and the immigration kept flipping my passport and caused quite a delay. Finally he said my visa expired :s22: Shocked and panicked. I shouted across to my friend who has passed the immigration point that my passport expired. He shouted back give money. But the officer refused to accept money as everyone heard our shouting. Suddenly, the manager of silk air, who is my friend's husband appeared from nowhere and he managed to get the immigration to clear me. What a relief especially when there is communication problem in a foreign land.

mummy1234

Why don't consider do some business? Maybe he can do relationship manager and you be the doctor of your own clinic and he will go out solicit business partnership with hawker etc. This is un-tap business opportunity. :o

To operate own clinic, need to work very hard, I want to retire early, remember?

Slowdown

I was working in JB for the last one year. Other than going on business trip i had to report back to the office in JB. No joke going in and out everyday. I initially drove in but gave up after two months. Too much hassle getting jammed for up to 4 hours. After one week my right leg was feeling the effect of stepping on the brakes all the while. Driving however give you conveniences and the opportunity to eat at places you like.

I changed to taking bus. Bus 170 to larkin and then a short cab ride to office. Evening call my teksi on smartphone and go all the way to city square. Then any bus back to Spore. I no longer can eat things that I like as my transport options became limited. Only can eat at city square.

JB has a different feel from Spore. Life not so stressful and people are friendier. Cons is that cost of living has been increasing.

Mommy is looking at cost of JB now and thinks it is cheaper than Spore. A cup of coffee at one ringgit is much cheaper than Spore now. The problem comes when you live there for a while is localised. When that cup of coffee become one fifty ringgit, Mummy only sees 50% increase in cost. Mommy do not see that one fifty is still cheaper than coffee in Spore. Because the comparison is no longer between Spore and JB but the increase in coffee price.

I can tell because since GST was implemented in April I complain and complain.

I don't see how Mommy will enjoy living in JB.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.