Showcase your home theater setup thread

patryn33

Look impressive. Care to share whats your damage?

bought the JBL L890 (1 pair), LC 1, L810 (pair), sub LP 8400P.
Damage - ~US$1.1K includes shipping.

review on line
Product Review
jbl-studio-l-speakers-front-main.jpg

http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/article/jbl-studio-l-series-home-theater-speaker-system
1182006132321.jpg

a new L810 pricing in SG pretty ex.
http://www.adpost.com/sg/audio_video_electronics/6778/

itsptw

Working on my home setup

I will be working on my home living room setup with optoma hd25 and go wireless hdmi soon. Once ready will post some picture online.

itsptw

upload of my 4 room HDB living room home cinema

diy-hts-10.jpg

Here is my image uploaded.

From itsptw

datsunking

My rojak setup... Mixed and match...

10003434_10152339182103970_1389869236_n.jpg

10154034_10152339182148970_876916817_n.jpg

JBL830 from amazon
10011445_10152339182163970_408713200_n.jpg

Seawell wires for rear speakers
10152480_10152339182208970_263843350_n.jpg

Front view
10151864_10152339182308970_10917256_n.jpg

Rear view
10009844_10152339182358970_388653774_n.jpg

Rear speaker
10153203_10152339182408970_1795288413_n.jpg

Side speaker
10250204_10152339182538970_908212141_n.jpg

Centre speaker

outer92

My Home Theater
1546456_3789451552203_1879513348_n.jpg

1546218_3789451432200_1624514041_n.jpg

1530563_3789451312197_573075299_n.jpg

1510858_3792057337346_846640725_n.jpg

Model : Sony 50W704A

image_zps9d807049.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
Polk Audio F/X Wireless Surround Sound (Black)

Onkyo home system

LG BLUERAY and ROKU PLAYER

vkvkvvk

Just did some cable management as it was way too messy for too long:

BEFORE
14356286542_8dd7a232f1_b.jpg

AFTER
Changed the furniture and painted the wall
14334724766_b79893a1bd_b.jpg

14334725106_52608c78f1_b.jpg

mypillowtalks

Few years ago was into home theatre and audio, now into Professional Audio.

Sound like a typical nightclub/thai disco, very song but neighbours all hate me, take lift with neighbours i very paiseh dun dare look at them :s13:

My set up is more for audio than surround sound. Is a bit over kill for hdb living room, but just meeting the min for outdoor application

Mains:
2 x 12" Kempton by FBT @ 250 watts each rms biamp (Active)
2 x 15" Wharfedale Pro @ 400 watts rms each biamp (Active)
4 x 15" JBL SRX 715 @ 315 watts rms each (Passive by Behringer iNuke 3000DSP)

Subwoofers:
1 x 15" JBL custom built subscoop mini horn loaded sub @ 300w rms (Active)
1 x 18" Accord Pro PA custom built sub (Passive)
1 x 18" Wharfedale pro sub @ 400 watts rms (Active)
8 x 18" Wharfedale Pro sub @ 1100 watts rms each (Passive)

Processors & Amplifiers:
1 x 22 channel mixer, 1 x DJ mixer, 1 x Equaliser, 1 x Tasso power sequencer, 1 x Compressor/limiter/gate, 2 x DBX Driverack 260

2 x NU6000DSP @ 1100 watts rms per channel @ 8ohms (Powering 8 x 18" subwoofers in total). Limiter programmed at 2500watts per channel

1 x NU3000DSP @ 1250 watts rms Bridged @ 8 ohms (Powering only 1 sub)

Tuning:
12" Mains crossed @ 75hz LR filter @ 24db/oct to 18.6 khz
15" Mains crossed @ 65hz LR filter @ 24db/oct to 18.6 khz
Subs usually from 30hz/Butterworth filter @ 24db/oct to either 68 or 78hz/LR Filter @ 24db/oct.

I also add in subharmonic synthesizer, it generates extra harmonics in the 24 - 36 hz range. Very good, the whole air will shake as if there is a lot of air pressure.

All setting fully programmable and customisable

TV anyhow buy one, size is 50". Sitting on top of the subs
At the extreme right hand side corner there is a 10 inch subwoofer sitting on top of a 12 inch home theatre sub. Looks very small compared to the PA subs
kvnAW0I.jpg

The magic of the system(running 2 of these cos i split into 2 set up sometimes for rental):
izpKfei.jpg

jKx35EP.jpg

Update 14 Febuary 2015:

Took out 4 subwoofers, left 4 subwoofers, added in 4 x JBL SRX715 15 inch Main Speakers:
BFvC6Nk.jpg

Horn Loaded Compression Drivers for High Freq on the SRX715:
RDyaVlq.jpg

Power Sequencer to help me turn on the equipments:
ZdWZyFc.jpg

mypillowtalks

why so many subs?

kiasu mah :s13:

But i also asked myself why do i need 8 subs, i think for very long, did a few experiments and took about 2 months to decide that i need this quantity. And then finding a suitable amplifier for them

One reason is because sometimes i rent the subs and speakers out for shows, and if i have 8 i can do bigger shows or i can split them up into different sets, eg. 4 subs x 2 shows.

Another reason is for redundancy, i blew a few subwoofers before due to lack of experience and accidents. So i have a few spares.

Another reason is because i need the extra volume. Coupling of subs side by side in free air may yield 3db extra of spl, if i run 8 together i will get extra volume(assuming comb filtering is negligible). Meaning i can achieve an intended sound pressure level without working them so hard, or i can work them hard and get extra volume.

Coupling ported subs will also help make the overall freq respond flatter, so this means if i cut one sub at 30hz, a total of 8 subs may bring the respond lower.

Another reason is because from my experiment, i feel that one 12" speaker will overpower one 18" subwoofer at loud volume. And running 2 will make the lows more pronounce.

Lastly is because sometimes i get request to have more bass for parties, In this case i will add in subharmonics synthesizer and subs.

mypillowtalks

Will I have the chance of visiting your place to open up my ears drums?

For newbies what setup is better? 5.1 or 7.1 is recommended?

See when got time to demo lo :s13:
My side left 2 speaker and 4 sub, the others at my brother's place. To be honest PA set up nothing special also, just sound like outside event or pub lor.

As for newbies, i believe there is no harm getting 7.1 as long as your budget allows.
Eventually you will be moving onto 7.1, might as well get a 7.1 to experience/learn tuning it.

Maybe you can get those receiver with those audyssey software?
Then from there you can start reading online and experimenting with the setting yourself.

Mavericks_604

OMNI DIRECTIONAL SOUND

Hey Bud,

Check out my bros setup:

Associated Equipment:

Digital Source: Aurender X100L / Oppo 83SE / Mac Mini

Analog source: Music hall 9.1 / GoldRing Eroica LX MC / IFI iPhono

Pre Amp: Octave HP500SE

Power Amp: Octave RE290 plus Super Black Box

DAC: IFI Micro IDSD /

Power Conditioner: Torus RM08

Cables: Analysis Plus Big Silver Oval SP / Analysis Plus Pro Audio PC / Analysis Plus Silver Oval IC

Speakers: German Physiks Limited 11

You can check out the full set up details here: hifisenses.com/house-visit/the-pursuit-of-omni-directional-sound.html

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.