Signing on at 28

yijun1989

I was hoping if anyone can give me insights on how the application works.

I am signing on not for the money but rather, I wish I could contribute my energy and effort towards my country. The private world is treating me well but the idea of doing everything / anything for profit is a self-centered move that I feel is inappropriate and I do not wish to support but I need to make a living and own a house in future, so I stayed on.

Recently, I applied for the ME scheme because it is course/study based and the retirement age is older. However, I got rejected because
1) My education cert is not related to the vocation im signing up for (I studied accounts and finance)
2) There's alot of people signing on in the officer scheme.

I am thinking what would be another good decision? Should I take another leap of faith to try on another vocation (non-ME scheme).

My military background:
I OOC from OCS due to an injury, but did not down PES. went through physiotherapy and fully recovered.
Was given a sgt rank as a signal spec, but S1 forgotten about me and put me as logistic spec.
Achieved a silver bayonet.
Maintained IPPT Gold.

I am not getting any younger and should straighten up my thoughts, hope for your honest opinions.

reddevil0728

I am signing on not for the money but rather, I wish I could contribute my energy and effort towards my country. The private world is treating me well but the idea of doing everything / anything for profit is a self-centered move that I feel is inappropriate and I do not wish to support but I need to make a living and own a house in future, so I stayed on.

Recently, I applied for the ME scheme because it is course/study based and the retirement age is older. However, I got rejected because
1) My education cert is not related to the vocation im signing up for (I studied accounts and finance)

I am thinking what would be another good decision? Should I take another leap of faith to try on another vocation (non-ME scheme).

My military background:
I OOC from OCS due to an injury, but did not down PES. went through physiotherapy and fully recovered.
Was given a sgt rank as a signal spec, but S1 forgotten about me and put me as logistic spec.
Maintained IPPT Gold.

I am not getting any younger and should straighten up my thoughts, hope for your honest opinions.
Why must sign on to contribute back to your country? Cannot be a civil/public servant?

yijun1989

That is actually my alternate route if I couldnt get in, as for now, I still have strong drive and passion in excelling in the military world.

It's a specialised role and duty for the country and if I have the opportunity to serve it will be a great pride and honour for myself.

reddevil0728

That is actually my alternate route if I couldnt get in, as for now, I still have strong drive and passion in excelling in the military world.

It's a specialised role and duty for the country and if I have the opportunity to serve it will be a great pride and honour for myself.
SCDF? SPF?

Kyoji83

Apart from ME which may not have age limit, you are already over the age limit for both Officer & WOSpec to sign on.

My military background:
Maintained IPPT Gold.

derrickgoh

Most 28 yr old WOSE are either SSG or MSG. Even if they accept u, u will be a 28 yr old 3SG. Worth it meh?

Same for junior ME. By that age most will be either ME2-2 or ME2-3. U will be starting off as ME Apprentice, not even ME1-1. Worth it boh?

Ditto for occifer. 28 yr old would be at least CPT. If scholar + high flyer maybe even MAJ.

IMO senior ME is the best route. But since already kena rejected then DXO is the last option.

But if you want something uniformed then consider home team. U will also be contributing to the nation. However again the age vs rank issue is still there lor.

Other ppl of the same age will be significantly higher rank then u. Its not just about face but also about salary.

I dont know anyone in ICA or prisons but i know two ppl in SPF. Both regulars. Ladies if that makes any difference, i dont know.

Both in mid 20s, one has been SSGT for a while liao so should be getting senior staff quite soon i think. The other recently promoted to ASP. If u in late 20s join, u will either be SGT or INSP depending on your route.

Similar for SCDF. I have a female cousin there. Just turned 30 (or is it 31?) & recently promotes to WO2. Imagine u joining & starting off as SGT. See the disparity?

tecnica

Bo hua leh.. even my ict csm also 3wo liao.. 30ish years old NSmen...

Calander

one can sign on at any age.. but think about it.. many of those younger will be of higher rank than you who have signed up at a later age..

sign on as a DXO in this case if u prefer to serve the nation via Mindef.

yijun1989

Bo hua signing WO scheme at the age of 28.
My friend with o lvl cert already MSG at the age of 25

Initially I chose the option to sign as an officer is to catch up with those that don't have a degree because the route of advancement was an express lane to captain.

However, both you and devil were right, if I am going to stay as a spec/sgt, I will most definitely lose out in terms of salary and progression.

I sincerely thank everyone for their input.

If I do consider DxO, will it be a case of doing paper work which is the same as the outside / private world? Because I don't feel the impact of a DxO, based on my previous camp's DxO because I was based in HQ in the past and the DxO is just passing day by day doing nothing much. Just paper work and don't cock up daily activities.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.