Sim Lim Square become Ghost Town?

elmariachi

It is really good. In fact, one of the greatest highlight of SLS shopping trip.

My gf then (waifu now) will complain that it is high cholesterol but even with all the low cholesterol food, she only grow sideways now. :ROFLMAO:
Yeah it was the climax at the end of hoot sessions at SLS. Aiyah, you see Indian women after marriage is sideways to the power of 1000. Sometimes being too healthy doesn't necessarily mean a perfect body. But happy wife happy life liao!

Psycovirus

I used to help build PCs for friends. Many DIY builds back in the day.

Now a days, even if I choose the same parts for a DIY build, I can't match the price of pre-builds from the likes of Aftershock anymore. They're always cheaper while giving 3 years of support.

So just ask friends to buy from them, no need to go SLS with them to pick and choose parts.

NightRaven49

Now a days, even if I choose the same parts for a DIY build, I can't match the price of pre-builds from the likes of Aftershock anymore. They're always cheaper while giving 3 years of support.

So just ask friends to buy from them, no need to go SLS with them to pick and choose parts.
better pray it doesnt break, the reason why theyre cheap is cos they cheap out on parts that arent the cpu or gpu. some parts like psu they give u some unknown unit, other parts they cheat u of warranty (by right should have 5yr to lifetime but only give 3y), and aftersales support also hit or miss one.

alamakazim

our IT shops not like in japan.... sibei many pattern leh...

is so boring and repetitive

86technie

I used to help build PCs for friends. Many DIY builds back in the day.

Cheap yes, can ask those who buy Aftershock.
How many times need to send for servicing?
The parts they choose are either OEM or the cheapest one they choose.

I can list all the parts Aftershock use example:
SSD - Lexar/Aftershock OEM SSD Bad endurance once you see Windows cannot load than..
PSU - FSP mostly can be either HV series or EVGA 650 GD series
You won't see Aftershock use higher end PSU like FSP Hydro G or EVGA Supernova.
Case - Aftershock has drop Tecware which is for good reasons.
But now they design and manufacture their own casing.

The list goes on and on, bascially what Tech dynamic provide Aftershock with they just use.
You won't see Corsair, Gskill, ASUS (Definetely out) or MSI in their build.
Other PC builder like Invader, Mansa than yes since they source from not just one distro.

Psycovirus

SSD - Lexar/Aftershock OEM SSD Bad endurance once you see Windows cannot load than..

The list goes on and on, bascially what Tech dynamic provide Aftershock with they just use.
Other PC builder like Invader, Mansa than yes since they source from not just one distro.
In the end, If I DIY, I'll have to deal with warranty of different parts. Some parts need weeks to RMA, end up with no PC. But if I buy from Aftershock, I don't have to deal with any brands, just let Aftershock settle, so much more convenient. Also, hard to convince friend when DIY build is $400 more expensive than Aftershock build for similar parts, then tell them they'll have to deal warranty themselves for a DIY build.

artyboy

It doesn't surprise me that SLS is like a ghost town. I have been custom building my PC there for decades but I only to there when I intend to upgrade my entire rig. If I'm only looking for some parts to upgrade I buy online. And so far I've bought computer peripherals from VideoPro, Dynacore and Bizgram (all SLS retailers) online and have them conveniently delivered to my doorstep. So it's not surprising that footfall at SLS has gone down drastically. Maybe one day all of them will operate solely online and save on the hefty rentals. I have bought quite a number of stuff from online computer stores who operate from AMK, Toa Payoh etc places which doesnt have killer rentals like SLS.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator

To be fair, Aftershock does offer higher grade FSP psu like PTM pro. But it's an upgrade option.

I just did a search; they do offer Gigabyte/Corsair/MSI option.

darkmatt

PC Themes still going strong.

Anw, prices there really not worth it la. things like SSD/HDD just buy from SLS since diff is small.

I bought GPU. newegg 1.1k. same model in SLS 1.5k..

no brainer

xtractor

PC Themes still going strong.

Anw, prices there really not worth it la. things like SSD/HDD just buy from SLS since diff is small.

I bought GPU. newegg 1.1k. same model in SLS 1.5k..

no brainer
Other online merchants provide better cash back, discount coupons, and voucher at more affordable costs than Newegg.
like Shoppee, Lazada, and Qoo10, if you can sum up and know when to get their voucher and discount.u can still get cheaper price instead of going to physical store
I'm not sure why people still continue to shop at Newegg when they never seem to have a good deal or any good voucher and warranty

I bough once @ Newegg years back and the price was not cheaper either.When I called Newegg to ask about the warranty on an Asus motherboard I had purchased due to faulty network card, they insisted that I contact Asus USA directly. They ended up pushing each other when I did that since Asus USA requested that I go back to Newegg. I gave up in the end and purchased a network card,and will not buy at Newegg again after that incident

When you indicate that you bought the GPU at Newegg for $1.1k, but SLS is selling it for $1.5k, which is at least $400 less, and you can get some other peripherals with that extra $400, I don't think buying it there is wise too, when you still have to take bus or MRT/Taxi over there and pay extra for transportation

Since AMD was half as expensive as Nvidia during 15–10 years ago, most people chose to get their systems from SLS because it was a more affordable option. This is why SLS was so popular at that time.
However, the pricing of AMD and Nvidia are now no different., so purchasing a system from SLS for me is no brainer because the prices are nearly same, unlike 15-10 years ago.

darkmatt

Other online merchants provide better cash back, discount coupons, and voucher at more affordable costs than Newegg.
like Shoppee, Lazada, and Qoo10, if you can sum up and know when to get their voucher and discount.u can still get cheaper price instead of going to physical store
I'm not sure why people still continue to shop at Newegg when they never seem to have a good deal or any good voucher and warranty

I bough once @ Newegg years back and the price was not cheaper either.When I called Newegg to ask about the warranty on an Asus motherboard I had purchased due to faulty network card, they insisted that I contact Asus USA directly. They ended up pushing each other when I did that since Asus USA requested that I go back to Newegg. I gave up in the end and purchased a network card,and will not buy at Newegg again after that incident

When you indicate that you bought the GPU at Newegg for $1.1k, but SLS is selling it for $1.5k, which is at least $400 less, and you can get some other peripherals with that extra $400, I don't think buying it there is wise too, when you still have to take bus or MRT/Taxi over there and pay extra for transportation

Since AMD was half as expensive as Nvidia during 15–10 years ago, most people chose to get their systems from SLS because it was a more affordable option. This is why SLS was so popular at that time.
However, the pricing of AMD and Nvidia are now no different., so purchasing a system from SLS for me is not a good idea because the prices are nearly same, unlike 15-10 years ago.
its a single piece upgrade.

I just checked lazada. cheapest GPU of the same model i want is 1.4k

koohansen

The last time I helped someone DIY a rig was last year, The entire CPU (Gaming) price difference was S$400+
Amazon US, Lazada, and Shopee during those sales events. Savings can be substantial, especially SSD/RAM prices was 30-40% cheaper

xtractor

Online is for discounts and deals, local where got discount? They turn the discount into their profits lol.
Maybe their rental goes up too. On top of that, the distributor supplies them with MSRP, so they have to mark up the price more for the goods they are selling, which causes buyers to move to online with cheaper and discount options.

By the way, SLS still brings back fond memories from the past.You may get a variety of items there, including pirated CDs, a shop selling actual game discs, watercooling services, P2P players, phone and laptop repair shop, a second-hand motherboard, GPU, camera and security system, and other miscellaneous electronic items, and an unforgettable food stall.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
High end GPU, just buy from amazon or newegg to save. Chances are that local distro might not keep stocks for high end GPU. End up any issue you go find them; they will send back for you. Pay so much for them to send back for you might as well buy cheaper and send back yourself. Still save.

Phen8210

Maybe their rental goes up too. On top of that, the distributor supplies them with MSRP, so they have to mark up the price more for the goods they are selling, which causes buyers to move to online with cheaper and discount options.

By the way, SLS still brings back fond memories from the past.You may get a variety of items there, including pirated CDs, a shop selling actual game discs, watercooling services, P2P players, phone and laptop repair shop, a second-hand motherboard, GPU, camera and security system, and other miscellaneous electronic items, and an unforgettable food stall.

Ya, their business model is not efficient. Not our problem, frankly speaking :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.