SIM RMIT 2014 JULY INTAKE

DjumbaDjumba

Hey all RMIT-ers. How are you guys doing so far in school? So many assignments and projects piling up right :/ Just want to ask how you guys coping with it? I started to feel pressurize because every assignments I got I went blank and don't know how to do. Only have one or two friends in the school, since most of them I see already with their own group clique. I was just an average poly students last time. Came to study here because my parents want to see all their children holding a degree cert on their hands. I feel like I wont make it through next sem without any fail modules. I even thought about dropping out after this semester ends. It's getting from hard to tough every time I step into the campus every day. your advices are really appreciated. Thanks for your concern!

annabellens

Selling of Textbook

Investment textbook
Analysis of Investments and Management of Portfolios
by Frank K. Reilly and Keith C. Brown
9th Edition
In good condition, no highlights, only tagging of important parts with post its.
Selling at $38.

Pm me.
Thanks!

turtle splash

i am going to apply for RMIT 2015 Jan intake, probably the business (management) or business (marketing) :s22:

any comments from fellow seniors? is there a lot of difficult maths in the courses listed above? i have read through the programme structure, it seems like most of the modules are theory based :o

what and what not to expect if i get accepted into the course? :crazy:

any interesting things to share with me? :D

yamihamir

I'm thinking of applying to RMIT Accountancy course in Jan 2015. But I'm from a non business diploma with a GPA of 2.6. I wonder if I can get in..

ericme

Hey all RMIT-ers. How are you guys doing so far in school? So many assignments and projects piling up right :/ Just want to ask how you guys coping with it? I started to feel pressurize because every assignments I got I went blank and don't know how to do. Only have one or two friends in the school, since most of them I see already with their own group clique. I was just an average poly students last time. Came to study here because my parents want to see all their children holding a degree cert on their hands. I feel like I wont make it through next sem without any fail modules. I even thought about dropping out after this semester ends. It's getting from hard to tough every time I step into the campus every day. your advices are really appreciated. Thanks for your concern!

Hey man which course are you in? try to get a few more friends(maybe from your group project?) I was from a design course in poly and went for NS so coming back to school isnt easy too. Especially changing from design to business. What i do is to sit consistently with my group mates and help each other out especially in group project. For individual assignment you can try and meet out with these mates to do it together too!

DjumbaDjumba

Hey man which course are you in? try to get a few more friends(maybe from your group project?) I was from a design course in poly and went for NS so coming back to school isnt easy too. Especially changing from design to business. What i do is to sit consistently with my group mates and help each other out especially in group project. For individual assignment you can try and meet out with these mates to do it together too!

Thanks for your replied and suggestions. I'm in Marketing. My group projects are from different courses. Only see them in one or twice per week. I did ask them to study together, but they all said they prefer to study at home. aiyoo.. I have to go all out by myself I guess. After all no man or time are going to wait for you.
Well I wish you all the best in study dude. Sure its all new study environments for you, from creative design to business theory. wish you all the best!

DjumbaDjumba

i am going to apply for RMIT 2015 Jan intake, probably the business (management) or business (marketing) :s22:

any comments from fellow seniors? is there a lot of difficult maths in the courses listed above? i have read through the programme structure, it seems like most of the modules are theory based :o

There are two common core which involve a lot of maths which all RMIT students have to take regardless of their course:
1. Accounting in Organisations and Society
2. Business statistics 1

If you're from Engineering or business related poly students, chances are you getting exempted from statistics 1, but still have to take accounting. It depends on your poly/A level/private diploma etc. transcript.
But you're right, most of the modules are theory.

What to expect? a lot of individual assignments and can be up to two group projects every semester. But count ourselves lucky because RMIT module's passing grade is split between assignment/project and exams. If you do badly in exam, you still get a lifeline to pass if your project got a good marks.
It's all about self-study, no more getting pampered like in poly. But the lectures are all really helpful.

loveaddict

this sem will feel more pressure cause i got outside commitment, and 3 essays (2 indiv, 1 group) dued on monday as compared to prev sem 1 indiv due around this period, 1 group due end of sem. really just no choice got to go for lecture, and bomb lecturer will questions. for essay i will try to write the frame work out and let lecturer see if its in the right direction (i got friend write wrong end up must redo everything).

just got to make friends somehow, usually will always see the same few ppl got same mods as you, just go say hi. or if not join cca, will be able to meet ppl who are taking same mods, or at least got take before/similar ones then got ppl to ask and discuss!

2 years right? really just hang on and pia only.

loveaddict

are you from biz dip? if biz dip then wont have math mods for mgmt and mktg (from what i know), unless you need to take core mods like stats and acct. mgmt really is throw theory until you dont understand, idk how to advise also, ownself also trying to digest the theory until want to puke liao :s22:

How u all study for business law? The mcq test hard?

the mid sem and final exam, dont bother bringing tb in, useless book make you stress only. concise all the info inside into notes then bring in. depends on how it works for you....

for me i do offer, agreement, consideration and intention on one page each (so total 2 pieces double side paper). then i will write case names in color, then describe the case at the side. eg. Carbolic smoke ball - advertisement can be invitation to treat. like that easier to link to the answer. find all the practice questions and try to do. tia my lecturer gong prev sem, must write 3 pages, and it should have 15 cases mentioned and 5 issues identified. cases part is easy la, google for more related cases to include. dunno how you want to bs until 3 pages nia :s22: i usually write 1.5 pages only.

read the bqa to understan how to phrase your answers better. only useful as reading material, not much use in exam hall also. unless you got a lot of time left but not enough things to write, then can refer (put sticky note to label each topic like formation of contract, negligence etc)

i not zai, but can pm me if you need help, can try to help you a bit :)

ericme

Thanks for your replied and suggestions. I'm in Marketing. My group projects are from different courses. Only see them in one or twice per week. I did ask them to study together, but they all said they prefer to study at home. aiyoo.. I have to go all out by myself I guess. After all no man or time are going to wait for you.
Well I wish you all the best in study dude. Sure its all new study environments for you, from creative design to business theory. wish you all the best!

Im from marketing too! Need any help feel free to pm me

turtle splash

i was from communication diploma.:o

so management and marketing all full of theory and no maths/science ah?:crazy: steady lah, i don't want to touch those technical subjects again if possible :s13:

so the students there competitive and studious or not? :crazy:

no need to use laptop to do work hor?:s22:

loveaddict

i was from communication diploma.:o

so management and marketing all full of theory and no maths/science ah?:crazy: steady lah, i don't want to touch those technical subjects again if possible :s13:

so the students there competitive and studious or not? :crazy:

no need to use laptop to do work hor?:s22:

need laptop to write your essay lor:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.