SIM RMIT JULY 2013 INTAKE

FitZai_Hippo

Hi peeps, i am in rmit, for those who are in a dilemma between rmit and uol. No doubt, UOL is alot more difficult and they have honours standing.

But i think one of the factor that UOL is not that good is they study by the book and do not know about the outside world. This is because they have 0 projects hence they study via and only by book.

Hope it helps : )

Daraof21

No it doesn't help . Who don't already know UOL is a 100 percent exam based course of study .

ahdada

Rx-ed letter of acceptance into Adv 1 (2yrs) for SIM RMIT in accountancy but I opt for 3yrs.

Hi to all out there esp existing SIM RMIT accountancy student,

I rx-ed letter of acceptance into Adv 1 (2yrs) for SIM RMIT in accountancy but I opt for 3yrs course.I do not have any knowledge in a/cting. What shld I do? Shld I just accept the 2yrs course (adv 1) or 3yrs course?

Please advise.
Appreciated!

wav35_

Hi to all out there esp existing SIM RMIT accountancy student,

I rx-ed letter of acceptance into Adv 1 (2yrs) for SIM RMIT in accountancy but I opt for 3yrs course.I do not have any knowledge in a/cting. What shld I do? Shld I just accept the 2yrs course (adv 1) or 3yrs course?

Please advise.
Appreciated!

what poly dip are u holding?

ahdada

what poly dip are u holding?
Dip in Engineering from Spore poly.

But it's not relevant to the course leh. Duno why they give me Adv 1. Will be very tough for me if i accept it. Any advice?

enimsajnil

But it's not relevant to the course leh. Duno why they give me Adv 1. Will be very tough for me if i accept it. Any advice?

As long as you hold a certified diploma, you are eligible to enrol into their advanced 1 courses. I also scared I will miss any foundation principles cos my dip is totally irrelevant as well >_<

yswrox

Need urgent help, anyone know if any of this module doesn't include a group project component?

Econs and Finance:
Price Theory
Risk Management
Law of Investment and Financial Markets
Investment

ahdada

As long as you hold a certified diploma, you are eligible to enrol into their advanced 1 courses. I also scared I will miss any foundation principles cos my dip is totally irrelevant as well >_<
Just curious, what course did you sign up with RMIT? Accountancy too? I just went to SIM to submit my student contract form and student card form this AM. What the lady told me is if I want a 3yrs course, I can always talk to RMIT representative on 13/6 @ SIM.

wav35_

http://www.simge.edu.sg/idc/groups/ge_partner_uni_rmit/documents/ge_brochure/idcpub003088.pdf (refer to pg 6, 13 and 22)

actually wont really affect, and wont lose out. cos all the full prog and advanced 1 students (in fact all biz students) start by doing core biz modules (pg 6), same exposure and your gpa start from there. and both will do all the 8 acct majors (pg 13), acct foundations will be ACCT2060 and ACCT2062 (pg 13). only difference is full prog students can opt to do another 4 minors (the acct professional services minor on pg 22), or in fact they can choose to do another 8 modules from another major (not acct).

so if really wanna say lose out, you lose out on the 4 more acct modules they do (but i dunno whether are they useful, i didnt major in acct) or you can say you lose out on the another major exposure they get.

frankly speaking, once you start sch, you will be swarmed by all the projs, assignments and tests (and exams). never hear of ppl wanting to do more modules. and 1 more year of studies = 1 year working experience as well. but i suggest if u really wanna do the full prog, ask RMIT whether you can revert back to advanced 1 if you change your mind (after all you did get granted advanced 1). if they say ok, ask for black and white statement for future verification! and make up ur mind after sem 2 cos by sem 3, full prog and advanced 1 will be different and by then, you should have an idea of uni life liao.

ahdada

http://www.simge.edu.sg/idc/groups/ge_partner_uni_rmit/documents/ge_brochure/idcpub003088.pdf (refer to pg 6, 13 and 22)

actually wont really affect, and wont lose out. cos all the full prog and advanced 1 students (in fact all biz students) start by doing core biz modules (pg 6), same exposure and your gpa start from there. and both will do all the 8 acct majors (pg 13), acct foundations will be ACCT2060 and ACCT2062 (pg 13). only difference is full prog students can opt to do another 4 minors (the acct professional services minor on pg 22), or in fact they can choose to do another 8 modules from another major (not acct).

so if really wanna say lose out, you lose out on the 4 more acct modules they do (but i dunno whether are they useful, i didnt major in acct) or you can say you lose out on the another major exposure they get.

frankly speaking, once you start sch, you will be swarmed by all the projs, assignments and tests (and exams). never hear of ppl wanting to do more modules. and 1 more year of studies = 1 year working experience as well. but i suggest if u really wanna do the full prog, ask RMIT whether you can revert back to advanced 1 if you change your mind (after all you did get granted advanced 1). if they say ok, ask for black and white statement for future verification! and make up ur mind after sem 2 cos by sem 3, full prog and advanced 1 will be different and by then, you should have an idea of uni life liao.
Thank you + Appreciated for the advice+sharing. Benefit alot from it! Thanks! Will sought 2nd opinon from the staff when I make a trip to the school next wk.

ahdada

Thank you for the reply! okie you mentioned: 'or in fact they can choose to do another 8 modules from another major (not acct).' The 8 modules you mentioned in here refers are from a diff major eg management & I have to clear all the 8 modules? Okies, my first major is Accountancy & if I were to take up the management as my second major, & will this be reflected in my degree?

Thanks for the info! Very much appreciated. I'm a slow learner (maybe getting on in age is one of the cause :-> )
Yup I understand that for adv 1, I will missed out important minors like <Auditing 1, Singapore Taxation, Ethics & Accountability, Forsenic Business Investigation> that are pretty important?
If I did not take this particular Minor, can I still do taxation (SG) in future?

wav35_

Thank you for the reply! okie you mentioned: 'or in fact they can choose to do another 8 modules from another major (not acct).' The 8 modules you mentioned in here refers are from a diff major eg management & I have to clear all the 8 modules? Okies, my first major is Accountancy & if I were to take up the management as my second major, & will this be reflected in my degree?

Thanks for the info! Very much appreciated. I'm a slow learner (maybe getting on in age is one of the cause :-> )
Yup I understand that for adv 1, I will missed out important minors like <Auditing 1, Singapore Taxation, Ethics & Accountability, Forsenic Business Investigation> that are pretty important?
If I did not take this particular Minor, can I still do taxation (SG) in future?

you're welcome! no, if you take up a second major, it wont be reflected in your degree. only the modules are reflected in the transcript. and yes, you have to clear all the modules. you can choose not to take a second major, you can take minors and electives as well to make up the 8 modules.

for your second qn, i cant advise cos i didnt major in acct. best for you to ask rmit personnels from acct, or acct lecturers in sim, not admin staffs cos dun think they will know.

Diluted

It is advised that you take Singapore Taxation and Auditing 1 if you plan to further your studies with CPA Australia.. Because without these two modules, you'll have to take additional papers to make up for it..

enimsajnil

you're welcome! no, if you take up a second major, it wont be reflected in your degree. only the modules are reflected in the transcript. and yes, you have to clear all the modules. you can choose not to take a second major, you can take minors and electives as well to make up the 8 modules.

for your second qn, i cant advise cos i didnt major in acct. best for you to ask rmit personnels from acct, or acct lecturers in sim, not admin staffs cos dun think they will know.

Are you a current student? Which course are you in? What I can tell from mine is that adavanced 1 would just be without electives, but I do not know what electives I can take.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.