SIM UOL FAQ

incredible.piggie

For all potential SIM UOL students to post their admission, fees, exam questions here.

Edit: Thanks Jayan for the edit!

noobiee

Carpark how much? Got Season parking?

The application is first come first serve?

If poly dip is irrelevent to the course I'm applying for, got chance?

Command of english must be very tok-kong? if machiam like china FT standard can?

as above, thank you very much

incredible.piggie

Carpark how much? Got Season parking?

The application is first come first serve?

If poly dip is irrelevent to the course I'm applying for, got chance?

Command of english must be very tok-kong? if machiam like china FT standard can?

as above, thank you very much

Car 1 buck per hour
Bike $0.50 per entry
15min grace period
Unsheltered one still free iirc but impossible to find them unless u come to school like 7+?
No season parking.

From what i heard yes.

Relevant diploma = got exemption lor. Should still be 1st come 1st serve basis.

English tok-kong? Nah I GP E, fail O lvl england before, i am still alive (barely) n studying...

noobiee

Car 1 buck per hour
Bike $0.50 per entry
5min grace period
Unsheltered one still free iirc but impossible to find them unless u come to school like 7+?
No season parking.

From what i heard yes.

Relevant diploma = got exemption lor. Should still be 1st come 1st serve basis.

English tok-kong? Nah I GP E, fail O lvl england before, i am still alive (barely) n studying...

wah stylo milo, you what course in SIM?

if first come first serve i hong gan liao

only going down tomorrow to submit certs

incredible.piggie

wah stylo milo, you what course in SIM?

if first come first serve i hong gan liao

only going down tomorrow to submit certs

Paiseh is 15min grace not 5, i edited my previous post.

Me suppose to be final year AnF but...nvm...onli littlepig know my pain.

I wish you luck! Prolly receive acceptance letter late may or early june.

Pinkishness

depends what kind of lecturers you get. like in my case, unfortunately i got 2 of the worst lecturer for math1 and stats 2. thankfully the rest was good. very detailed and patient with their teaching. lesson that i learn, do your research well on which lecturers to pick i.e their style of teaching. And when the timetable registering window opens (like 10am), pls be ready by your computer and spam the log in. i logged in like 1hr later and all the good lecturers / good timings all got booked....

How do you know which lecturers' teaching style are good and are patient with their students? Once being accepted by SIM, there's an orientation before normal classes begin right? During orientation, what is it like? Have to bring anything?

Timetable have to register yourself? As in... Monday to Saturday you choose what day, time and teacher for each module? And I thought the school does that and gives it to each student lol. I think before the timetable registering window open, most students already at home standby!

Zeusor

which application method is better? online / sent hard copy? i know there's price different but will prefer to know asap that it have been received.

and if submitting hardcopy, can do so on a sat ?

incredible.piggie

How do you know which lecturers' teaching style are good and are patient with their students? Once being accepted by SIM, there's an orientation before normal classes begin right? During orientation, what is it like? Have to bring anything?

Timetable have to register yourself? As in... Monday to Saturday you choose what day, time and teacher for each module? And I thought the school does that and gives it to each student lol. I think before the timetable registering window open, most students already at home standby!

Lecturers? Go dig the other thread abit and you will know which are the goodbetter lecturers. N it depends too. For example Intro got Mr Ting, Mark Harris and Lee Chin Choo teaching, I have friend who like Mr Ting and some who prefer Lee Chin Choo

Orientation? I pon mine...I dun really see the point of going, but since you are international student, I think u might have a different one.

For normal local student yes, we pick our own timetable. But since you foreigner, got some ICA regulation to follow so better check with sim. And foreigner students always get to pick the timetable earlier than local student:s27: which is so unfair! U no need to camp with us commoners...

incredible.piggie

which application method is better? online / sent hard copy? i know there's price different but will prefer to know asap that it have been received.

and if submitting hardcopy, can do so on a sat ?

This one i cant help u liao...during my time i dun remember having online application.
and yup u can do it on a sat but do take note of the opening hours of the office. !/2 day iirc.

Pinkishness

Lecturers? Go dig the other thread abit and you will know which are the goodbetter lecturers. N it depends too. For example Intro got Mr Ting, Mark Harris and Lee Chin Choo teaching, I have friend who like Mr Ting and some who prefer Lee Chin Choo

Orientation? I pon mine...I dun really see the point of going, but since you are international student, I think u might have a different one.

For normal local student yes, we pick our own timetable. But since you foreigner, got some ICA regulation to follow so better check with sim. And foreigner students always get to pick the timetable earlier than local student:s27: which is so unfair! U no need to camp with us commoners...

How come we pick timetable earlier than local students? At least local students have friends they know going to SIM together, most international students all solo, go Singapore alone. By the way, you're taking UOL which degree? Got friends in UOL business or management? Any comments from them about their program?

walsly

i tink we can also create one maths/stats/econs thread hahahaha. everyone can go there n discuss

walsly

How come we pick timetable earlier than local students? At least local students have friends they know going to SIM together, most international students all solo, go Singapore alone. By the way, you're taking UOL which degree? Got friends in UOL business or management? Any comments from them about their program?

oh dont worry. if you go to the orientation or student/sport clubs you'll definitely make new friends along the way. and from what i see... they have this foreign student group thingy so dont worry about it :s13:

incredible.piggie

I have no idea why foreign students get to pick 1st...must ask sim.

U will be surprise that there are local students who are loner...like me...

They might have some bonding session for foreigners ba, cuz i always see the indo and vietnam students in groups. Sometimes they are quite noisy:s34:

I am from AnF, i do have friend in Biz but not close one.

incredible.piggie

i tink we can also create one maths/stats/econs thread hahahaha. everyone can go there n discuss

lol math stats econs can ask in the original thread ba...if not that thread will be so dead.

Near the exam u will see more ppl posting qn, My yr1 was alot of poa qn, last year there was alot of fr qn....this year i foresee alot of ma qn:s13:

walsly

I have no idea why foreign students get to pick 1st...must ask sim.

U will be surprise that there are local students who are loner...like me...

They might have some bonding session for foreigners ba, cuz i always see the indo and vietnam students in groups. Sometimes they are quite noisy:s34:

I am from AnF, i do have friend in Biz but not close one.

when chiu all grad we can hold a informal hwz gathering at megabites :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.