SIM UOL

kittypie

Hi kittypie. I'm currently a year 1 going to year 2 student. As for tips, I would like to say consistent study. The school culture is pretty much laidback so there wasn't any stress at first. But thanks to prelims and finals, I realised that I should have done consistent studies instead of cramming last minute.

On a side note, INTRO TO ECONS module is friggin tough. There were alot of failures for this module for many years. I think passing rate is currently ~60%. But they changed the exam format this year. I'm this year's guinea pig batch! Just sat for my econs paper today and it was pretty manageable. I think the uk guy decided to be lenient because of the change in exam format(from short qns to 30 MCQs).

Other modules that you'll be taking will be Stats1, Maths1, POA and Principles of Banking&Finance. Stats lecturers in uol isn't really that good. So alot of self study must be done on your own. As for Maths1, its relatively easy compared to all the other modules. For POA, it might be easy for those with existing background in this subject. As for Principles of b&f, it's smth new but still manageable.

AND ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS don't forget about your subject guide. Alot of ppl neglect it and study for exams using their lecture notes but that WILL NOT give you an A/B if that's the grade you're aiming for. It might be wordy and naggy, but it's really the best guide everrrrrrr! And dont forget to do past year papers which are available on simconnect! Answers are provided under commentaries :)

Also, rmb to go for FOD to gain some friends! If not you'll be an emo kid in lectures HAHAHA btw if u ever go to the canteen at the popular lvl, u MUST HAVE their bak chor mee and tomyum banmee!

Enjoy your short holiday for now!
oh btw, is it always lectures or are there any tutorials??? ;O

gelliho

Kan chiong spider

I received my confirmation last mth. I got into UOL banking and finance so i did some research on how to get first class honour (I think i must attend the lecture before i can judge how hard is it) but i heard a lot of students are like me.

before entering = first class
year 1 = 2nd upper
year 2= 2nd lower
final year = popi pass :eek:

I also started studying POA ( no background)

I also found a forum that talks about which lecturer are better for which module..

Are we allowed to choose classes according to the lecturer? :s12:

Kyoji83

I am not from UOL but have the same thinking.

Before entering = Aim at 2nd upper

Direct enter 2nd year = Just get a Hons Degree even if it is a 3rd class

Enter 3rd (final) year = Just pass with a degree. Really no time due to work & family commitment.

I received my confirmation last mth. I got into UOL banking and finance so i did some research on how to get first class honour (I think i must attend the lecture before i can judge how hard is it) but i heard a lot of students are like me.

year 1 = 2nd upper
year 2= 2nd lower

I also found a forum that talks about which lecturer are better for which module..

gelliho

I am not from UOL but have the same thinking.

Before entering = Aim at 2nd upper

Direct enter 2nd year = Just get a Hons Degree even if it is a 3rd class

Enter 3rd (final) year = Just pass with a degree. Really no time due to work & family commitment.

That's why I very kan Chiong now lor.. Already started liao.. Cos I read online.. They said banking and finance totally no need to compete with local U student if u didn't get 1st class..

School fee is also a problem for me.. So I am afraid I can't manage work and study at the same time ..

Any advise on what job I should be looking for ? I saw those comic connection like not bad.. They can watch video and play game while working .. Maybe I can study a bit while working too 😂

Kyoji83

1) comic connection operate on retail hours, I don't think even part timer can have a choice on working hours to study full or part time.

2) comic connection have CCTV monitoring their staff movement which I can advice you to forget about studying while working.

3) It is a hard thing to focus on studies while working regardless full time or part time job/studies. You just have to give up something.

That's why I very kan Chiong now lor.. Already started liao.. Cos I read online.. They said banking and finance totally no need to compete with local U student if u didn't get 1st class..

School fee is also a problem for me.. So I am afraid I can't manage work and study at the same time ..

Any advise on what job I should be looking for ? I saw those comic connection like not bad.. They can watch video and play game while working .. Maybe I can study a bit while working too 😂

kittypie

year 1 = 2nd upper
year 2= 2nd lower

u also got into banking & finance full time?

gelliho

BNF

u also got into banking & finance full time?

yeah.. full time..

just received the confirmation date for FOD..

I thought I can go FOD and take a break from work

But the timing like no diff from work leh. 830 - 6pm D:

chiwawa23

yeah.. full time..

just received the confirmation date for FOD..

I thought I can go FOD and take a break from work

But the timing like no diff from work leh. 830 - 6pm D:

Yea, FOD is full day 1, but will be lots of fun :)

bugmenot45

are you doing FT or PT? if possible, try to get an office-based job. especially one which is related to your field of studies. get some relevant experience to fill up your resume and it'll be easier when you apply for internships or full-time jobs. in the private sector, your honours classification would matter less if you have relevant experience.

gelliho

are you doing FT or PT? if possible, try to get an office-based job. especially one which is related to your field of studies. get some relevant experience to fill up your resume and it'll be easier when you apply for internships or full-time jobs. in the private sector, your honours classification would matter less if you have relevant experience.

Im doing FT. Therefore, most likely im unable to commit for a office-based job as i believe most of them required me to commit full time. I need to work to prepare for 2nd year sch fee. :vijayadmin:

bugmenot45

Im doing FT. Therefore, most likely im unable to commit for a office-based job as i believe most of them required me to commit full time. I need to work to prepare for 2nd year sch fee. :vijayadmin:

not sure what's your schedule like but there are definitely jobs out there which don't require you to commit full-time -

At Home Advisor - Customer Service and Support at Apple in Singapore -Singapore - Job | LinkedIn (work from home)
Research Assistant (Library, History, $11.50 - $ 14.50/hr, Bugis) - Capita Outsourcing (3 days/week)
Events Administrator (6 Months, 20 Hrs Part-Time Per Week) at International Baccalaureate in Singapore - Job | LinkedIn (20 hours/week)
Sensory Panelist - Nestle R&D Center (Pte) Ltd (3 times/week)

taken from this facebook group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/ECMSGJobs4Mums/

kittypie

No bridging.. After NS totally lose touch with everything. I cant even remember my A math. I have to go back and revise again.
Ohoh okay, I don't even learn A Maths before...
Were you from poly banking as well?
I'll probably see u on FOD haha..

gelliho

Thanks for the info. I will consider once i start my sch to see if i can manage. If i cant even manage i might just take loan for 2nd and 3rd year

htditsp

Hello! I am a current SIM-UOL Year 1 student and I'm looking to give away some notes and exam papers. If interested please PM me! Thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.