SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

frizee

Top-up $5. At least reduce the gap to $4.60
It’s okay bro I normally use the Shopee / Qoo10 discount method so I usually top up $10…

Now I just have to used 2x $4/gb overseas data then left $1.60 haha :LOL:

sullycoin

TPG data speed mostly too slow to do any serious work. :)
It’s good enough for Zoom, Webex & just about any work app that I use. What app do you use for ‘serious work’ that requires blazing speed?

how to define "serious" work la

should anyone be doing "serious" work on a mobile phone anyway?
Yes, it’s quite common for people to be doing video calls on their phones these days, among other work apps.

lohsenglte

It’s okay bro I normally use the Shopee / Qoo10 discount method so I usually top up $10…

Now I just have to used 2x $4/gb overseas data then left $1.60 haha :LOL:
I mean it's your choice la, I'm giving solution so you can reduce gap to $4.60 so your excess spending dunnid to plan so nice.

jywy2005

So far any complaints to using TPG for roaming calls and data usage? The wallet sounds like to great idea.

I am still holding on to my Skype plan for voice calls while overseas. The credit balance kena eaten up when I didn’t use it for a year.

frizee

I mean it's your choice la, I'm giving solution so you can reduce gap to $4.60 so your excess spending dunnid to plan so nice.
Eh lol I thought after the first 1GB free, it will deduct $4 and give me a new 1GB? No?

Seems like that’s NOT the case because my wallet is slowly depleting as I continue to use the roaming data, so I don’t know what exactly is the rate now…

adbcefg

Eh lol I thought after the first 1GB free, it will deduct $4 and give me a new 1GB? No?

Seems like that’s NOT the case because my wallet is slowly depleting as I continue to use the roaming data, so I don’t know what exactly is the rate nowmy the paid roaming rate is $4 per GB for group A destinations, but the charging from wallet balance is done per 10MB ($0.04) and not per GB ($4)
My memory is that the paid roaming rate is $4 per GB for group A destinations, but the charging from wallet balance is done per 10MB ($0.04) and not per GB ($4)

Bkgggg

Seems like that’s NOT the case because my wallet is slowly depleting as I continue to use the roaming data, so I don’t know what exactly is the rate now…
I have always been curious as to the definition of pay per use with regards excess data charges (charges above and beyond your plan entitlement).

The belief is that the roaming service will be auto stopped once your account balance is zero.
As far as I know, this is not explicitly stated on their web site.

Since it is pay per use, what is stopping SIMBA from NOT auto stopping the roaming service and continuing to charge you (ie carrying over the the additional data charges to your next bill) ?

phayze

lohsenglte

$4/GB, but charged in blocks of 10MB, i.e. $0.04 blocks.

I have always been curious as to the definition of pay per use with regards excess data charges (charges above and beyond your plan entitlement).

The belief is that the roaming service will be auto stopped once your account balance is zero.
As far as I know, this is not explicitly stated on their web site.

Since it is pay per use, what is stopping SIMBA from NOT auto stopping the roaming service and continuing to charge you (ie carrying over the the additional data charges to your next bill) ?
They don't want users to use alr and not pay after. They did not ask you for a deposit, and also allow roaming for foreigners esp.
That is why if you have a balance inside the SIMBA Wallet, they'll deduct from there. Else, you will get limited or no service.

frizee

$4/GB, but charged in blocks of 10MB, i.e. $0.04 blocks.
My memory is that the paid roaming rate is $4 per GB for group A destinations, but the charging from wallet balance is done per 10MB ($0.04) and not per GB ($4)
Thanks guys, for clarifying.

I thought it will auto give me a new set of 1GB and straight away deduct a flat $4. :D

cal3135

travelled JB & recently HCM…
pretty ease of use on data roaming & plenty of cost savings…
incoming SMS OTP was not laggy..
happily switched orange to purple…

Jurong640

yup. it's good, i traveled to Genting over the weekends, and their roaming partner My Celcom has great connectivity. I exceeded the 1GB roaming data and excess data charges were deducted from my wallet.

It does not deduct $4/GB as a whole, which is a good thing. Because you might be on the last day of your trip and you only use 200MB of excess data, you just pay accordingly. I can't remember how much excess I used, but I paid only 70 cents instead of the full $4/GB.

frizee

Yeah speed wise seems faster than some of their prepaid telco lol…
yup. it's good, i traveled to Genting over the weekends, and their roaming partner My Celcom has great connectivity. I exceeded the 1GB roaming data and excess data charges were deducted from my wallet.

It does not deduct $4/GB as a whole, which is a good thing. Because you might be on the last day of your trip and you only use 200MB of excess data, you just pay accordingly. I can't remember how much excess I used, but I paid only 70 cents instead of the full $4/GB.
I like the fact that they don’t deduct $4 straight and just pay accordingly :D

So far still a happy customer of SIMBA lol… Initially many questions and doubts but now ok liao lah…

firesong

Yeah speed wise seems faster than some of their prepaid telco lol…

I like the fact that they don’t deduct $4 straight and just pay accordingly :D

So far still a happy customer of SIMBA lol… Initially many questions and doubts but now ok liao lah…
During the trial, there were quite a few teething problems and the reception was quite a bit poorer.

Now, 3 years on, it's much better. Not on the level of some of the incumbents, some of whom were around since the 80s, but it's good enough for the most part. Still, we have to remember that they are also growing the network and face further challenges, including the fact that they are fighting over the same contractors - Singtel, M1 and SH are also deploying and growing their 5G networks so there is a limited manpower resource to do so.

stillgottheblues

TPG need to support more phone models. Your market share will not grow with supporting just a few phones.

firesong

TPG need to support more phone models. Your market share will not grow with supporting just a few phones.
This is true. SIMBA needs to do more to get manufacturers on board. Even Google is not on board, so TPG support is not found in Android.

Then again, even M1 is guilty of not having support from Google - there is still no VoLTE profile for any M1-based operator for some of the Google phones, such as the Pixel 4a. These industry agreements need to be made by SIMBA.

tremor

Thanks for the advice. I top up $10 into my my130 for other country roaming liao.

kelvinti

SIMBA gurus,

With reference to this FAQ.

https://support.simba.sg/hc/en-us/articles/4487047558681-Does-roaming-cover-calls-and-SMS-
In particular, this statement;
"Besides free data roaming, SIMBA subscribers can enjoy calls to and from Singapore without any roaming charges.

There’s no need to cancel incoming calls when you abroad anymore."

Is the above-mentioned statement referring to calling and receiving call via our normal mobile phone dialer are free or is it referring to using that SIMBA Voice?:unsure:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.