SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

crystalnox

In fact, I find it very strange that IDA approved SIMBA 5G to be called 5G with such low speed! Lol...

Makes no sense at all. :D 🤭
Because ultimately, 5G is meant to increase capacity and spectrum efficiency for carriers to save them money. 5G top speeds are just marketing meant to convince consumers that it is something they should pay more for.

Telit-Infographic-%E2%80%93-Final.png.webp

kelvinti

Because ultimately, 5G is meant to increase capacity and spectrum efficiency for carriers to save them money. 5G top speeds are just marketing meant to convince consumers that it is something they should pay more for.

Telit-Infographic-%E2%80%93-Final.png.webp
I see. That's very informative indeed. :oops: (y) (y) (y)

kelvinti

Anyway, since that I came back to SIMBA for its 5G.

I would say that the higher speed of 5G has improved my internet related usages be it a much faster loading of apps, YouTube, Facebook, downloading stuffs and etc even though SIMBA 5G speed is way behind the other 3 old timers.

The fact is, do I need a speed of 500/800/1000mbps for above-mentioned normal usages. It is overkilled except during downloading and uploading files, Apps updates in which the higher the speed the better which is just a tiny part of a phone usages. For that purposes, we can always wait until reached home and use the Wi-Fi!

So, no regret to port back!

andyqkw

In fact, I find it very strange that IDA approved SIMBA 5G to be called 5G with such low speed! Lol...

Makes no sense at all. :D 🤭
IMDA is the one who awards SIMBA with only 2 lots of 5MHz paired spectrum (2.1 GHz) out of total 12 lots in favour of the traffic light telcos.

5 lots to Singtel
5 lots to StarHub + M1
2 lots to SIMBA

Should have awarded 4 lots each to be fair since SIMBA already lose out during the 1st tranche of 3.5 GHz spectrum issued in June 2020.

firesong

IMDA is the one who awards SIMBA with only 2 lots of 5MHz paired spectrum (2.1 GHz) out of total 12 lots in favour of the traffic light telcos.

5 lots to Singtel
5 lots to StarHub + M1
2 lots to SIMBA

Should have awarded 4 lots each to be fair since SIMBA already lose out during the 1st tranche of 3.5 GHz spectrum issued in June 2020.
It actually does mean that Singtel's 5G coverage will definitely be better than SH or M1's.

keenklee

5 lots to Singtel
5 lots to StarHub + M1
2 lots to SIMBA

IMHO.
I would say heng never allocate a lot to Simba.

From Annual Report -
• We target to launch 5G SA and VoNR in 1H 2023.
• Coverage will reach 60% by end 2023.

Singtel allocation is shared to MVNOs.

kelvinti

IMHO.

From Annual Report -

Above allocation is for SingTel or SIMBB.

If it's for SIMBA. Then, there is no wind no sound yet from SIMBA about it's 5G SA "socially" ...

WuRenJi

But nothing really beats Simba international data roaming allowances. Other mvno or mno only have regional data roaming allowance, and only for x months.

But if simba can have something like M1 data passport, it will be good
Even idd call also cool.
1 cent per 30 sec to Malaysia. Made 4 calls, less than 10 cent. Lol

kelvinti

Even idd call also cool.
1 cent per 30 sec to Malaysia. Made 4 calls, less than 10 cent. Lol
That's why I port here and there and still port back to SIMBA as I still think SIMBA offers the best overall package.

It's even more so now that with its much improved speed running on its 5G. I guess that I'm really sticking to SIMBA for the rest of my life, so to speak. :cool:

SongManKranji

That's why I port here and there and still port back to SIMBA as I still think SIMBA offers the best overall package.
It's even more so now that with its much improved speed running on its 5G. I guess that I'm really sticking to SIMBA for the rest of my life, so to speak.
:cool:
simba 5sgd w 1GB data roaming jin songz liao. Another card 10GB my data roam. So far so gd

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.

alex22

IMHO.

From Annual Report -

This allocation is by bidding one, need money.
The split show that m1+sh = 4 while st has enough budget to obtain 4 alone, most well off company

keenklee

This allocation is by bidding one, need money.
The split show that m1+sh = 4 while st has enough budget to obtain 4 alone, most well off company
IMHO.
Just look at the network performance of Simba 5G.

alex22

IMHO.
Just look at the network performance of Simba 5G.
Uh, if they got 4 lots... won't they be singtel level in terms of allocation.
They could even resell to mvno
I think that's a more reasonable comparison

keenklee

Uh, if they got 4 lots... won't they be singtel level in terms of allocation.
They could even resell to mvno
I think that's a more reasonable comparison
IMHO.
You're like saying 60% by end of 2023 is ok because of their allocation. :ROFLMAO:
Please lah, if the allocation would be an issue, they can don't bid for it right ?

For me, comparison is very straight forward. I just run Speedtest.
I can't even do any comparison at this point of time - no 5G from Simba at present location.
My other 5G provider is 1062 Mbps / 36.3 Mbps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.