SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

wirelesslink

I'm not very free lah. Just that KB is not far from my place and I managed to squeeze squeeze a little bit of time now to drop by and get it done.

Okay. Done. Paid ransom of $20+ to be released from the service contract.
i did the same thing as well to get a number i like :whistle:

kelvinti

i did the same thing as well to get a number i like :whistle:
Nicie! :)

Ya! There is no free lunch for certain cases.

We are willing to pay for the penalty in order to get the number that we wanted so much instead of regretting it for the rest of our life over a mere $28 (for my case)..... :cautious: 🤦‍♂️

Afterall, my Lucky number costs just $28.00 and not $288 or $3888 or $8888. :whistle:

It's a fair and square ransom! :)

kelvinti

Okay.

I just tried again to Port in the simba lucky number to my Maxx and the status shows "In progress" instead of "Failed - Service contract" :whistle: :)

No immediate sms telling me that the port in was rejected by SIMBA either.

So, I guess it is a done deal after paying $20b+ of ransom money to my ex-gf, SIMBAllera.. :D

Mancunian2

Got it.

As I type. I'm waiting at its KB lobby counter now to pay ransom. 😬

Nice color tone lobby counter indeed with a touch of purple of SIMBA. (y) :)
is this the only designated place to pay ransom?

cannot pay anywhere else?

kbwang

now in roaming in japan with kddi

iPhone 12 with ios17.3.1 . Call failed and found VOLTE option missing . Cannot make calls.

Samsung s21 with Android 14 also don’t have VOLTE icon . Cannot make calls

data surfing seems to be ok.

gaoqikai

hi all, anyone using iPhone and using Apple Music?
I cannot download music to phone using Apple Music. Streaming is all okay.
Is this a SIMBA issue? Thanks

Stallone

Anyone tried porting in from CMLink?

Cos no option of this telco when selecting the port in

kelvinti

is this the only designated place to pay ransom?

cannot pay anywhere else?

Yes, main office.
Okay. This is just FYI to those who wanna port out from their lucky number which has a 24 months service contract.

My Lucky number port out requiest has finally been approved 23 hours after paying the ransom at Kaki Bukit main office, as per Maxx sms.

Porting process is taking place tonight as per Maxx SMS.

In conclusion. One needs to wait for at least 23 hours later after paying ransom before one can initiate the Port in process from the receiving MVNO.

Before the 23rd hour. All my porting requests were rejected by Maxx due to active "service contract" with SIMBA.

Cheers all!

kbwang

now in roaming in japan with kddi

iPhone 12 with ios17.3.1 . Call failed and found VOLTE option missing . Cannot make calls.

Samsung s21 with Android 14 also don’t have VOLTE icon . Cannot make calls

data surfing seems to be ok.
Manually change network to rakuten. Network coverage not so good.

iPhone 12 managed to make calls

Samsung s21 managed to make calls. VoLTE icon also appears on top of the screen.

Not sure why KDDI VoLTE failed to work .

kaisoz

I'm on $10 SIMBA plan, using new Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro. Curious anyone got upgrade from $10 100GB to $12 200GB?

Seems it was $10.50 just recently, now its $12.

When it was $10.50, think its 1GB roaming, 100 IDD mins.

Now $12, 2GB roaming, 300 IDD mins.

Worth or not? SIMBA got any issues with any countries for data roaming and IDD calls?

kaisoz

A friend has encountered no signal and no data issue on his oppo phone using SIMBA twice within the last month.

I saw his phone has no signal bar, meaning the phone is not connected to the network. So I checked the APN, no issue with that. Then turn on/off airplane mode, didn’t resolve. Finally I reboot the phone, and the connection came back.

Have anyone experience the similar issue?

Could this due to the phone unable to connect back to the network after connection loss? SIMBA coverage is really bad in some places?

Is this issue related to the phone, or SIM card? Should I ask her to get a SIM card replacement? Thanks.
Which Oppo phone version? Double check the SIMBA Volte supported Phone list here (only can find early April 2023 version).

https://en.ocworkbench.com/simba-updates-volte-supported-phone-list/

If Its not a phone from the dark ages, should be fine de both hardware and software wise. I think when its carrier supported phones, just means the settings are automatically set when the phone detects the SIM card and there is no need to manually configure the APN settings.

kaisoz

I have the same problem with the Realme 11 pro+ but more frequent, like 2-3 times weekly
but it works w/o problems with older 4G phones

don't have time to go service center to change SIM card

maybe I'll just port out to save the hassles
but mine is also $28 lucky number, have to pay ransom to get out :frown:
Maybe email SIMBA ask for the APN settings, and then go and set the APN manually see can or not. I think when its carrier supported phones, just means the user just needs to place the SIM card in the phone. The settings are automatically set when the phone detects the SIM card and there is no need to manually configure the APN settings.

kelvinti

I'm on $10 SIMBA plan, using new Xiaomi Redmi Note 13 Pro. Curious anyone got upgrade from $10 100GB to $12 200GB?

Seems it was $10.50 just recently, now its $12.

When it was $10.50, think its 1GB roaming, 100 IDD mins.

Now $12, 2GB roaming, 300 IDD mins.

Worth or not? SIMBA got any issues with any countries for data roaming and IDD calls?

To me. The new $12 plan is more worth it than the $10.50 plan.

At least, it gives 2GB Roaming data. 1GB Roaming is very little sia.

I rather they give 3GB Roaming data instead of increased 200 of IDD and increases local data to 200GB.

Who use IDD to chit chat now? Almost 99% of users are using social apps to chit chat and calls. So, not practical. So, no point. :cautious:

Also, gives 200GB local data for what? One can use so much local data meh? We usually connected to home and office Wi-Fi somemore. So, not practical again. So, no point too.

gaoqikai

I rather they give 3GB Roaming data instead of increased 200 of IDD and increases local data to 200GB.

Who use IDD to chit chat now? Almost 99% of users are using social apps to chit chat and calls. So, not practical. So, no point. :cautious:

Also, gives 200GB local data for what? One can use so much local data meh? We usually connected to home and office Wi-Fi somemore. So, not practical again. So, no point too.
One usage of IDD I can think of:
Before going to JB, call ktv or restaurant to make reservations

kelvinti

One usage of IDD I can think of:
Before going to JB, call ktv or restaurant to make reservations
But , no need 300 min even if you visit and call everyday and night in a month...unless you call your federal mei mistress or keep your China 小三 there.. 🤭

kaisoz

True ....... IDD only in the case of:
- backup emergency, can still contact if got internet outage, or if hiking in ulu place where internet connectivity not that great.
- going overseas and then calling the overseas number for things like reservation etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.