Singapore Airlines' New In-flight Safety Video

elvintay07

Don’t know what is the purpose of changing and doing this kind of video. Amdk will stand up and clap for them citing innovation.

To me is just wayang brand building. Real thing don’t do, do this kind of wayang thing.

reddevil0728

Don’t know what is the purpose of changing and doing this kind of video. Amdk will stand up and clap for them citing innovation.

To me is just wayang brand building. Real thing don’t do, do this kind of wayang thing.
not everybody understand and can appreciate art. that's why there's sgculturepass to hopefully allow people to appreciate and understand art more.

elvintay07

not everybody understand and can appreciate art. that's why there's sgculturepass to hopefully allow people to appreciate and understand art more.
I am trying to say how does this “art” video helps in real life? If plane crash then ppl understand this video more because very artistic? Or artistic video makes plane immune to crash? To me just a simple video can already la. I 1 year travel like 20-30 times. Even I pangsai, I also remember the drill. I believe everyone who took plane before also know the drill la.

The only test for proficiency is when plane crash then we see who are the zai ppl who remembers the drill. I quite sure all lose their balls and cannot remember

reddevil0728

I am trying to say how does this “art” video helps in real life? If plane crash then ppl understand this video more because very artistic? Or artistic video makes plane immune to crash? To me just a simple video can already la. I 1 year travel like 20-30 times. Even I pangsai, I also remember the drill. I believe everyone who took plane before also know the drill la.

The only test for proficiency is when plane crash then we see who are the zai ppl who remembers the drill. I quite sure all lose their balls and cannot remember
Well then this is just a differences in culture and values.

You aren’t wrong in your utilitarian approach.

But they feel that they can leverage on the video to do more than just utilitarian approach, and that’s to highlight Singapore.

I for one think is quite tasteful. Many others also feel so, e.g., TS.

but I’m also aware than many others, e.g., like you you, who think otherwise.

but neither is wrong.

twosix

I find it captivating that it not only convey the safety aspects but also introducing Singapore to the world. Killing 2 birds with 1 stone is great.

The traditional video will only turn people off. I dun look at those boring ones.

elvintay07

Well then this is just a differences in culture and values.

You aren’t wrong in your utilitarian approach.

But they feel that they can leverage on the video to do more than just utilitarian approach, and that’s to highlight Singapore.

I for one think is quite tasteful. Many others also feel so, e.g., TS.

but I’m also aware than many others, e.g., like you you, who think otherwise.

but neither is wrong.
Actually I totally agree we should make more of this video and up price by another 30%. Should price high high so only powerhouse can fly with SIA

reddevil0728

Actually I totally agree we should make more of this video and up price by another 30%. Should price high high so only powerhouse can fly with SIA
what makes you think that not making such video, the price wouldn't go up by another 30%?

elvintay07

what makes you think that not making such video, the price wouldn't go up by another 30%?
I didn’t say no but need to up more. Usually this kind of video is made by big design house. Easily 6-digit and above

reddevil0728

I didn’t say no but need to up more. Usually this kind of video is made by big design house. Easily 6-digit and above
Anyway, I don't think SIA is trying to be like budget airline in the first place, they have Scoot for that.

So the price is quite inelastic for those who choose to fly them.

in any case class is priceless. no pun intended.

elvintay07

Forum Nuisance (Trolling / Posting Rubbish / Troublemaker / etc.)
Anyway, I don't think SIA is trying to be like budget airline in the first place, they have Scoot for that.

So the price is quite inelastic for those who choose to fly them.

in any case class is priceless. no pun intended.
They basking in past glory like man utd. Typically running out of ideas

reddevil0728

They basking in past glory like man utd. Typically running out of ideas
Not sure how this is relevant to football rivalry. Appreciate that you be civil and engage in the substance rather than derail. Thanks.

beanstalk6

Not sure how this is relevant to football rivalry. Appreciate that you be civil and engage in the substance rather than detail. Thanks.
Agree. This kind of content can go into a forum other than this. I don't see it is past glory if it continues to win accolades.

dragonsei

I prefer to stick to standard video that show people how to use the safety equipment and procedure. This is serious matter.

reddevil0728

I prefer to stick to standard video that show people how to use the safety equipment and procedure. This is serious matter.
different sch of thought. like what @twosix said.

have a standard video that people don't watch because it is standard might just be as useless

so it is a judgement call
I find it captivating that it not only convey the safety aspects but also introducing Singapore to the world. Killing 2 birds with 1 stone is great.

The traditional video will only turn people off. I dun look at those boring ones.

beanstalk6

Some passengers intentionally ignore the safety video. I think SIA's video works for safety because it catches the attention of these passengers if for the first time.
As for whether watching the video will save lives during a disaster, no video can make sure of that. This SIA video registers better than those ordinary ones, I feel.

angy

I still think it is far too formal. SQ should try something out of the box.
This is Air New Zealand 2014 safety video. I am impressed, as it is totally out of the box. I still remembered it today. It has captured my attention.

BTW, which SQ safety video did you still remember?

twosix

I still think it is far too formal. SQ should try something out of the box.
This is Air New Zealand 2014 safety video. I am impressed, as it is totally out of the box. I still remembered it today. It has captured my attention.

BTW, which SQ safety video did you still remember?

I like it. There r some who loves it being very formal. Might as well ask the crew to demo like budget airlines do. Haha.

Never flew ANZ, so dunno. The Ana one, though tried to add anime to it, i got tired of it after watching it a few times.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.