Singapore Airlines *Official* (SGX:C6L)

Poomer

erhm you new to rights? Yesterday is CR, today is XR, investor who bought yesterday already got 3 new for every 2 existing @$3, make 20%+ overnight. Suddenly become best performing counter, if price remain this high, wont be surprised if ppl just whack 6 digit to get all the excess

shares havent even issued already drop to $4.8...

Imagine when the 3 new shares are issued, what will the price be like?$3.50?

That'll be worth $17.50 for 5 lots.

And you buy @4.80x2+3.00x3= 18.80.

Still a net loss.

Sinkie

Still a net loss.

The level of knowledge of many people here is very jialat

MotherSenpai

erhm you new to rights? Yesterday is CR, today is XR, investor who bought yesterday already got 3 new for every 2 existing @$3, make 20%+ overnight. Suddenly become best performing counter, if price remain this high, wont be surprised if ppl just whack 6 digit to get all the excess
Hi I am also SUPER new to rights, so please pardon my ignorance. I just learned about this rights thing last night.
I've got around 1,000 shares of SIA bought last month at about 6.2..

How do I get this rights thing you guys are talking about ?

Please help..

Sinkie

Hi I am also SUPER new to rights, so please pardon my ignorance. I just learned about this rights thing last night.
I've got around 1,000 shares of SIA bought last month at about 6.2..

How do I get this rights thing you guys are talking about ?

Please help..

LvPL6Wt.jpg

SIA has provided a hotline to call, +65 68781375

Any queries, should call this number to ask, better than seek opinion here

micgoh

since its at $5 now, logically every single investor will subscribe to right, i cant think of any reason why not unless they are sleeping, its free money and instant win, they can only sell after 8th june, 13th may onwards is the rights trading period

If you buy yesterday you make around 20% loss for mother share, but you also make $2 from your rights ($5-$3) and you have 3 shares for every 2 you own, so nett nett overnight 20%+ gain

guess market may not always be perfect, hope i get all my excess

If I buy $5.90/share yesterday for 2 shares, means I paid $11.80

today only worth $4.80 x 2 = $ 9.60

Loss of $2.20 ( loss 20%)

But I gained $3 x 3 rights = $9

If I sell at market value today of $4.80x 3 , I get return of $14.40

Gain $14.4-9=5.40 (59%)

Nett : 59-20=39%??

xtwis7

Your rights are not free and you’re not able to sell 3 shares immediately anyway.

Gain $14.4-9=5.40 (59%)

Sinkie

Gain $14.4-9=5.40 (59%)

Your 1 right is worth ($4.80-$3.00)=$1.80

So 3 rights = $5.40

mwc934

haha someone can create a calculator for everyone's easy understanding; if not its getting so confusing with everyone's input

Sinkie

can you edit from my working? I don't get it. How to determine 20% net gain?

By right, xr should be $4.16, but today is $4.80

$4.80 x 2 = $ 9.60

My 3 rights worth ($4.80-$3.00) = $5.40

Your 2 shares SIA (with 3 rights) worth $15.00 now

micgoh

By right, xr should be $4.16, but today is $4.80

$4.80 x 2 = $ 9.60

My 3 rights worth ($4.80-$3.00) = $5.40

Your 2 shares SIA (with 3 rights) worth $15.00 now

Thanks !

In other words, to find gain or loss at nett , iits calculated by:

total worth - cost / cost x 100%

(9.6+5.4) - 11.80 / 11.80 x 100% =27%

correct?

arctician

Still a net loss.

erhm today is XR already, means you already entitled to your rights and price have recalibrated to factor in dilution, it wont plunge on june 8th unless everyone buy to stag

hope no one actually sell the shares today and assume right shares already in, it will become short sell

any questions better call hotline, rights and MCB is too complicated for average investor, think savy or accredited investors going to profit at expense of minority or passive shareholders, esp those private clients in DBS

arctician

for simplicity lets use following as example, assume i buy 200 shares at $6 yesterday.

Total cost for 200 shares = $6 x 200 = $1200

I be entitled to 3 new for every existing 2 shares = 200/2 * 3 = 300 shares

total cost for rights subscription = 300 * $3 = $900

Total cost for me is $1200 + 900 = $2100

Currently assume SIA trading at $5, so 500 shares *$5 current share price = $2500

Total gain = $2500 - $2100 / $2100 = 19% overnight. For simple illustration only.

maniamcool

erhm today is XR already, means you already entitled to your rights and price have recalibrated to factor in dilution, it wont plunge on june 8th unless everyone buy to stag

hope no one actually sell the shares today and assume right shares already in, it will become short sell

any questions better call hotline, rights and MCB is too complicated for average investor, think savy or accredited investors going to profit at expense of minority or passive shareholders, esp those private clients in DBS

hmm but what's stopping the price from dipping to the low 4s from now till 8th june?

Poomer

nothing stopping anyone from selling the shares they have on hand and subscribing to the rights. they get $9.60 to buy 3 shares at $9 right?

vsvs24

I have 2 queries. Now that it is XR :

Those holding mother share and sell today, does it mean that they get rid of the mother share (C6L) but still hold the rights and can subscribe to the rights at $3 later ?

Those who do not hold mother share now but buy the trading of rights from 13 May (SIA R and SIA R1) can subscribe to the rights at $3 later ?

arctician

hmm but what's stopping the price from dipping to the low 4s from now till 8th june?

low $4 is possible because based on theoretical XR price it should be low $4 given share closed at $5.90 yesterday, so i am surprised to see it at $5 this morning, but this also mean more ppl will flood in with excess application

so the expected date of commencement of trading of rights shares will be on 8 June, while for rights MCBs will be on 9 June?

If by trading you mean selling away the rights and/or MCBs that you don’t want, or buying such, the commencement date is Wednesday, 13 May 2020 from 9.00 a.m and the last date of such trading is Thursday, 21 May 2020 at 5.00 p.m.

thanks. so after 21/28 May, the new shares/MCBs will be issued on 5 June, and will start trading on 8/9 June?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.