[Singaporean with Chinese wife/gf Community Club]

AnTzX_

Still don't have the freedom yet as I am living with overbearing parents but quietly fighting for it

Sad truth I realize is that being the obedient son gets you more sai and how selfish the boomers are in general

One of their concern is because they think getting China gf/wife is a bit low ses and they no face compared to their relatives

My happiness don't matter
tat sucks... but i duno how u will look at me when i tell u abt my parents... my mum is a total control freak to everyone including my dad, i nv really had the freedom tat i wanted until i actually married and get my own place everyone living together is like in a pressure cooker.. my mum like to keep recycling on things tat might happen donkey yrs back during argument and got a few times i almost wanted to beat her up but lucky there is always others ard which bring me back to senses... :( i guess the saying 家家有本难念的经 is really true.. but really i m much much happier now without hearing her voices everyday...

OngHuatHuat

actually i have to agree with tat... i noe of ppl who did tat... but everyone sure got some dark parts in their life... is to urself if u can dun look at tat part anot lo..
Those girls are pretty and rich. Haha… one of my favorite masseuse from Cat 1 shop told me all her colleagues married Singaporean men within a year, except for her. She is the ang pai, so she said getting a bf here contradicts her plan. Haha… I believed what she meant was getting a bf will block her from becoming rich.

AnTzX_

yeah it is tough but have to do it

they do have a valid concern because the ATB i'm seeing is on work pass and she said she wants to settle down in SG, so they think she is with me because she wants PR...

my wife oso same ma... she was on SPass when i dated her... summor my wife is older than me... same issue tat i faced... if dun wan PR how to get married? try asking those with viet n thai wife... they wan PR oso hard....

Tenpai

tat sucks... but i duno how u will look at me when i tell u abt my parents... my mum is a total control freak to everyone including my dad, i nv really had the freedom tat i wanted until i actually married and get my own place everyone living together is like in a pressure cooker.. my mum like to keep recycling on things tat might happen donkey yrs back during argument and got a few times i almost wanted to beat her up but lucky there is always others ard which bring me back to senses... :( i guess the saying 家家有本难念的经 is really true.. but really i m much much happier now without hearing her voices everyday...
i sympathize bro, due to how adult children still have to live with parents until 35 or married, there is a lot of forced infantilization of adult children by overbearing parents. Many parents still treat their adult children as kids but happily take monthly allowances

that is why among Asians, singaporeans are quite emotionally stunted and can't make decisions compared to their peers in China, Japan, Taiwan and South Korea. we lack the confidence and assertiveness

Tenpai

my wife oso same ma... she was on SPass when i dated her... summor my wife is older than me... same issue tat i faced... if dun wan PR how to get married? try asking those with viet n thai wife... they wan PR oso hard....
But wife can't get PR just because married to Singaporean man, which is what I keep telling my parents haha

or else all the guat nam bu working here all PR liao haha

ICA is very tough nowadays

OngHuatHuat

Actually if you are well to do and wife holding a job, PR or not doesn’t matter. Now PR benefits close to non existent, it is like a long term pass to legally stay in SG nia.

tingsters

Still don't have the freedom yet as I am living with overbearing parents but quietly fighting for it

Sad truth I realize is that being the obedient son gets you more sai and how selfish the boomers are in general

One of their concern is because they think getting China gf/wife is a bit low ses and they no face compared to their relatives

My happiness don't matter
worst case .. go ballet for 2rm flat la... give your parents some time ba... as age goes.. they might accept the facts...

tingsters

yeah it is tough but have to do it

they do have a valid concern because the ATB i'm seeing is on work pass and she said she wants to settle down in SG, so they think she is with me because she wants PR...

if you love her.. spend more time with her and give yourself more time before discussing the future and planning with her ba.
give yrself more time to understand her , dun think about what she want to settle down in sg or whatever..

while give yrself more time to also solve the current issues that u facing...
give yrself more time to see if she is the one u r looking 4...

AnTzX_

Actually if you are well to do and wife holding a job, PR or not doesn’t matter. Now PR benefits close to non existent, it is like a long term pass to legally stay in SG nia.
yes but holding a wp or sp u are pretty much tied down to the company.. so if u are holding a pr there will be much flexibility on things whnen job switch... anyway my wife PR she oso hold like 10yrs + den last yr juz submiited to apply for sg citizen which suppose to be complete process early nx year...

SibehHL

I do keep fit but no looks, no money and no car, sinkie girls all hiam, especially at my age group :(

Add to that, I am still staying with my parents
My personal opinion is, there is nothing wrong if ONE of the consideration to marry is so she can get a resident visa. It becomes wrong when getting resident status is her ONLY consideration to marry. It is no different when some bu select partners based on yindao face, duaki or not, car, job, bank account etc.

The biggest huddle for many is, staying with parents and subjected to their "nonsense" daily. If one is those well known "inobedient" child (like me) since young, then it will not be a problem since expectation is low. Staying with parents also makes it easier for them to impose their will on the child.

Anyway, your life your choice. One's partner will be the one who will (supposed to) be besides one till end of life, through thick and thin. In some cases, being obedient and living the life one desires don't go together.

dc7176

yes but holding a wp or sp u are pretty much tied down to the company.. so if u are holding a pr there will be much flexibility on things whnen job switch... anyway my wife PR she oso hold like 10yrs + den last yr juz submiited to apply for sg citizen which suppose to be complete process early nx year...

any update on the SC application?? how long it takes for approval?

my wife also PR for 10 yrs. submit SC application early this year till now no news

official website says within 12 months.

AnTzX_

my wife also PR for 10 yrs. submit SC application early this year till now no news

mine submitted at may tis year too... ya now status is pending so ya take it as it takes as per wat stated 1yr.. we see... anyway no news shld be good new.. :)

hwmook

I think my wife application took 9-11 months to approve so it's quite a wait and will be close to the 12 months they stated. My wife PR for 5 years then apply for citizenship already so your wife likely no problem getting citizenship.

AnTzX_

I think my wife application took 9-11 months to approve so it's quite a wait and will be close to the 12 months they stated. My wife PR for 5 years then apply for citizenship already so your wife likely no problem getting citizenship.
wow... my wife took almost 10yrs den she oso finally decided to go for SC... :o

hwmook

wow... my wife took almost 10yrs den she oso finally decided to go for SC... :o

Got kid growing up make her realise this is home truly, no need to consider too long. Every time she comes back from China, she will say it's good to be finally home in Singapore. She treat Singapore as home, China is her parent's home now, no longer hers.

AnTzX_

Got kid growing up make her realise this is home truly, no need to consider too long. Every time she comes back from China, she will say it's good to be finally home in Singapore. She treat Singapore as home, China is her parent's home now, no longer hers.
actually my wife plan is to bring her mum to here to live long with her SC approve it will be easier to have her mum on ltvp as she is single parented so is more wise to have her mum her with us oso.

hwmook

actually my wife plan is to bring her mum to here to live long with her SC approve it will be easier to have her mum on ltvp as she is single parented so is more wise to have her mum her with us oso.

Yes, you can apply LTVP for your MIL only if you have young kids else your wife definitely needs SC to keep her mum on LTVP.

AnTzX_

Yes, you can apply LTVP for your MIL only if you have young kids else your wife definitely needs SC to keep her mum on LTVP.
tats y lo... end of the day oso need SC... already tried watever can try previously le.. :(

dc7176

mine submitted at may tis year too... ya now status is pending so ya take it as it takes as per wat stated 1yr.. we see... anyway no news shld be good new.. :)

Woohoo mine approved in principal Liao

took 11 months

Now need to book the visit and community sharing session,

the e learning v hard leh even I singaporean finds it hard

It’s in English some more

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.