Singapore's Worst Job Agencies

megan azure

hi all sorry for the rant.

i receive a call frm one of the listed worst job agency in this forum. was quite skeptical. so they told me they had this position in an education sector. the job was slight different frm what i normally do but they told me to give it a try. few days later they told me that the hiring manager wanted to intv me. went for the intv via zoom. didnt have a high hope as the intv was quite informal. anyway few days later this agency call me to say i gt the job with the salary higher than what was told earlier. i was very happy. i ask the agency for the contract. waited and waited. kept telling me that i gt the job and not to worry. so stupid me just believe them n didnt continue any job search. it been 2 weeks n finally they told me the budget to hire me wasnt approved and if i gt other job offer i can go ahead. i feel so suay leh.
not the first time i kena in 3 mths. earlier i gt another job offer via direct company (nt agency) near hm. told me when i start wrk i can sign contract. kiasu me ask them for contract earlier so i could vet. found some discrepancy and when i highlighted to them they call me n say i no need come work already as they claim that the project i suppose to wrk for they didnt get.

jack-320

Is job agencies still relevant nowadays?

For finding full time perm job

Read most of the comments and it is really negative

Like got lowballed, got into a job that you do not like (contract job, no prospect)

Like force you to accept a job without future

Any comments?

And is their salary guide reliable? Received one from capita but not sure if it is fake news

natas

Is job agencies still relevant nowadays?

For finding full time perm job

Read most of the comments and it is really negative

Like got lowballed, got into a job that you do not like (contract job, no prospect)

Like force you to accept a job without future

Any comments?

And is their salary guide reliable? Received one from capita but not sure if it is fake news

Some companies still go thru job agencies.

For full time job, just highlight what is your expectation in term of salary to the agency and u decide whether the JD and company is within your expectation. If good and there is an interview, just go for it. If job is offered, u decide whether are u interested to join. How and what does an agency able to force u to start work? :D

Dun bother about the salary guide. :D

kazuki666

Just remember, employment agency agents are commission based, they push you as their quota. If they push you too hard and you reject, they will lose the commission. So in a way they should be more fearful of you, not the other way round. So long job seekers don't anyhow sign documents blindly, you have no legal commitments them to hold you.

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

incognitoboy

Thank you so much for your reply!!

I have signed one with Recruit Express (letter of intent) and another one with the hiring company.

The letter of intent from Recruit Express states the following:

“Should I fail to sign the Letter of Appointment, or should I accept the offer (by signing the Letter of Appointment) but fail to report to work, or resign within 90days from the commencement date), I shall pay Recruit Express xxxx ....”

I am a little puzzled :/
She called to inform that I got the offer and asked me to sign the letter of intent by that same day... after that the clause in the contract indicates that if I don’t accept the offer, I will need to pay..

Even if I withdraw before the commencement date, I also need to pay

Omg.. Am I really screwed..?
Will I be issued a lawyer letter or be asked to court if I don’t pay?

Wow, I have not really heard of "Letter of Intent" before. What a way to potentially dig some money from job seekers. No wonder these agencies are so infamous.

I have liaised with 2 agencies. The only document I signed was the actual letter of employment/appointment. Service was satisfactory and my salaries were all paid on time.

Kitaro9202

Adecco the person really cheezepeie

I went a few job interview nv get the job the person like how come they nv choose u all the way they talk like yaya

Kitty_

Hi, I noticed a few members encountering issues with agencies demanding 1 month salary for leaving a position.

Is anyone able to provide an update if they had to pay the 1 month or is it an empty threat from the agencies?

HowardtheDuck

Hi All,

Need your advise on this.

I recently gotten a new job via a recruitment agency (lets call them A) and have signed the employment contract with them. I was due to start work at the end of May. Few days later, I was also asked to sign a letter of commitment, stating that if I decline the job offer at a later date or fail to commence work, I would have to pay 1 month pay as compensation.

I was skeptical of this letter as I do not wish to be bonded by such terms.

Skip to 2 weeks later, the recruiter kept sending me email/whatsapp to chase for the signed letter of commitment. Due to my stupidity, I decided to sign this letter and stop her from chasing and hounding me.

A week later, I received a better job offer from another company. I decided to take up this offer and informed A of my decision to forgo their offer as I have found a better job. This recruiter was furious and demanded that I pay 1 month compensation and used the signed letter of commitment as proof. They said it was a breach of contract and will bring legal action against me if I did not pay them. (PS. I am just a lowly paid white collar worker earning ard 3k/mth only T.T)

Question:

1. Will the agency go ahead with their threats?

2. Since I am in breach of contract, do I have any chance to win? I believe this is really unethical of this agency to come out with such clauses. I plan to find a pro bono lawyer if it really goes to legal action.

3. Signed letter of commitment stated was 9-April, but I only signed on 22-April after much chasing from the recruiter. Is this backdated "contract" still valid? Can I say I signed it due to duress? (continously chasing from recruiter)

4. I called MOM and they said they cannot help as employee-employer relationship is not established, so my problem is with the agency.zzz. Any other governing bodies which can help me?

Hopeful for some advise as I do not wish to pay this 3k to the agency T.T

kazuki666

I think can combine your 4 questions into 1 answer. So long you have already signed the legal document of agreement which means you also agree to pay one month of salary if unable to commit. You have almost no winning chance. Maybe other can advise if there is any gap which he can work around, but I feel chances is slim...

squarepegs

I applied for a job, filled up the form. and whatsapp interview coming soon next week. According to the job ad is up to $2.4k per month.
Then after filling up the form, the agent sent me more info about the job, gross pay is 1k + incentives 😒

then I searched the ad from the employee company, the pay is 1.3 to 1.5k

yusoffb01

I applied for a job, filled up the form. and whatsapp interview coming soon next week. According to the job ad is up to $2.4k per month.
Then after filling up the form, the agent sent me more info about the job, gross pay is 1k + incentives 😒

then I searched the ad from the employee company, the pay is 1.3 to 1.5k
Even for IT support they will put $3500~4000 but actual pay is $2400

Multiversal

had bad experience wif Recruit Express too, the branch at Taka...
supposed to have an interview at 3 pm, but made me wait for 30 to 40 mins... at first I thought the consultant was busy or wat but end up she went for high tea wif her colleagues... :s27:
Shows that they don't respect people who need to go through an agency to find a job, especially when jobs are not actually in short supply.

i would just go to Careerfuture website and see which company is hiring, and write directly to the HR and attach my CV. HR called me back and I got the job.

squarepegs

avoid job agencies, none are good. all the agnecies are crap
One time deduct I don’t mind but monthly get the same amount of money is worse

work hard and every month part of the salary go to the recruiter’s pocket? ☹️

localITguy

Came across a crappy one today. Took her 5 days to reply back

and last minute said got interview and its at another outlet.

for me, i won't waste my time go for the job agency interview.

I have been burned so many times, waste my time travel there. ( ask anyone who kena before)

and say until got Dragon or gold like that, will get back to me and than MIA.

KNN.

** ****r.

worst part many of those agents are non Local.

SA/MY/

wtf / something really wrong

squarepegs

for me, i won't waste my time go for the job agency interview.

I have been burned so many times, waste my time travel there. ( ask anyone who kena before)

and say until got Dragon or gold like that, will get back to me and than MIA.

KNN.

** ****r.

worst part many of those agents are non Local.

SA/MY/

wtf / something really wrong
Ya lor, even the work duties also

after I google a bit. Same job, different pay, work duties not included 真的是写到有龙有风

careerfuture website is better but still have to avoid agencies

but most of the jobs have agencies. Safe entry job at the mall, can only apply through agency

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.