Singtel forcing customer to pay more

Nemesismaster

I bet even when doing ur daily tiny purchases like when u go coffee shops buying a cup of 90 cents kopi u will be lamenting to the kopi suo about how 10 years ago, how big cup of kopi ur 60 cents could fetch u.

ah_cheng1882

Every operator has to make some profits. If any operator is able to find a way to offer the phone at lower prices, then it will attract all available customers. The other operators will catch the signal and be forced to adjust their prices.

This is how a market economy works. Now, given that none of the three operators have dared to do that, doesn't it give u a hint?

jtdcjtdc

Its true.

Consider this, I subscribed free incoming call, pay $0.60 per day. Fine, I need it for 2 days. So after 2 days, I want to terminate. I was surprised, that to terminate, there is a termination fee of $1.53.

FAQ

What if I got no more topup to pay for the termination? The terms say cannot receive incoming call if below $0.60 balance. So means I am forced to topup to continue that plan, and if I don't like, still need topup then pay the $1.53 termination.

Its not actually the money (small amount), but that principle that leeches the customer. tsk tsk...

Elijahonli

very simple la.... i ask many singtel CSO liao... u want to use Singtel Classic recontract, the phone price will be at iOnePlus pricing + another $100. furthermore if you want to use a data on your classic, it would be counted as GPRS? prepare to see a few hundred bucks bill per month just for a lite use outside

TrEaSuRe

I also tried to re contract Classic plan for my mum, but singtel say no more classic plan, got to change to other plan.

ussr_1991

What's so good about Classic Plan?

Why not pay $100 more compared to Lite ($39) plan by subscribing to SuperLite @ $27.90 per month.

If your dear friend use Wi-Fi only, seldom use 4G ever, then 100MB should suffice with free incoming call, 100 mins and 500 SMS.

jtdcjtdc

What's so good about Classic Plan?

Why not pay $100 more compared to Lite ($39) plan by subscribing to SuperLite @ $27.90 per month.

If your dear friend use Wi-Fi only, seldom use 4G ever, then 100MB should suffice with free incoming call, 100 mins and 500 SMS.

for that usage pattern just stick to prepaid and topup DataTalk22 for $22.
$12 IDD mins, 250MB data, 120 mins calls, unlimited incoming, and 500 SMS renew-reextend by topup before 30 days. best of all, no stupid contract and $6 cheaper.

ussr_1991

for that usage pattern just stick to prepaid and topup DataTalk22 for $22.
$12 IDD mins, 250MB data, 120 mins calls, unlimited incoming, and 500 SMS renew-reextend by topup before 30 days. best of all, no stupid contract and $6 cheaper.

But what if never need to use IDD as one is not PRC / <Insert your favorite country instead> student or having friends / families over there? Then is like wasted $12 for nothing!

beerope

i dont know if you are stupid or what you are paying 19.90 more per month for 2gb of data every month, which you have excluded. all you are interested is the money coming out of your pocket.

if you want a indepth analysis here it goes:

classic - vs - flexi
-$20 - vs - $39.30 --- difference 19.90 per mth
- cant find the price but should be 100-200 more - vs - $568.00 --- 2 years contract
- no data vs got 2gb data --- boy see the difference

so theoretically you are paying 19.90 for additional 3g service

plus you need to consider TIME VALUE OF MONEY (ie. $1 in 2 years time is not equals to $1 now)

if you discount the 19.90 per mth back to present value. its not 477.60 it should be less. considering inflation and interest rate for the next 24 mths.

and the last most impt thing. there is no point getting LTE phone when u are using classic plan. u cant even surf the net unless u connect to wifi, which defeats the purpose of a smart phone. so before you whine you your brain first.

to be honest you are making yourself looking stupid here

Correct me if im wrong, but I think the S3 can play music, watch downloaded movies, play 3d games, take high quality pictures, read offline emails, read books and magazines and use as alarm clock when it does not have a data connection. Am i right?

Sghero

U can advise your fren to use prepaid card or jump ship to m1 or starhub. Its always singtel that start all the increase in prices for data stuff on mobile while the other 2 telco just happily follow too.

As consumer we can choose with our wallets.

Any 1 of u that used developed countries overseas mobile services in their country know that our telcos are CMI.

xonix

I am in similar situation like TS, currently using Classic Plan+1GB Data VAS.

Singtel only allows me to upgrade to non 4G/LTE phones because the Singtelshop only detects my "Classic Plan"

ginseng1

Buy HP w/o contract and continue with classic plan and don't use the LTE features.

uncle168

i think more and more people are hanging on to their old 12GB 3G plans and buying the phone from shops rather than signing on a new contract

this is because a 12GB plan if u sign now is around S$200 per month

those who use voice and SMS infrequently and data less than 1GB per month only to read news and no watching of video would buy the device from shops and use prepaid data from prepaid sim

i'm using up my credit in my starhub prepaid and switching to singtel prepaid for the S$10 1GB where u top-up S$7+S$1 x 3 for 28 days

if i cannot use up the 1GB i can top up S$1 to extend it for a week

i hope to see starhub introduce a 3GB 1 month for S$20 and S$5 to extend it for a month with no data, i think it is win win as the S$5 is pure profit for starhub

currently i see singtel prepaid is the cheapest for data and starhub is cheapest for voice call while m1 is quite expensive for both

jtdcjtdc

M1 has this $23 topup that gives free incoming calls for 50 days and that gives a rate of $0.46 per day.

Starhub has this $0.59 activation for free incoming call, where you pay additional $0.59 per day (basically initial cost is $1.18) then no charge for deactivation.

Singtel charges $0.60 per day (no activation charge) but bills $1.53 for deactivation.

Which amongst the 3 you will recommend for someone who needs like only 10-12 days of incoming calls in a month sporadically? Any justification?

hybridz

Reviving this thread as I have a similar grouse.

I have been on Classic Plan for as long as I can recall, and I have no reason to change becoz its very cheap and no urge to play games or watch shows on the go using data plan. However, when my contract was recently finished, I was told no longer got Classic. Next plan is their so-called combo plans. More expensive and no non-data plans. No free phones also. So much for being a loyal customer...

Plan to change to M1.

cscs3

My whole family say bye bye to Singtel long time already.
But to be fair, all telco in Singapore do the same. For example, you cannot opt not to use 4G and pay less.
Something that CASE should take some action against it.

Habrosus

Classic Plan - ST no longer offer this plan, so the only way for you to retain it is not to renew your contract aka don't use the line to buy a new phone.

Until a time when ST decides to really force Classic Plan users to change plans whether you want to renew your contract or not, that is to charge more regardless. Yes, I'm one of those who plan to go under the orange umbrella if/when it happens. :s8:

On a side note: I thought these telcos have very low/non-data plans? Of course, these cannot compare with Classic...

Anyway, a common practice among the telcos that I've been questioning is - why force us to pay for SIM card-size according to the new phone we buy??? Example, I'm using a phone that uses microSIM then buy an iPhone. Telco will force to buy new nanoSIM. I question this along the line of IDA rule that phones sold by these telcos are not allowed to be locked (telco-lock) - forcing us to buy the new SIM is like forcing us to use said new SIM with the new phone, indirectly locking it to said telco.

HoGnix

Nowdays, mobile plan are much more expensive.
I still have one Singtel mobile line iONE Plus (CMS), only $20 ($21.4 with GST) with 150 mins out goinh call and 30GB, yes 30GB Data per Month.

ska13a

Nowdays, mobile plan are much more expensive.
I still have one Singtel mobile line iONE Plus (CMS), only $20 ($21.4 with GST) with 150 mins out goinh call and 30GB, yes 30GB Data per Month.

no matter how good your plan is, if u dun use above the public plan threshold also is a waste because you didnt enjoy handset subsidy that why they can keep u there. else they will kick u off the plan long ago.

swgj86

Reviving this thread as I have a similar grouse.

I have been on Classic Plan for as long as I can recall, and I have no reason to change becoz its very cheap and no urge to play games or watch shows on the go using data plan. However, when my contract was recently finished, I was told no longer got Classic. Next plan is their so-called combo plans. More expensive and no non-data plans. No free phones also. So much for being a loyal customer...

Plan to change to M1.
just to correct some things that you mentioned:

No free phones also --> there are always free phones, just depend on the phone model and plans.

Example - https://www.singtelshop.com/shop/phones/phone-details.jsf?brandId=156&modelId=ZEFONE2_ZE551ML

I was told no longer got Classic. Next plan is their so-called combo plans. More expensive and no non-data plans ---> all three telcos also no longer offer their old plans for re-contract. so its not something that is isolated to one telco. I held on to my SmartSurf 300 for more than two years before giving it up when I switch to another telco.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.