Small Investment

stoneblackdragon

erm... maybe you dont understand how unit trust works, anyway that recommended fund is risk rating 10. around its all time high, take note it can fall to its all time low of 0.3 or even lower

stoneblackdragon

if u BELIEVE (without doing homework) that google will do well, u can open an account to buy shares in google, around 530 usd each shares..

wahkao3

Thanks for the information guys. Is it wise to invest my money in companies like SMRT? because it seems to be quite stable and I can collect dividend every year also.

For ocbc 360, I believe that will be my first start. but need to have 50k then worth it right?
haha no!

i want 75% discount before touching SMRT

dont be hard up over bluechip!
dont be hard up over dividends!

Just because they are bluechips and give dividends,doesnt mean they are the best investments

audio123

Just wondering...... Is now a good time to buy SIA shares? Seems like the price is pretty low now... And with oil prices at 70++, they should be able to report much better earnings next year?

stoneblackdragon

lol, he already say he want low risk low return.

but i agree smrt is a bad idea, the tech unit trust also bad idea in terms of risk

abf bond fund
ocbc 360
scb esaver
top up cpf and save 1k plus on tax
open srs acct n deposit n save 1k plus on tax (nxt time after crash then use to buy stocks, same apply to cpf).

antonpoh

In this case, should I go for the lead? (Which is apple) or go for Google? (because i believe Google will do well)

Apple can buy.. may hit aro 200.

google is ok, but heard some ppl switch to yahoo search.

spiritGate

Apple can buy.. may hit aro 200.

google is ok, but heard some ppl switch to yahoo search.

This one I will do some research first before buying... Maybe buy small for start

lol, he already say he want low risk low return.

but i agree smrt is a bad idea, the tech unit trust also bad idea in terms of risk

abf bond fund
ocbc 360
scb esaver
top up cpf and save 1k plus on tax
open srs acct n deposit n save 1k plus on tax (nxt time after crash then use to buy stocks, same apply to cpf).

Ok, I think I will check out on the abf bond fund, it seems to be a low risk investment. Thanks!

stoneblackdragon

Aaple had flash crash of 6% yesterday before some recovery, tech stocks are volatile volatile.

good case studies GTAT
our singapore creative from $55 to $20 to $2 now, personally dont think it will ever rise back le.. of course Apple n google are market leaders and it is less likely to happen, but they still can happen.

stoneblackdragon

more on tech stocks,

look at former dominant players like Sony..
currently, Samsung is struggling liao

Bedokian

TS, I suggest you do some read up first, especially on books on investing, how the share markets work, and then maybe can venture on into specifics like ETFs, unit trusts, REITs and dividend investing.

spiritGate

Just wondering, why SMRT is not a good choice?

and Blue chips, has lower risk as compared to other investment. I was thinking of SIA for blue chips. Is it a good choice?

I am planning to spread my money on a few investment to see which one is better before investing all in one place

wahkao3

Just wondering, why SMRT is not a good choice?

and Blue chips, has lower risk as compared to other investment. I was thinking of SIA for blue chips. Is it a good choice?

I am planning to spread my money on a few investment to see which one is better before investing all in one place
When invest in stock market, why are people so hard up over blue chips?

That day I discussion stock market with friend, they say they only look at blue chip. No blue chip no talk. even my finance trained friend also say he look at blue chip first. I hear him say this buei ta han dunno what he thinking.

I was thinking, whether blue chip, S chip, red chip, potato chip dont matter. The idea of buying a blue chip for stability sounds nice, but if you think carefully, they are usually expensive. When stock market crash, everything also go down, Be it blue chip, S chip, red chip, potato chip.

Why not buy a good underdog small cap company which performs like a blue chip? This way you get a quality company without paying the high premiums of blue chip? Isnt that a better idea? Without paying a premium, your ROI is better, your potential for gains is better too.

This really a stupid mentality to be hard up over blue chips.
So really, why are people so hard up over blue chip when they invest?

no offense to blue chip lovers, just trying to have healthy debate so everyone become wiser.
WQmn11s.png

spiritGate

When invest in stock market, why are people so hard up over blue chips?

That day I discussion stock market with friend, they say they only look at blue chip. No blue chip no talk. even my finance trained friend also say he look at blue chip first. I hear him say this buei ta han dunno what he thinking.

I was thinking, whether blue chip, S chip, red chip, potato chip dont matter. The idea of buying a blue chip for stability sounds nice, but if you think carefully, they are usually expensive. When stock market crash, everything also go down, Be it blue chip, S chip, red chip, potato chip.

Why not buy a good underdog small cap company which performs like a blue chip? This way you get a quality company without paying the high premiums of blue chip? Isnt that a better idea? Without paying a premium, your ROI is better, your potential for gains is better too.

This really a stupid mentality to be hard up over blue chips.
So really, why are people so hard up over blue chip when they invest?

no offense to blue chip lovers, just trying to have healthy debate so everyone become wiser.
WQmn11s.png

Yea is good for debate, but for me since i am looking for stability with stable returns, I believe blue chips would be a better choice for me. I understand anything will happen when economic crash, but the likelihood of losing money on blue chip is lower than other chips i believe.

Thats why a kiasi guy like me would rather go for stable de but in return low returns la

stoneblackdragon

then why dont you just buy straits times index, 30blue chips.

ES3 or G3B

the blue chips u mentioned all kanna whack jialat recently smrt n sia. can u take it if they drop more

spiritGate

then why dont you just buy straits times index, 30blue chips.

ES3 or G3B

the blue chips u mentioned all kanna whack jialat recently smrt n sia. can u take it if they drop more

Cannot take it.... tats why need to read up more on which blue chip to invest. cause i tot smrt like quite stable since it wont dissolve de no matter what, similar to SIA, as both companies are the pillar of Singapore transport, neither one can fall.

wahkao3

Cannot take it.... tats why need to read up more on which blue chip to invest. cause i tot smrt like quite stable since it wont dissolve de no matter what, similar to SIA, as both companies are the pillar of Singapore transport, neither one can fall.

When stock market crash, everything also go down, Be it blue chip, S chip, red chip, potato chip.

spiritGate

When stock market crash, everything also go down, Be it blue chip, S chip, red chip, potato chip.

Yea, true. But at least they wont get dissolve mah, still got chance to bounce back, unlike other companies, once fall, hard to bounce back le and highly likely to get dissolve (especially those tech companies).

audio123

Small caps definitely provide value for money.. Just look at the mutual funds.. Funds invested in small caps are generating better returns than large caps.

Also, it is easier for small caps to grow (the j curve effect). But the problem is identifying a good company to invest in and also whether are you willing to take the risk...

stoneblackdragon

historically, small caps perform better, bit have higher volatility. also small caps mutual funds are safer than individual small caps stocks, but u miss out on identifying the next multi bagger haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.