SMU Business Interview

lolkoko

Hi guys!

Anybody here going for SMU Business interview next week or have already went or are already in the course?

Care to share some experience or tips?

Many thanks in advance! :)

TAYTAYTAY

Hi guys!

Anybody here going for SMU Business interview next week or have already went or are already in the course?

Care to share some experience or tips?

Many thanks in advance! :)

Hi! May I know when is urs and are you from poly or JC? I have BBM interview next week too!

theorigin

I don't think you would have to prepare anything too... just have to read through an essay and then discuss with your gromp that you're interviewing with for a bit, then enter the seminar room for your group interview.

These questions were posed to my group(our essay was on imagination, creativity in the society and how they link to empathy iirc):

1)talk about the thoughts that you have from reading the essay; can be anything, from a takeaway from the essay or any part of the essay that you agree/disagree with
2)one of my group members mentioned the education system in sg, so the prof asked how will such an education(supposedly one which limits creativity) affect our society
3)talk abt anything related to the essay within 20 sec (I think that was the qns??? dont rly rmb)

but questions asked differ from prof to prof, group to group. And even if you say something off topic the profs won't stop you...haha. And bcos I went for the English test, I felt that Eng test was the harder part of the whole ordeal.

Anyway good luck for your interview!!

TAYTAYTAY

I went for the interview and i don't think you have to prepare or anything lol

Hello! You got accepted last year right? Hahaha I saw ur name somewhere.. I heard the English test is a killer and sometimes the article discussion seems very chim, isn't it? Thanks!

maicowpeh

Hello! You got accepted last year right? Hahaha I saw ur name somewhere.. I heard the English test is a killer and sometimes the article discussion seems very chim, isn't it? Thanks!

I went for it this year lol (u prolly saw my name in another tread or mistaken me for someone else) but dint went for any English test wor, just some talk cock session nia, next day straight away get accepted lol

But I think everyone that went for the interview on an earlier date don't have to do the English test thingy wor cuz all my groupmate oso dun have that test thingy wor

TAYTAYTAY

I went for it this year lol (u prolly saw my name in another tread or mistaken me for someone else) but dint went for any English test wor, just some talk cock session nia, next day straight away get accepted lol

But I think everyone that went for the interview on an earlier date don't have to do the English test thingy wor cuz all my groupmate oso dun have that test thingy wor

Opps I think I'm mistaken! What's ur topic about? Cos I saw some of the topics were quite chim. I'm afraid I don't understand the words used.

I'm assuming that ur group got above B for GP I guess? So there's no English test.

lolkoko

Hi! May I know when is urs and are you from poly or JC? I have BBM interview next week too!
Hi! I'm from poly and my interview is on saturday! When is yours?

So there's an english test? :( essay writing? T.T

lolkoko

I don't think you would have to prepare anything too... just have to read through an essay and then discuss with your gromp that you're interviewing with for a bit, then enter the seminar room for your group interview.

These questions were posed to my group(our essay was on imagination, creativity in the society and how they link to empathy iirc):

1)talk about the thoughts that you have from reading the essay; can be anything, from a takeaway from the essay or any part of the essay that you agree/disagree with
2)one of my group members mentioned the education system in sg, so the prof asked how will such an education(supposedly one which limits creativity) affect our society
3)talk abt anything related to the essay within 20 sec (I think that was the qns??? dont rly rmb)

but questions asked differ from prof to prof, group to group. And even if you say something off topic the profs won't stop you...haha. And bcos I went for the English test, I felt that Eng test was the harder part of the whole ordeal.

Anyway good luck for your interview!!
what's the english test like? when was your interview?

have you gotten your acceptance?

thank you! :) fingers crossed x

TAYTAYTAY

Hi! I'm from poly and my interview is on saturday! When is yours?

So there's an english test? :( essay writing? T.T

Hey!!! My interview is on Saturday too!!! 7.50am though, so early hahahaha! Are you a girl or boy?
Yep I think there's an English test from what I've gathered so far! Cos the guy only told me that I'm shortlisted and an email will be sent on the week.

agenda

Biggest tip to you guys:

Dress up. Its SMU, presentation is very important. I've seen interviewees coming these few weeks wearing inappropriate attires. All the seniors were rolling their eyes.

Also, be ready to analyze articles. Have a good discussion, best if you can facilitate. Defend your opinion but don't be aggressive, be confident and confidently wrong if you have to.

TAYTAYTAY

Biggest tip to you guys:

Dress up. Its SMU, presentation is very important. I've seen interviewees coming these few weeks wearing inappropriate attires. All the seniors were rolling their eyes.

Also, be ready to analyze articles. Have a good discussion, best if you can facilitate. Defend your opinion but don't be aggressive, be confident and confidently wrong if you have to.

Thank you so much!!! Really hope to get in SMU! ☺

I went for the interview on 10th of April together with an English test.

Have not received any notification till date.

I'm so stressed up :(

happybunnyissosunny

Hi I've had the english proficiency test and the business interview last Saturday. Has anyone (who also took the test + interview) received an offer?

lolkoko

Hey!!! My interview is on Saturday too!!! 7.50am though, so early hahahaha! Are you a girl or boy?
Yep I think there's an English test from what I've gathered so far! Cos the guy only told me that I'm shortlisted and an email will be sent on the week.
Mine is at 750 too OMG!

lolkoko

Biggest tip to you guys:

Okies! Thank you future senior! :)

eeeyan

I applied SMU business for 3 years.

No reply from them besides rejection letters.

Hope you guys get into SMU. (Forever and always my dream school)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.