So troubled

sacredrays

sit for related poly diploma is the easiest to enter liao.. sutd very very hard to enter for recent years...

why don't you apply for all uni and try luck?

Neon92

Let him/her try his/her "luck" lor...some people just won't give up despite knowing it is near to impossible to be admitted. 不到黄河心不死。
Wish TS all the best then..

With the advice here i can make my choice

KuroI-Kaze

TS ps ah let me use your thread for a qn..

can the bros here help me calculate what is the final gpa if I have 3.42 for the last 5 sems and I subsequently got 3.82 for the last sem?

Neon92

can the bros here help me calculate what is the final gpa if I have 3.42 for the last 5 sems and I subsequently got 3.82 for the last sem?

Sure go ahead and use

Successor.

Use maths to calculate? I am sure you know weightages by averaging right?

Furthermore how are we suppose to know the exact grade since some modules have probably more CU then the others.

lolita_5

wow rare guest! always see chiu in edmw...No harm trying, at least you have a plan (and a back-up) so I'm sure you'll be able sort things out, some people don't even have one. If you fail to plan, you plan to fail

Neon92

wow rare guest! always see chiu in edmw...No harm trying, at least you have a plan (and a back-up) so I'm sure you'll be able sort things out, some people don't even have one. If you fail to plan, you plan to fail

My plan cannot realise de too fragile

a&w_rootbeerz

I dun know what to back myself up with for SIT apart from my o lv and gpa

o lv and gpa should be just fine to back it up as long the course you applying is a related course from your previous one. Heard someone got in with a gpa lesser than yours and without any cca to back it up. And also heard someone got rejected with a gpa higher than yours because of non-related course. You can try apply tho. No harm trying and heard the interview plays a part too. Regarding the new full time ones, i can't comment since its relatively new.

Neon92

o lv and gpa should be just fine to back it up as long the course you applying is a related course from your previous one. Heard someone got in with a gpa lesser than yours and without any cca to back it up. And also heard someone got rejected with a gpa higher than yours because of non-related course. You can try apply tho. No harm trying and heard the interview plays a part too. Regarding the new full time ones, i can't comment since its relatively new.

How will a maths help in ntu computer science?

a&w_rootbeerz

Actually i talking about sit. As for ntu comp sci, not sure how a maths will help but there was a case where students in ntu comp sci without a maths background who did pretty alright. But these students were high gpa scorers.

Havok_ex

Don't be mistaken that the word additional in A math means something that is beyond the usual scope of mathematics. On the contrary, I feel that A math is basic math. E math is pretty much useless IMO. If you look at ntu comp sci curriculum. You will have to take 2 math modules, Discrete Math and Engineering Math in year 1 itself. Discrete math already contains functions, vectors, complex numbers. While engineering math has derivatives, integrals and applications on top of many other things. So yeah, having an add math background is quite necessary, or else you may suffer quite abit in ntu.

Neon92

Actually i talking about sit. As for ntu comp sci, not sure how a maths will help but there was a case where students in ntu comp sci without a maths background who did pretty alright. But these students were high gpa scorers.

Hmm maybe next wk apply for SIT

Shion

Senior Mentor
SIT not bad. From what I see they don't seem to take your grades as top priority. At least that is what they seem to tell from their website info.

Neon92

SIT not bad. From what I see they don't seem to take your grades as top priority. At least that is what they seem to tell from their website info.

Hmm if that the case my heart can loosen a bit

Shion

Senior Mentor
Hmm if that the case my heart can loosen a bit

That is what they say.

Admission Requirements - Local Diplomas

Holistic Assessment for Admission

SIT adopts a holistic approach in assessing applicants for admission by considering the following criteria:

Diploma from one of the five local polytechnics
Singapore-Cambridge GCE O-Level results * (where applicable)
Work experience/Internships
Interview performance

* SIT accepts applications from polytechnic graduates who did not sit for the Singapore-Cambridge GCE O-Levels and have come through other forms of secondary or post-secondary education.

UnDeaDAfk

ur results i think now SIT also wont accept since they open to A lvls as well. go private ba Nee ann Adelaide seems like a good school other then SIT. ofcuz i think unisim part time programs are great as well u can try out too and gain some work experience.

Shion

Senior Mentor
ur results i think now SIT also wont accept since they open to A lvls as well. go private ba Nee ann Adelaide seems like a good school other then SIT. ofcuz i think unisim part time programs are great as well u can try out too and gain some work experience.

:eek: I thought SIT mainly for Diploma holders :eek:

Havok_ex

:eek: I thought SIT mainly for Diploma holders :eek:

It is. A level students are only allowed to apply for some of the courses. Most of the courses are not open to A level students. On top of that, some of the courses that are open to them require additional requirements that most of them cant fulfil. Like digipen requires a portfolio that most A level students won't have.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.