Solo Backpacking Trip

lllooo

I love train ride..
Done it abt 15 yr back in reverse... St peterbury-> moscow->istruka-> UB->beijing -> shenzhen->HK. NOT solo.

You will be surprise how friendly people are. But still have to be careful lah.

XiaoZen

sorry to be a digger.. TS where are u liao? report location leh.. haha

dilphinus

Arrival in St. Petersburg!
2hno048.jpg

Breakfast provided by the hostel! The best hostel I've stayed in. Soul Kitchen.
2yv3o02.jpg

Metro Station
qrjhpx.jpg

dilphinus

jsbxw4.jpg

Lunch! Taking a break before continuing. Chicken was really tough. But cafe has staff who speaks English and with free wifi!
qrm4oi.jpg

28s4i6g.jpg

2a7wvbb.jpg

s_o_h

The Russia visa is relatively easy to apply. No hassle.

Just buy the LOI. I got mine within 12 hours though they said 24 hours. Sent the passport with LOI to the embassy and got it 4 or 5 working days later.

Which embassy? Get it done in sg or russia?

chengs21

hi like to check? how is your luggage like? is it safe to put it on train? i prefer the trolley luggage cos backpack will just wear me out.

where to buy LOI? i wanted to go Russia in Feb.

dilphinus

dilphinus

pwetty epic.. hope to do a rtw trip one day! :o

Am planning for Beijing - Xi'an Jiayuguan - Dunhuang - Turpan - Urumqi - Kyrgyzstan - Uzbekistan - Turkmenistan - Azerbaijan - Georgia - Turkey next year! Doing the research now!

quackerjack

Am planning for Beijing - Xi'an Jiayuguan - Dunhuang - Turpan - Urumqi - Kyrgyzstan - Uzbekistan - Turkmenistan - Azerbaijan - Georgia - Turkey next year! Doing the research now!

wow your company is really supportive.. i will have to quit for good to try something like this.. why not spend more time at each place?

do you have a travel journal of sorts?

dilphinus

wow your company is really supportive.. i will have to quit for good to try something like this.. why not spend more time at each place?

do you have a travel journal of sorts?

probably not able to do so many places at one go. either silk route or central asia. 16 days.

good friday ph. take 5 + 4 then get 2 weekends + 5 + 2 weekends + 5 + 2 weekends, so will get 16 days.

ya, have a travel blog. not updated though. will pm u.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.