Sony TV...

ravishing

A new model from Sony 75 inch TV KD -75X8500G purchased on 11th August 2019 lasted till 24th September 2019 verified by the technician on site that it is faulty. The set comes with sound but no display, and set display is faulty. Yes of course Sony provides warranty and repair service. But a TV that requires repair/replacement after minimal usage of 44 days, i ponder and wonder about the quality and assurance. Sony will honor and provide repair service where parts will be order hence be prepared to wait for the shipment. In any event should you wish to request for an 1 to 1 exchange or refund, please do refer to the dealer directly. I would strongly recommend going to a reliable dealer should you ever intend to purchase a Sony TV. Not forgetting to mention, there is only one customer office available in Sony that can help, resolve or see through the issue. If you are expecting a word of comfort from the management, please be prepared to be disappointed. If you are interested to see the actual job sheet, i am more than happy to share the actual sheet. Lesson learn, always find a brand that gives good customer service!

86technie

Take note of Lemon Law if you buy from retail shop.
If you are unhappy with the set, you can go back to the shop
and request for exchange with other set within 6 months.
Since you don't like Sony from the sound of it, you can request
to change to other brands.

But if you have prepare proof why the unit is faulty.
The way I see since I myself use Sony TV, either the TV wasn't
setup properly or in standby mode.
Android TV takes sometime to startup so it is not immediate.
(Up to 5 minutes, if TV isn't switch off in the night same thing applies.)

If you are not a patient person, change to Samsung or LG
but same thing you have to wait for it to warm up.
Why it fail to startup, there are to other factors like was there any
soundbar connected to it?

I suggest you take this matter off this forum, speak to retailer
first.
But like I mentioned you have to prove the unit is faulty but not user fault.
Even if you go CASE same thing applies.

For the time being, try practice turning off the TV when not in use especially in the night. When you turn it back on during the day, give it few minutes to boot up.

Jo1818

Sony honor their warranty and repair for you then ok what. This type of electrical appliances really hard to say one, lucky or unlucky only.
Every brand also have bad experience before with the tv or even the customer service of that particular brand. Means what? No need buy tv already?

In short, at least Sony repair the tv for you and not just neglect about it. Why straight away condemn already?

A new model from Sony 75 inch TV KD -75X8500G purchased on 11th August 2019 lasted till 24th September 2019 verified by the technician on site that it is faulty. The set comes with sound but no display, and set display is faulty. Yes of course Sony provides warranty and repair service. But a TV that requires repair/replacement after minimal usage of 44 days, i ponder and wonder about the quality and assurance. Sony will honor and provide repair service where parts will be order hence be prepared to wait for the shipment. In any event should you wish to request for an 1 to 1 exchange or refund, please do refer to the dealer directly. I would strongly recommend going to a reliable dealer should you ever intend to purchase a Sony TV. Not forgetting to mention, there is only one customer office available in Sony that can help, resolve or see through the issue. If you are expecting a word of comfort from the management, please be prepared to be disappointed. If you are interested to see the actual job sheet, i am more than happy to share the actual sheet. Lesson learn, always find a brand that gives good customer service!

cscs3

Sony honor their warranty and repair for you then ok what. This type of electrical appliances really hard to say one, lucky or unlucky only.
Every brand also have bad experience before with the tv or even the customer service of that particular brand. Means what? No need buy tv already?

In short, at least Sony repair the tv for you and not just neglect about it. Why straight away condemn already?

Take note he say Sony has to order the part and he has to wait!
This means Sony has never stock up to full fill after sales services!

VacheronLim

Will be interested to hear from you if you managed to find out any TV brand that can fulfill all the following criterias
- good customer service
- provide word of comfort from management everything the TV fails
- have more than 1 customer service office
- can manufacture all their TVs not to fail, especially with minimal usage

cscs3

Good customer service applies to good customer only......

Well, for this case. Is a bad after sales services as Sony do not has the part stocked to full fill immediately service requirement.

I am Sony users before, this seem similar experience and never changed after so many years.

brownkai

I have a Sony TV when it come with 5 yrs warranty... It broke down the 4th yr and if I remember they will send a tech to check and will order the parts to get it replaced... All done in a month... Now running my 6th yr... If break down can change liao

Windowlover

The feeling is so bad for new set,,, if will also feel frustation if landed in this way... even 1 week I think it is too long. The service center should improve their service provide for customer end also.

qhong61

Correct. Using Sony for so many years. So far so good.

qhong61

Will be interested to hear from you if you managed to find out any TV brand that can fulfill all the following criterias
- good customer service
- provide word of comfort from management everything the TV fails
- have more than 1 customer service office
- can manufacture all their TVs not to fail, especially with minimal usage
Like to know too..

ravishing

Thanks for your thoughts.
All are valid. Its really nice to hear that some of you have sony products that lasted for 5 years. And its true, Sony had honoured their warranty and willing to repair my brand new 44 day old TV, what else can i ask for right? I just need to wait which i dont know when since no timeline was given on when will the parts arrive and when will the technician be available. So probably need to arrange to take leave once they update me on the dates and time.

Its very subjective towards feeling of a product especially if i have to pay close $6,000 for a TV. I can understand that electronics can sometimes don't go according what was being QC-ed, however for a TV gets faulty within 44 days, personally i do not see why cant a replacement be done? Wouldn't it be good to bring the faulty set back and do a detail check to find out more so to get higher quality assurance?

Its is my personal thoughts of how the issue was managed, how it was handled, and how I felt when a TV last 44 days and requires repair. I am also uncertain about the product quality, assurance, and confidence.

As for me a consumer, i am just sharing my thoughts. Of course i am waiting for them to contact me again since i am at their mercy and just have to bear the consequence that i have no TV to watch at home during the period of no display till now as i post.

I am sure Sony has good product and perhaps i am the unfortunate one.

With regards to good products, i guess you are right, all are good. In terms of service, i have to say i prefer LG services. Of course again, some may got horrendous service from them since its one to one human interaction.

Summary of the case :
Since 11/08/2019 – 08/09/2019, I experience problem registering my warranty. I thus dropped them an email.

09/09/2019 – Sony Customer Service dropped me an email on registration instruction. I proceed the instruction however did not succeed.

11/09/2019 – I send Sony an email with my serial number to share that I attempted following the instruction however did not manage succeed.

12/09/2019 – Sony replied and shared that they will check and reply. 6 hours later, they replied me with another set of instruction however, I still cant. I think took the effort to scan my entire receipt, cut out the model and serial number on the TV box, have them pasted nicely and send it to them. Till then, they gave me another set of instructions to register my warranty.

While at this point, we have been experiencing problem such as “WIFI disconnected from the TV” and Channel 8 always gone missing and we need to go into settings to re-tune. We have no problem with our internet as some of us were playing intensive online RPG games and we have no problem such problem on our another TV. Again, they send us some instruction to do Factory reset. We followed and whenever problem persist, we continue to factory reset.

Problem continue to persist and we just keep following the instructions to do factory reset every week when it happens. Sometimes we just plug in our lan cable if its during weekdays where we are tired and got no time to factory reset it and re-tune everything. Fortunate thing was, we were using stock apps that comes with TV hence no other installation required.

24/09/2019 – The shock came when I attempt to turn on the TV, there was no picture, no sound. I dropped an email to Sony and share with them how poor the quality was. I requested to speak with the head of the department, and request for a 1 to 1 exchange the next day because TV is a common device that most human needs to use at home. I did not even request for a compensation for all these inconvenience caused.

25/09/2019 – I decided that email does not work anymore. We need to talk. So I called the hotline, spoke to customer service officer. The Officer than suggest to he will try to seek approval to get a technician to come down my place to check tomorrow between 10am – 2pm or 1pm-5-pm. I shared my concern that during this time, no one will be home. I counter offered to get the technician to come either in the morning between 8:00am or after 8:30pm at night while I will try to rush home. I shared with him we need to watch news as we are concern how the world is happening.

-------------

Anyway, Sony was kind enough to reply me on 27th Sept 2019 the following (guess after they received the job sheet from the technician whom wrote "TV Set Faulty", "Set with sound but no display)"

Thank you for your email to Sony Singapore.

With regards to your query below, firstly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused related to the Sony TV. We strive to create durable, quality products, and would like to assure you that the particular product you purchased was an unfortunate anomaly.

With the confirmation received, I have made the necessary arrangement for the Panel replacement. Once the Panel arrive, the technician will contact you directly to proceed with the repair process.

Your patient is highly appreciated.

I hope the information is useful for your reference.

Should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us at 6544 8600 from (Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm) or email at sg.cicenquiry@ap.sony.com.

86technie

TS, may I know:
- Is your TV connected directly to a power socket or power extension?
Invest in better power extension like those from schneider electric with surge protectionm
- Do you turn off the TV when not in use?
Try turn off the TV when not in use or set timer inside the TV settings.
- Are you using wireless/wired.
Wired will be better than wireless.
To me it's weird that the setting and program could not be stored.
You have to reset every week, probably surge causing such issues so best to look better quality power extension.
I only reset once the TV is slow or there is issue.
FYI after reset, you have to update the apps through Google playstore.

ravishing

Thanks for sharing.
The technician came and verified its TV set faulty already. So am its not the fault with connection or such.
Just no TV to watch is sian at home. Can only watch on PC / Laptop lor.
Worse still got phone :)
--

Today receive an update from Sony :

A very good morning to you.

Pertaining to the part availability, please be informed that I will closely follow up your case with the service department and will keep you updated.

Your patience is highly appreciated.

cscs3

TS, may I know:
- Is your TV connected directly to a power socket or power extension?
Invest in better power extension like those from schneider electric with surge protectionm
- Do you turn off the TV when not in use?
Try turn off the TV when not in use or set timer inside the TV settings.
- Are you using wireless/wired.
Wired will be better than wireless.
To me it's weird that the setting and program could not be stored.
You have to reset every week, probably surge causing such issues so best to look better quality power extension.
I only reset once the TV is slow or there is issue.
FYI after reset, you have to update the apps through Google playstore.

Is surge can cause this kind of issue, this means TV failed it's power design. I believe this is more on software issues or CPU board problem.

For slow issue, that's quite common for Android base TV.

ravishing

Ok, giving Sony some credit lar.
They email me everyday. Today the update was "

------
Thank you for your email to Sony Singapore.

With regards to the TV display issue, please be inform we are in the midst of the panel arrival.

Should there be any updates from the technician, I will keep you posted.

Your patience is highly appreciated.

I hope the information is useful for your reference.

Should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us at from (Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm) or email at .

Have a pleasant day ahead.

By the way, nothing to do with power surge as here is what its wrote by their certified experience senior technician :

https://photos.app.goo.gl/cyXvFBThYWAu7SCq5

cyXvFBThYWAu7SCq5

Again, some may say its a one off thing, some may say its user problem. There are thousands of reason why it could happen.
However, think of it on another point. If you have only this TV at home, and you just purchase it, being unlucky and died after 44 days, with all these on-going, how would you feel?

Stand on someone else shoe. I am not condemning the brand, I am just sharing what could and can happen and how was the recovery stage so that incase someone else happened to be like me that unfortunate, they gets a heads-up on preparation on how to manage through the duration of no TV.

I am of no expert to TV or technical portion, but i trust the technician had check through all my power connection, entire set up and all necessary things that he needs to check before providing his findings. Trust his experience and not based on emotion or gut feel

ravishing

Finally the CS manager called me after so long.
They offered to replace the panel and extend 3 more months of warranty.

Of course the naughty part of me was to question how she rated all the calls since it was recorded and asked if its true that her agent is as knowledgeable and capable as her and by speaking with her will makes no difference since he was the only one in Sony that can help resolved my problem. Her diplomatic replied was that she has more empowerment than her agent thus she can offer me additional 3 more months of warranty and will educate the agent for being rude to her customer.

To me, offer is an offer out of gesture of goodwill. Subjective to one's thought if its good enough.

Long story short, the dealer than called me finally. Straight away, the dealer understood what i went through as he read the entire email and offer to exchange a TV set for me. I then request to change to other brand which i do not mind topping up because i prefer better after sales service than being scolded over the phone by an agent. He acceded to my request. Finally i can have a peace of mind with another brand which i personally experience giving top notch after sales service.

Then Sony send me this email :

Greetings from Sony Singapore.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the display issue for your Sony TV.

We deeply value your relationship with Sony and we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

Pertaining to the call back request, I would appreciate if you could provide me with further information of the person you are looking for me to check and revert back to you.

If I can be of assistance, do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or inquiries about your repair.

Thanks once again and we look forward to have a long term business relationship with you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at from (Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm) or email at for further assistance. Thank you and have a pleasant day ahead.

Warmest regards,

I am so glad this is finally over!

congster2

Finally the CS manager called me after so long.
They offered to replace the panel and extend 3 more months of warranty.

Of course the naughty part of me was to question how she rated all the calls since it was recorded and asked if its true that her agent is as knowledgeable and capable as her and by speaking with her will makes no difference since he was the only one in Sony that can help resolved my problem. Her diplomatic replied was that she has more empowerment than her agent thus she can offer me additional 3 more months of warranty and will educate the agent for being rude to her customer.

To me, offer is an offer out of gesture of goodwill. Subjective to one's thought if its good enough.

Long story short, the dealer than called me finally. Straight away, the dealer understood what i went through as he read the entire email and offer to exchange a TV set for me. I then request to change to other brand which i do not mind topping up because i prefer better after sales service than being scolded over the phone by an agent. He acceded to my request. Finally i can have a peace of mind with another brand which i personally experience giving top notch after sales service.

Then Sony send me this email :

Greetings from Sony Singapore.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the display issue for your Sony TV.

We deeply value your relationship with Sony and we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

Pertaining to the call back request, I would appreciate if you could provide me with further information of the person you are looking for me to check and revert back to you.

If I can be of assistance, do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or inquiries about your repair.

Thanks once again and we look forward to have a long term business relationship with you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at from (Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm) or email at for further assistance. Thank you and have a pleasant day ahead.

Warmest regards,

I am so glad this is finally over!

Haha which brand are you changing to?

petetherock

I’m glad it’s resolved
I pray that your next tv is fine.
Otherwise you will set off on another tirade on how awful the other company is..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.