soteyh's worklog

soteyh

14 Aug:

Squat - 92.4 kg 1x4, 1x3, 1x2 - deload : 83.4 kg 2x5
Bench - 67.6 kg 5x5
Rows - 55 kg 4x5

This was a bad workout - did not warm up properly so I had a bad workout. The pendlay's were bad too - I may seriously change to cable rows instead for the next workout. My form is really bad at the current weight, and it does not seem to be effective, not feeling it... :(

soteyh

15 Aug:

Squat - 92.4 kg 2x5, 3x4
OHP - 38 kg 5x5
Deadlift - 30 kg 1x5, 60 kg 1x5, 80 kg 1x5, 95 kg 1x5 105 1x5

I did another workout today, back to back from yesterday. I thought I would deload for the squats after yesterday's disastrous workout. But surprisingly felt ok after taking a longer time to warm up, managed to do a half decent workout - not 5x5, but almost there. Plowing away with the OHP and deadlift...

soteyh

19 Aug:

Squat - 92.4 kg 4x5, 1x3 Almost!! But not quite ... :s8:
Bench - 69.8 kg 5x5
Rows - 45 kg 5x5

Deloaded on Pendlays to regain form.

While at the gym, its always interesting to watch the trainers train their clients to see what they are doing. Today was even more interesting, as there was a trainer training a new trainer! :s13: The new PT was so nervous, wore the wrong uniform, was sent back to change twice, and then very jittery. Wonder if he will survive ...

BradLee

19 Aug:

Squat - 92.4 kg 4x5, 1x3 Almost!! But not quite ... :s8:
Bench - 69.8 kg 5x5
Rows - 45 kg 5x5

Deloaded on Pendlays to regain form.

While at the gym, its always interesting to watch the trainers train their clients to see what they are doing. Today was even more interesting, as there was a trainer training a new trainer! :s13: The new PT was so nervous, wore the wrong uniform, was sent back to change twice, and then very jittery. Wonder if he will survive ...

Thats why i dun engage PT, wait this new PT on the job training for few weeks start to take client and act experts.

soteyh

30 Aug:

Squat - 94.6 kg 2x4, 3x3
OHP - 40.1 kg 5x5
Deadlift - 60 kg 1x5, 80 kg 1x5, 100 kg 1x5, 110 1x5

I did another back-to-back workout today because am travelling later in the week. The squats are beginning to reach their peak - thinking that I might have to deload pretty soon.

Meanwhile - episode 2 of the rookie PT! So I was finishing my deadlifts when I noticed rookie PT standing at one corner watching me. I thought my form is off or something, but while I was keeping the weights, he asked to take over. He was going to do his own workout!

So I went off to one side to cool down, making sure I have a good view of what he is doing. He kept the 20kg plates on, and started with a deadlift. But at the top of the deadlift, he brought the bar again up to the chest level - a clean (?). Then, he dropped the weight! From chest height! It made a huge ruckus and the bar bounced a bit.

Then, he did it again! and again! At this point, I was seriously wondering if he was testing out the floor or the reliability of the bar.

Finally, one of the regular PTs had a word with him, and he stopped. He continued the cleans but, lowering down the bar slowly instead.

Maybe some of the more pro weightlifters can advise - is that a valid exercise for the clean? Clean up to chest level and drop the weight? :s22:

galapogos

The clean begins with the barbell on the floor, and ends with it racked on your shoulders in a front squat position. So, since you've only mentioned his start and end points, what he is doing could be a clean. Or it could be a mutated reverse curl abomination, which I think is more likely.

You should only dump bars if you have proper spin bars and bumper plates. Dumping cheap bars with non bumper plates is just asking for trouble. I very much doubt that the place where you're training has proper equipment for olympic lifting, which means the regular PT was right in stopping him.

BradLee

From what I know is a valid exercise but whether is his form good that is another question. By the way clean the bar should ends at about the shoulder height meaning around the starting position of the OHP.

If he only clean to chest is a bit too low.

soteyh

The clean begins with the barbell on the floor, and ends with it racked on your shoulders in a front squat position. So, since you've only mentioned his start and end points, what he is doing could be a clean. Or it could be a mutated reverse curl abomination, which I think is more likely.

You should only dump bars if you have proper spin bars and bumper plates. Dumping cheap bars with non bumper plates is just asking for trouble. I very much doubt that the place where you're training has proper equipment for olympic lifting, which means the regular PT was right in stopping him.

Is it a legitimate to dump the bar as an exercise? I don't know very much about this, but it sounds a bit unusual. It's not like he was doing his max either - was treating it like a warm up!

BradLee

yes if u do watch weightlifting, just go youtube and search for it lor.
But it should be done at a platform lah not hard ground with maybe some rubber protection and like gala said proper bar and plates.

galapogos

Is it a legitimate to dump the bar as an exercise? I don't know very much about this, but it sounds a bit unusual. It's not like he was doing his max either - was treating it like a warm up!
Dumping of the bar is not an exercise. It's simply the fastest and most effortless way to get the bar back to the starting point again - on the floor.

soteyh

Dumping of the bar is not an exercise. It's simply the fastest and most effortless way to get the bar back to the starting point again - on the floor.

I see. Maybe he was really training correctly then.

soteyh

26 Aug:

Squat - 94.6 kg 3x5, 1x4, 1x2
Bench - 72 kg 5x5
Rows - 47 kg 5x5

I think I am going to drop to 3x5 for squats, the 5x5 volume is killing me!

Also, I found something better than the rumble roller for myofascial release. Last week while in Bangkok I had a Thai massage. It was just after double leg day... When the masseuse press on my quads, I want to scream bloody murder. But she no pang jang, kept using her elbow to press into my quad and ask me to relax ... :eek::eek::eek:

galapogos

Alamak, of course a good masseuse is gonna trump any foam roller you can buy lol. There's a limit to what you can do and will do to yourself.

soteyh

28 Aug:

Squat - 97 kg 2x5, 1x4, 1x3
OHP - 42.6 kg 4x5, 1x4
Deadlift - 40 kg 1x5, 60 kg 1x5, 80 kg 1x5, 100 1x5, 115 1x5

Reached a milestone today - according to strstd, I have finally graduated from "untrained" to "novice" for all 4 lifts! I'm a novice! :s12:

Got a nasty shin scratch while doing my last deadlift set, and bled on the bar :s22: I'm going to deload on my squats next, too shack to keep pressing the limit on all the lifts at the same day. The SL's deload strategy is to keep juggling the lifts so not maxing out on everything on the same day, right?

BradLee

Congrats!!! read your massage experience is so funny, like u kenna Rxpe hahah.

JoePilot

just a bit more to reach the magical 100 for squats!:s12:

Keep unlocking tiny achievements frequently, make it like an xbox game, to keep motivated!

JoePilot

Ok here's the deal:

Next major achievement is 300kg in combined weight for all 5 exercises.

You're either in or you're out, right now. :D

soteyh

Heh heh, I am just trying to complete the 12 weeks for SL!

I'm thinking of switching to 5-3-1 thereafter. Maybe will drag SL for a few more weeks to milk it for what is worth, but I kind of like the focus in 5-3-1, and the week to week weight increases are more manageable.

There are a number of people on the forum aiming for a weight objective, think someone else is gunning for 400kg for 3 lifts (based on 1 RM) . Haven't seen him around lately though. Maybe will think about some long term weight goals for myself too :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.