Soundcard recommendation

Swordsman

Yup, it varies between users too. I'm a SC2 player and I prefer clarity, but when I play FPS i won't want my output to lack the kick in sub-bass. That's where external DACs come into play.

For movies and FPS gaming I use my modded Aune T1. For music editing/recording/listening, I use my Presonus Firebox for a more neutral sound.

Same goes for speakers. Audioengine A5 for gaming and movies, Genelec 8020C for music and work. :)

any recommendation for the types of games i play ?

htkm1

I'm not an audiophile or anything like that. I want an upgrade from my onboard card.

Is there any latest soundcard which gives an improvement from the onboard chip.

I usually use for gaming and listening to music.

Asus Xonar STX and X-FI HD was what i was considering. But they said the former is more for audiophiles.

First of all any sound card will have improvement from the on-board. This is no horse run.
I have 3 systems/PC set-up for family. All using the sounds cards listed below.
  • Sound Blaster Z (SB-Z)
  • X-Fi Titanium HD and
  • X-Fi XtremeGamer
IMO from the three above, the X-Fi Titanium HD gives an overall natural and balanced sound compared to the rest of the sound cards. Be it playing gmaes, watching movies and listening to music.

SB-Z has clarity but for me it feels and sounds like it's trying to hard to be different or better than X-Fi.

XtremeGamer is just too much boom/bass. Not balance at all.

With the sound cards, use the Speakers/Headphones listed below;
  • Klipsch 2.1 (Old model with detachable speaker cables)
  • Creative Gigworks T20 and
  • Grado SR325is (Headphones)

If you want your windows to shutter, the rest of your family to started banging on your door shouting, turn it down then get a decent 2.1 speaker system. Example: Klipsch 2.1. If not your current one will do fine.

T20 speakers works fine. Although the sound of bullet drop onto a tile floor or gun fire is not as good as a Klipsch 2.1, it's still decent for a desktop speaker.

Summery:
Look for a balanced sound card that produce natural sound. Not too much bass/low or too high treble or muffed mid sounds. Balanced is the key.
For that I'd recommend X-Fi Titanium HD.
Bought it from Amazon. Amazon.com : Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD Internal Sound Card with THX SB1270 : Computer Internal Sound Cards : Electronics

For Speakers, I would suggest keep your current one and try it with the new sound card that your gonna get. You will hear the difference. See if you like it and go from there.

For up-grading any sound system from a current system, the key is to go/up-grade one component at a time, listen to it, ask yourself how is it compared to previous and go from there.

manaeater

guys for DAC, someone mentioned Creative Omni in this thread. Is that sold in SLS? How much does it cost btw?

Or are there any other DAC in the sub $100-200 range for recommendation?

Thanks!

Swordsman

First of all any sound card will have improvement from the on-board. This is no horse run.
I have 3 systems/PC set-up for family. All using the sounds cards listed below.
  • Sound Blaster Z (SB-Z)
  • X-Fi Titanium HD and
  • X-Fi XtremeGamer
IMO from the three above, the X-Fi Titanium HD gives an overall natural and balanced sound compared to the rest of the sound cards. Be it playing gmaes, watching movies and listening to music.

SB-Z has clarity but for me it feels and sounds like it's trying to hard to be different or better than X-Fi.

XtremeGamer is just too much boom/bass. Not balance at all.

With the sound cards, use the Speakers/Headphones listed below;
  • Klipsch 2.1 (Old model with detachable speaker cables)
  • Creative Gigworks T20 and
  • Grado SR325is (Headphones)

If you want your windows to shutter, the rest of your family to started banging on your door shouting, turn it down then get a decent 2.1 speaker system. Example: Klipsch 2.1. If not your current one will do fine.

T20 speakers works fine. Although the sound of bullet drop onto a tile floor or gun fire is not as good as a Klipsch 2.1, it's still decent for a desktop speaker.

Summery:
Look for a balanced sound card that produce natural sound. Not too much bass/low or too high treble or muffed mid sounds. Balanced is the key.
For that I'd recommend X-Fi Titanium HD.
Bought it from Amazon. Amazon.com : Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD Internal Sound Card with THX SB1270 : Computer Internal Sound Cards : Electronics

For Speakers, I would suggest keep your current one and try it with the new sound card that your gonna get. You will hear the difference. See if you like it and go from there.

For up-grading any sound system from a current system, the key is to go/up-grade one component at a time, listen to it, ask yourself how is it compared to previous and go from there.

what works well with swans m50w ?

robolee

guys for DAC, someone mentioned Creative Omni in this thread. Is that sold in SLS? How much does it cost btw?

Thanks!

creative got online store, just go there buy lor :s22:

Swordsman

i rather u get essence stx ah bro. heard from many ppl that this is a gd card but whatever it does, stx seems to be better.

http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.co...-stx-review-subjective-listening-4233894.html

Conclusion:
If you love neutrality, this sound card is for you. It’s detailed but non-fatigue. The sub low maybe little weak, but the overall presentation is great. The software is light and simple to use. The only shortcoming is in the gaming section. But then again, it’s not built for gaming, it’s for audiophiles. ; )

Felfirez

Xonar Essence STX Review (Subjective Listening) - www.hardwarezone.com.sg

Conclusion:
If you love neutrality, this sound card is for you. It’s detailed but non-fatigue. The sub low maybe little weak, but the overall presentation is great. The software is light and simple to use. The only shortcoming is in the gaming section. But then again, it’s not built for gaming, it’s for audiophiles. ; )

As mentioned, sound is very subjective. It's up to your own personal liking. It might not be for gaming to the reviewer but to others it is.

htkm1

Thanks!

Got a FiiO, Alpen E17 portable amp+DAC @ $190. It's made in China But it's good build quality, decent sound.

cheers

Swordsman

As mentioned, sound is very subjective. It's up to your own personal liking. It might not be for gaming to the reviewer but to others it is.

don feel offended. just showing all of u niah.

actually gaming soundcard is dedicated to hardcore fps gaming right ? the positional thing.. they don't give a damn to other genre games ? same wise for speaker, mouse and keyboard.

i don't play fps.

just rpg, action games.

so clarity of game music and voice acting is more important right ?
some solid bass also must have.

sanfong

That time when I'm looking for soundcard I shortlisted these sound cards, Ti-HD, STX or wait a few months just for ZxR. After many hours of researching, I bought Ti-HD even though I might risk that ZxR could be better but end up I still dun think i made a bad move. because the sound from Ti-HD was so much better and smooth to hear. It sound so balance even from my crappy MX6021. If I would made the choice now I will still choose Ti-HD.

nannan82

to me it totally not subjective... dedicated souncard sure sound better.... i ownall the creative series except recon 3d... and all sound so diff from onboard.... currently using sbz... sound good enough for me...

UptheToon

thanks to this thread i bought creative soundblaster Z and i upgraded my speakers to Klipsh promedia 2.1.

i've never experienced sound like this before. outstanding clarity and my music and games sound so much better.

Alphas

Use digital connection like DTS and Dolby digital with onboard sound. So the sound is decoded digitally outside the PC , and some onboard sound supports it.

chaoswar

thanks to this thread i bought creative soundblaster Z and i upgraded my speakers to Klipsh promedia 2.1.

i've never experienced sound like this before. outstanding clarity and my music and games sound so much better.
Klipsh 2.1 are great speaker , gaming is never the same as before

UptheToon

Use digital connection like DTS and Dolby digital with onboard sound. So the sound is decoded digitally outside the PC , and some onboard sound supports it.

i see they have dolby digital options. how do i use it? i have to buy something else to go with it? in laymen term can explain? 'decoded' all very chim for me.

royfrosty

i see they have dolby digital options. how do i use it? i have to buy something else to go with it? in laymen term can explain? 'decoded' all very chim for me.

I will explain in layman terms

Coder and Decoder comes from the word CODEC.

CODEC, in general is a data stream or signal for transmission, storage or encryption, or decodes it for playback or editing.

It means that your PC in order to play a sound, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby, DTSHD, DTS, etc needs to be Encoded and leaves the PC to the respective audio sources like AV receiver. The AV receiver then decodes back the sound that was output by the PC. This will allows the sounds to be channeled to the respective speakers.

Just a general idea on how it works. I hope i didnt confused you as i have tried to cut down a few steps of details.

chaoswar

I use dolby digital live by the optical out connect to my mixamp,which my headset was connected to the mixamp, tested it better sound than connect by the 3.5mm jack. Play bf4 n other game is so better

My speaker connect by the 3.5mm jack

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.