Speeding offence

jq75

with the speed u clocked, by right u need to traffic court.

did TP have an admin lapse and send u a letter so late?

otherwise best to make appointment to see officer and settle on the spot

APPEAL DO NOT WORK ESP WHEN U EXCEED BY SO MUCH.
I HAVE COME ACROSS A FEW CASES, EXCEED BY 15KM/H THEY ALSO DO NOT ENTERTAIN, EVEN WITH MP LETTER.

TP IS VERY HUNGRY NOWADAYS

jq75

Refer to http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/cars-cars-204/speeding-ticket-4450060.html

I also received a TP letter regarding my speeding offence.
Date of offence is on 2011 and I only received it on 7 Nov 2013.
It took them almost 2 years to send me the letter?

Travelling at 113kmph @ Nicoll Highway on 70kmph road limit.

Compounded $500 and 12 demerit points.
No court attendance needed.

When I go to my taxi company and check my record for which taxi did I drive on the date of offence. The receptionist said I'm the 4th driver who received speeding letter of $500 and 12 demerit points. Which mean the other 3 driver also kena $500 and 12 demerit points. Coincidence much?

seems we have no way to verify how accurate and true TP are doing their work..

demerit 12 points, half of ur license gone

Imperado

er just curious.. according to TP website:

Incentives for good driving behaviour
A licence holder who maintains a 12-month period free of scheduled offences from the date of last scheduled offence committed will have all his previous demerit points removed from his record.

Untitled Document

So if the scheduled offence is in 2011.. Doesnt that means they cant apply the demerit point? unless the driver been clocking demerit points from 2011 till now such that it doesnt reset

AL5509

APPEAL DO NOT WORK ESP WHEN U EXCEED BY SO MUCH.
I HAVE COME ACROSS A FEW CASES, EXCEED BY 15KM/H THEY ALSO DO NOT ENTERTAIN, EVEN WITH MP LETTER.

TP IS VERY HUNGRY NOWADAYS
Hhhmm speeding how to appeal?
Seriously, I personally cannot find any 'good/reasonable' reasons to even talk to MP?

superman

er just curious.. according to TP website:

Incentives for good driving behaviour
A licence holder who maintains a 12-month period free of scheduled offences from the date of last scheduled offence committed will have all his previous demerit points removed from his record.

Untitled Document

So if the scheduled offence is in 2011.. Doesnt that means they cant apply the demerit point? unless the driver been clocking demerit points from 2011 till now such that it doesnt reset

Correct, if there is no more traffic offence committed since then, then TS should just pay $500 and there should be no demerit points deducted since the demerit points shoud be deleted after 2 years.

Imperado

Just to add my Father in law received his summon 3-4 years from offense date :s22:.
And he served demerits points after 4 year, and reason was given due to heavy work load (i assume they are very busy).

Correct, if there is no more traffic offence committed since then, then TS should just pay $500 and there should be no demerit points deducted since the demerit points shoud be deleted after 2 years.

er so the guy saying about his father serving demerit point after 4 year?

zyxy94

As far as I know, I am not the only one who got the summon at the speed of 113kmph.

Was queuing up to Meet-the-people session with my constituency MP at my neighbourhood PAP centre, an uncle saw my TP letter that I was holding came up to me and said.

"Tiok sum man gor pa kor & 12pts si boh? 113kmph tio bo? wa ma si xio xiang"
(got fined $500 and 12pts is it? 113kmph? I've got the same thing!)

Apparently he is also one of the taxi uncle who got this as well.

sinicker

As far as I know, I am not the only one who got the summon at the speed of 113kmph.

Was queuing up to Meet-the-people session with my constituency MP at my neighbourhood PAP centre, an uncle saw my TP letter that I was holding came up to me and said.

wah! so there's many many more! :s22:

AL5509

Just to add my Father in law received his summon 3-4 years from offense date :s22:.
And he served demerits points after 4 year, and reason was given due to heavy work load (i assume they are very busy).

Yes you are right he did :s22:, and you cannot fight one (although went to MP but no avail).
This is nonsense!
Just because they are 'busy' or had overlooked this case.
They can get to tell you when you are supposed to accept the demerit points?
Then write a letter back, saying you are busy now.
And request to accept the demerit points 4 years later too then.
What a screw-ball issue that is!

Coless

so what did the MP say? im thinking to appeal anot..

laiwh

hmm...so the assumption of not being served any summon 2-3 weeks window after the supposed day of incident doesn't seem to hold water anymore. Being served a summon a few years later is quite lame imho.
I can't even remember what i ate for lunch last week, let alone what speed i travelled at along a particular stretch of road x years ago. even if we have dashcam installed, any recording so long ago would have been overwritten or erased.

superman

Write this case to newspaper, TP will need to explain why it take so long to issue a letter. Spend so much money on computer systems and take 2 years to issue letter is unacceptable. You ask them if you can take 2 years to pay the fine to them?

gn2807

Got anybody kena fine for over speeding 1-2km/h bo?

Late last nite at PIE(Jurong), saw my speedometer just passed 80km/h line then tio flash.

1st time tio

Alphas

The camera dun flash until +5 - 10 km/hr so you have to be traveling at more than 85. Have your speedometer checked.

EJB

Late last nite at PIE(Jurong), saw my speedometer just passed 80km/h line then tio flash.

1st time tio
Confirm you were above 85... cannot be +1/2 nia tio flash.

delceer

hi all need some advice...i just recv tp letter stated i was speeding on the road that limit was only 70kmh..and i was caught driving 113kmh..for me i always drive not more than 100kmh on expressway and no more than 80kmh on normal roads..so i was quite shocked to recv the letter.

The offence was 14months ago..??? i today then recv the letter..anyone recv the letter so late before?

may i know anyone here know whats the chances of successful appeal?

TIA.

If you are very confident, by all means go hire lawyer and challenge the TP.
I advice you better don't because the TP speed camera is very accurate and clear. Cannot run away. TP got solid evident then send you the letter, they will not anyhow send. How are you sure your car speedometer is accurate and the TP speed camera is not accurate ? Your car speedometer got do yearly calibration by accredited lab ? :s11:

delceer

1st time tio

How accurate your speedometer ? Your car is brand new car or COE car ?
Got do yearly calibration for your speedometer by accredited lab ? :s11:

gn2807

Playback my car cam, saw the flash when gps speed on my gps navigator is at 80km/h.

I'm very sure because the cab in front of me slow down to 70km/h before the speed camera, I overtook him and observed my speedometer at 80km/h, as it was down slope, it crept up just pass 80km/h then flash.

It's 8 year old car, maybe I go check my speedometer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.