SQ Pilots many struggling but still earning $6000++ to $13000++

Surrealz

Some people work like dog also don’t have 3k a month.

Fug all these SIA Bus Drivers lah. Entitled piece of sh1ts

siegeholler

That 28 years old Lu guy is a real person. His linkedin shows he joined SIA only for 3 years, very nice earning 14K per month already.

Also very courageous or stupid to give real name in such interviews

today online removed his name but google cache still have :

www.todayonline.com › singapore › one-sees-his-flyin...
22 hours ago - For Mr Lu Changji, 28, who has been flying with the airline for four years, he said that even with the pay cuts, he is grateful for the amount he ...

Surrealz

many people are missing the point that they have been doing nothing for the past 6 months or so and yet still getting generous payouts as compared to general standards at the expense of taxpayers.

pilots in other countries have been furloughed long ago and here you see them in sg complaining getting not enough in this interim period. employees in other industries who are working as per normal are already getting direct paycuts or indirect paycuts in the form of potential loss of bonuses and benefits while these people who are not doing anything are expecting the compensation to remain, what a joke.

Hard truths. Quoted for highlight.

Jeremy1

This kind of salary still struggling, I had nothing to say. :s22:

Azores

See this argument a lot. Not defending any occupation, I think all professions are noble, however fair remuneration is always a hot topic.

Risk of accident between different mode of transport cannot be compared in terms of pay. They are mutually exclusive because there is no correlation to pay and accident. You are looking for training standards and because there are different standards of training and regulations for each industry, hence the pay differs.

You probably won’t want to look for an English teacher to defend you in a court of law although both probably can speak excellent English.

Risk of accident with car is higher than flying. Maybe grabcar drivers should be paid 23k instead.

Surrealz

n 1 mths flys less thans 10 times :(

Their flying frequency is now once a month, or less. Basically getting paid to DO NOTHING FOR THE PAST 6 MONTHS.

And many of these rich fat pilots taking high-pay are PRs.

SIA very good. Go and retrench all the local sinkie trainee pilots who cost only like $900 a month... but keep all these non-trainee Malaysian PRs.. CECA PRs... getting $13k a month...

Song boh Sinkies!!!

RedRedWine

Well sad reality is societal view that some jobs are better than others

Else your parents keep asking u to study for what?

Might as well all come out work from psle

My job is more important than yours, really elitists mindset. Probably they look down on cleaners also.

MrFish

I tot EDMW all high pay one? Why are so many bashing the pilots? Sounds like a lot of jealous people lol.

I read the article and not a single one had a sense of entitlement. Just stories about how they coped with the pay cut.

People earn a good living driven by market forces also cannot, want to wish them the worse. This is typically low SES thinking leh.

Even the seemingly high basic pay needs to be taken in context. Many pilots have been retrenched already. Many also were given the option to leave early. For those that remain, SIA has to pay them enough to keep them. They need to have enough good pilots as the industry picks up again. You think pilots are like Grab drivers, can next day hire all that you need meh.

Maybe the basic pay should be lowered, but none of us are really in a position to decide. Only SIA knows.

Knightoftheblackrose

_m-1353898720.jpg

RedRedWine

Think they just bey song sia got bailout using taxpayers money...

Also true la this money in some way sure will use to pay the pilots

I tot EDMW all high pay one? Why are so many bashing the pilots? Sounds like a lot of jealous people lol.

I read the article and not a single one had a sense of entitlement. Just stories about how they coped with the pay cut.

People earn a good living driven by market forces also cannot, want to wish them the worse. This is typically low SES thinking leh.

Even the seemingly high basic pay needs to be taken in context. Many pilots have been retrenched already. Many also were given the option to leave early. For those that remain, SIA has to pay them enough to keep them. They need to have enough good pilots as the industry picks up again. You think pilots are like Grab drivers, can next day hire all that you need meh.

Maybe the basic pay should be lowered, but none of us are really in a position to decide. Only SIA knows.

CanIsayNo

yea now many pilots slacking at home still earning that amount while many are slogging in their daily jobs and dont even make half of what they get now

Redberries

Struggling with 13k per month, so sad.

I wonder what sacrifices he has to make.
Maybe eat 1 abalone every meal instead of 2.
After paycut salary still much more than us.

We really the lowest percentile..

bwaysaikryptonite

how about any Pilots kena assign to do social distance ambassador muz be laughing then ? take 6k or wat and do simpler jobs....many sinkies also want

Ghostz

My heart bleed for these poor pilots who earn 13k per month.

Sent from Home using GAGT

My 7 holes bleed for these poor pilots who earn 13k per month and still have the cheek to say not enough.

bwaysaigan

how about any Pilots kena assign to do social distance ambassador muz be laughing then ? take 6k or wat and do simpler jobs....many sinkies also want
Can u change yr dp avatar???? U create confusion for quite a fair bit of edmwer who mistake u as me
N they come wallop me for the posts u made.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.