The bloody ceo and management only took like a 20% pay cut while they retrench their staff and make the others go on basic wage.
Shameless
Is it increase to 30%? Meanwhile Pilots dont know what 60%
The bloody ceo and management only took like a 20% pay cut while they retrench their staff and make the others go on basic wage.
Shameless
大胆 !Downgrade and live like a peasant..
I never understand these people.
What is the point of giving this interview ? Someone read it and want help you ?
Covid disappeared and u got your amazing $23K salary back ?
And besides are u so damn dumb to know your pay is already so high for many despite the cut.
Why you want to get interviewed and get bashed ?
What is your point ?!?
exactly..
why blame the player.. blame the game
but i really pity those trainees
many times they are being laid off those trainees
Bros put it nicely
No one is blaming the Pilots
We are blaming SIA For not playing the game right coz no airlines in the world is pampering their Pilots as such.
We are saving the Govt should not bail out SIA who is squandering the monies that belongs to us
Who did you vote for?
Found it quite weird that he is not on the government's side in this matter. I remember his nick as someone so defensive of the PAP.
Seems like you are making several general assumptions here that do not reflect the real situation.
The only operational pilots that were retrenched are the EP holders/foreigners. That's less than 100 across the whole of SIA.
All the others who are retrenched/gonna be retrenched, are the cheapest cost in SIA - local Singaporean trainee boys - who earn only around $900 a month. Does this make financial sense? The cheapest, youngest, most hungry pilots are retrenched before their careers even took off.
But right now, SIA chose to re-employ the oldest and most expensive Captains above 62, and pay them $13K++ to do nothing at home.
Is SQ saying that a Captain who is 40 cannot do a job as well as a 62-year-old Captain? A Captain is a Captain, regardless the age. So if there is already such a big surplus, what is the point of re-employing the most expensive pilots in the company? What exactly is the pilots' union fighting for? Saving their own rice bowl is it?
If SIA want to keep their pilots with such exorbitant salaries in this national crisis, the pilots remaining in the company better be the BEST of the BEST. If there is a surplus, then only the BEST should remain in the company - all others should be weeded out - in the pecking order of foreigners/PRs/Singaporeans.
Sure, SIA needs pilots to be at the ready when recovery comes - or as per current operation needs. But we all know currently traffic is down by 99.5%, so that means at least 95% of pilots are DOING NOTHING since March and have been collecting an insane amount of money since Covid-19 hit.
Seriously, you telling me that the management couldn't think of a better way to manage these labour costs? You think even if SIA cuts their basic pay to 20% the pilots will quit? Don't kid yourself lah - most of the pilots have no real-life relevant skills in other industries. They will still stick to SIA. And NO OTHER airline in the world is hiring right now - they have NOWHERE to go. SIA is one of the very few airlines in the world being bailed out to such a ridiculous extent by the government.
And you're missing the point here. People are not angry over the salary. People are angry over the fact that the SIA free-riding pilots are getting such high salaries for doing absolutely nothing - while the rest of the country is going through deep recession and seeing high unemployment rates. And the 50-year-old Captain pilot in the article still dare say that 'it's not the right time to cash out his bonds and stocks'. This single statement alone reeks of utter entitlement and shows that this Captain is completely out-of-touch with reality.
So what if a pilot is a special job? It's the most useless and redundant job right now (cargo pilots aside).
They are trolls la.Found it quite weird that he is not on the government's side in this matter. I remember his nick as someone so defensive of the PAP.
Supppse SIA forcibly retrench the older pilots with much higher pay, the retrenchment package per pilot could cost $500K per pax. If 100 pax takes up the offer, thats a $500 million bill.
Having said that SIA is delaying the inevitable. Up to a certain point which should not be that far off, these "high costs" redundant pilots will definitely be cut.
Upgrade from dishwasher to cleaner?How can be all pilots doing nothing? Not happy with certain group or company or government don’t attack all leh. I see flight radar still got a lot of 350s 787s etc flying leh.
Retrenched last in first out is quite common. Idea is they not yet started can still go back previous industries for now, then rehire back later when possible. Rather than retrenched late career where they cannot work in most industries as out of touch. Don’t think small please.
Cannot understand why people need to stir. Say not happy with company but complain the pilots pay. Think really do nothing sit at home and collect money so good meh? Must also think traders who huat or property/insurance agents just sit around and wait for big deals to come their way.
They also need to continue maintain or upgrade skills one leh. Day Traders make a lot within 1hr but they follow news 24/7. Property/insurance agents spend thousands per month to advertise and travel around also.
Please lah, every job got their unique difficulties one. Otherwise everyone can be Ceo, doctors, pilots etc. Not happy can just join them no need stir **** about any profession.
Spend more time upgrade and stop complaining better.
This shows that very important to have a good unionexactly..
why blame the player.. blame the game
but i really pity those trainees
many times they are being laid off those trainees