SQ Pilots many struggling but still earning $6000++ to $13000++

kl2015

Support all your points. If SIA is fully private or run like a listed company that dun need taxpayer or gov bailout i think no people would care even they choose to pay their pilot 100% salary.

Trainee pilot and airline ground staff who are laid off not even getting 50% of salary... assumming their 50% is $1200.

A fair way would be the bottom getting 50% while the top salary get more paycut. If airline operating at 20% they shld get 20%.

If some mgmt people is getting $30k a month. Getting $6k mean he can't get by ? While bottom $2400 salary getting $1200 is good to get by until business resume to a certain level.

u do that they just withdraw from SIA and threaten the govt to leave country and make sure no more funding to PAP, fund opposition instead.

PAP won't want that

kl2015

How can be all pilots doing nothing? Not happy with certain group or company or government don’t attack all leh. I see flight radar still got a lot of 350s 787s etc flying leh.

Retrenched last in first out is quite common. Idea is they not yet started can still go back previous industries for now, then rehire back later when possible. Rather than retrenched late career where they cannot work in most industries as out of touch. Don’t think small please.

Cannot understand why people need to stir. Say not happy with company but complain the pilots pay. Think really do nothing sit at home and collect money so good meh? Must also think traders who huat or property/insurance agents just sit around and wait for big deals to come their way.

They also need to continue maintain or upgrade skills one leh. Day Traders make a lot within 1hr but they follow news 24/7. Property/insurance agents spend thousands per month to advertise and travel around also.

Please lah, every job got their unique difficulties one. Otherwise everyone can be Ceo, doctors, pilots etc. Not happy can just join them no need stir **** about any profession.

Spend more time upgrade and stop complaining better.

stop defending the elites lah, they die, we replace them.
like what they always said if employees is easily replaced

LLiipp

What are other airlines doing?

If other airline also not paying, why are we paying?

This will show why SIA is losing money and bleeding harder compared to other properly managed companies.

torque6

"One pilot has worked as a delivery driver for Lalamove, GOGOX and Ryde since March, after the number of flights he operates was reduced from six to eight a month, to only*once a month. The last time he flew was in April.

My basic pay was not sufficient to cover my monthly expenses and still save. Now, I’m able to get by more comfortably,” said Brian, who declined to reveal his real name. The S$2,000 to S$3,000 he earns from doing deliveries help pay for his insurance, housing payments and car loans, said Brian who is in his 20s."

Sibei steady, time are bad, still need to maintain HIGH SES life style. Got car somemore. LOL. Kumgong to the max.

"For one pilot, having to take a pay cut has forced him to resort to borrowing money to keep his children in overseas universities. He is also trying to sell his car.

The 50-year-old pilot who declined to be named has been with the airline for 27 years. He told TODAY that he is cash-strapped because the money he has earned during the span of his career has been invested in properties, stocks and bonds.

On average, he used to earn S$23,000 a month compared with*S$13,000 these days.

My monthly expenses add up to over S$19,000 a month and it’s not the right time to give up my stocks and bonds and sell my properties because I’ll get nothing. I’ll get a second job, I’ll sell my clothes if I have to,” he said.

This one even more steady. 19K expense a month!! Super high leverage siah.

Give up his stocks and bonds and sell properties, he get nothing ah? Sure or not. LOL. Another kumgong.

Acetone

The article just proves that they are living a luxurious life. Can you imagine having expenses of $19k per month... then saying you don’t want to sell your investment or cut down on expenses when times are bad?

It really pisses people off.. especially when he is benefiting from Govt bailout. Whilst many in the private sector are losing their jobs. lol

eAtNeAt

Nothing we can do. Lhl gave sia a blank cheque without any conditions.
They juz took the offer.

Noesis

The S$2,000 to S$3,000 he earns from doing deliveries help pay for his insurance, housing payments and car loans, said Brian who is in his 20s."

More than 1 car loan? :s11:

torque6

The article just proves that they are living a luxurious life. Can you imagine having expenses of $19k per month... then saying you don’t want to sell your investment or cut down on expenses when times are bad?

It really pisses people off.. especially when he is benefiting from Govt bailout. Whilst many in the private sector are losing their jobs. lol

When times are bad, you make a cut. You downgrade. No choice one. This covid affects a lot of people and is unexpected.

I read oso sibei dulan.

Elite sure is elite siah. When low SES people lose their jobs, it's survival. When Elite, High SES people lose their jobs or have pay cut. It's an inconvenience. That is HARD TRUTH.

More than 1 car loan? :s11:

Should be typo. 2 car loan, making only 2-3k. The pilot prepare to ki chia.

madcampus

No wonder got one time I took normal Grab, one brand new Mercedes CLA come pick me up. :s8:

torque6

No wonder got one time I took normal Grab, one brand new Mercedes CLA come pick me up. :s8:

Struggling to maintain high SES lifestyle obviously.

This is the bad thing about our education system. Everyone uses it. From properties agents to car sales man. They will always use your current pay to calculate affordability.

I chose to use affordability based on passive income a long time ago. Already proven it works.

Batavia King

Dunno why some edmwer so butthurt abt pilots pay when they earn 20k a month.
If i make 20k..why wld i bother with others who make lesser than me.
Or issit jelly cos their sis..gf..mother all say pilot satki??

Lollzzz....

torque6

Dunno why some edmwer so butthurt abt pilots pay when they earn 20k a month.
If i make 20k..why wld i bother with others who make lesser than me.
Or issit jelly cos their sis..gf..mother all say pilot satki??

Lollzzz....

This has nothing to do with being a pilot. It's Elite's mis-management of income and funds and their constant whining kpkb of inconvenience when get pay cut while still receiving higher than average pay. Same problem with the Bah Ku Teh founder.

bwaysaikryptonite

A380 Experience

RESTAURANT A380 @CHANGI
For two days only, our A380 double-decker will be hosting diners. Join us for a memorable dining experience, savouring signature international Singapore Airlines dishes, or a special Peranakan menu designed by acclaimed Singaporean chef, Shermay Lee – all paired with two complimentary alcoholic drinks and free flow of other beverages.

The experience includes over 1,000 entertainment options on KrisWorld, plus a guided aircraft tour of our award-winning interiors furnished by renowned international designers (limited slots available). Customers will also receive an exclusive goodie bag with limited edition SIA collectibles and enjoy discounts for KrisShop items.
Event dates: 24 and 25 October 2020
Bookings open on 12 October 2020

SIA@HOME
Enjoy a taste of Singapore Airlines, delivered to your home. Order a home-dining experience for two created by our world-renowned International Culinary Panel chefs, paired with your choice of wine or champagne.

For a perfect re-creation of our First Class or Business Class experience at home, purchase the all-inclusive package which comes with the exquisite tableware and luxurious amenities available exclusively on board our flights.
Bookings open on 5 October 2020

which kum gong will go ? pilot taste all these food easily while sinkies haf to pay $ to “experience” it lol

Nurse.Vijay

Goes to show if you are useful, society will take care of you. You got skills to fly a plane once air travel resume? If no then just diam diam continue pcw on edmw.

Batavia King

This has nothing to do with being a pilot. It's Elite's mis-management of income and funds and their constant whining kpkb of inconvenience when get pay cut while still receiving higher than average pay. Same problem with the Bah Ku Teh founder.

Common its just a convenient excuse to blame usage of funds..
Everybody will kpkb when pay gt deducted...but its seems to me when its comes to pilots n cabin crew...things just gt magnify many times...

Lile i say..the reason is just plain direct simply jelly for whatever reason..

jack-320

If a pilot suddenly have a life of those living in 2 room that requires financial assistance

Most likely the pilot will commit suicide to end his life

Surrealz

go with the old, in with the new. if old elites like in article didn't go (suicide/dead by crash/disease) how to have new elite replace him

SIA management is keeping all the expensive old fat birds but retrenched all the cheap cheap new young blood ....

go figure....

really elite management style... peasants won't understand

:s13::s13::s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.