SQ Pilots many struggling but still earning $6000++ to $13000++

Laneige

A380 Experience

RESTAURANT A380 @CHANGI
For two days only, our A380 double-decker will be hosting diners. Join us for a memorable dining experience, savouring signature international Singapore Airlines dishes, or a special Peranakan menu designed by acclaimed Singaporean chef, Shermay Lee – all paired with two complimentary alcoholic drinks and free flow of other beverages.

The experience includes over 1,000 entertainment options on KrisWorld, plus a guided aircraft tour of our award-winning interiors furnished by renowned international designers (limited slots available). Customers will also receive an exclusive goodie bag with limited edition SIA collectibles and enjoy discounts for KrisShop items.
Event dates: 24 and 25 October 2020
Bookings open on 12 October 2020

SIA@HOME
Enjoy a taste of Singapore Airlines, delivered to your home. Order a home-dining experience for two created by our world-renowned International Culinary Panel chefs, paired with your choice of wine or champagne.

For a perfect re-creation of our First Class or Business Class experience at home, purchase the all-inclusive package which comes with the exquisite tableware and luxurious amenities available exclusively on board our flights.
Bookings open on 5 October 2020

Covid time where got safe for no2 unless the tableware Bao in package Liao

ylyhyh

Is it fair for taxpayers to support idle SIA pilots with $13k salaries?

When planes are grounded, SIA pilots can't fly and are idle, not working. Why should taxpayers continue to support idle SIA pilots with $13k salaries?

Some of these pilots are damn rich. All they have to do is sell down liquid stocks and bonds to raise money for their lifestyle. Why should taxpayers continue to pay these pilots so that they can hold their investments?

We should have some form of clawback when good times return. What if these pilots quit their jobs later after taking freebies from taxpayers? Some form of clawback must be instituted in the contract.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...a-pilots-become-delivery-drivers-retire-early

BORROWED MONEY TO KEEP CHILDREN IN SCHOOL

For one pilot, having to take a pay cut has forced him to resort to borrowing money to keep his children in overseas universities. He is also trying to sell his car.

The 50-year-old pilot who declined to be named has been with the airline for 27 years. He told TODAY that he is cash-strapped because the money he has earned during the span of his career has been invested in properties, stocks and bonds.

On average, he used to earn S$23,000 a month compared to S$13,000 these days.

“My monthly expenses add up to over S$19,000 a month and it’s not the right time to give up my stocks and bonds and sell my properties because I’ll get nothing. I’ll get a second job, I’ll sell my clothes if I have to,” he said.
Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...a-pilots-become-delivery-drivers-retire-early

mryang

I am sure some earn more as 福利姬 without declaring their pay.

Sent from By Baba yaga At Your Pigu Dong using GAGT

Ultimo_Urien

Is it fair for taxpayers to support idle SIA pilots with $13k salaries?

When planes are grounded, SIA pilots can't fly and are idle, not working. Why should taxpayers continue to support idle SIA pilots with $13k salaries?

Some of these pilots are damn rich. All they have to do is sell down liquid stocks and bonds to raise money for their lifestyle. Why should taxpayers continue to pay these pilots so that they can hold their investments?

We should have some form of clawback when good times return. What if these pilots quit their jobs later after taking freebies from taxpayers? Some form of clawback must be instituted in the contract.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...a-pilots-become-delivery-drivers-retire-early

BORROWED MONEY TO KEEP CHILDREN IN SCHOOL

For one pilot, having to take a pay cut has forced him to resort to borrowing money to keep his children in overseas universities. He is also trying to sell his car.

The 50-year-old pilot who declined to be named has been with the airline for 27 years. He told TODAY that he is cash-strapped because the money he has earned during the span of his career has been invested in properties, stocks and bonds.

On average, he used to earn S$23,000 a month compared to S$13,000 these days.

My monthly expenses add up to over S$19,000 a month and it’s not the right time to give up my stocks and bonds and sell my properties because I’ll get nothing. I’ll get a second job, I’ll sell my clothes if I have to,” he said.
Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...a-pilots-become-delivery-drivers-retire-early

Lol!!!!!!!:s13:

Machiam deposed king but still wanna live the life of a ruler.
Dis type really those self entitled leechers sarkin $ from taxpayers.

Zeltos

I personally think that SQ should let go all foreigners, including PR in the company, regardless their positions in the company. And then, restructure, with Singaporeans fill up all positions in the company.

By doing so, they help to keep jobs for all Singaporean, and justify the cash payout by Pinky.

danguard

I personally think that SQ should let go all foreigners, including PR in the company, regardless their positions in the company. And then, restructure, with Singaporeans fill up all positions in the company.

By doing so, they help to keep jobs for all Singaporean, and justify the cash payout by Pinky.

could be some partnerships or tie ups that we might not be aware of so they cannot do so

cutekawaii

Pilots will grow tired mingling with pretty Air Stewardess. Need to meet some aunties once in a while. Bus drivers have a more balanced work life.

Beedio

Satki 19K expenses, can even complain when getting free 13K for doing nothing.

No wonder some people $$$LOVE SG$$$ so much, really ish paradise for them but nightmare prison camp for others. :o

kl2015

Sometimes I wonder if the media purposely wants to sabo these people

good what, so that we know the real face of this elites, other than sob stories.

but with consequences rah, he will influence ppl withdraw share from news that report this till they shut down

kl2015

I don't think we are complaining about their salary. Well, if SIA can afford it and people are willing to pay for the price of the tickets.

Most of us are just so disgusted that they claim to be in dire states because of their salary reduction which even after the reduction is still many times of commoners. Now is unprecedented times, tell me who doesn't suffer at all? Are they saying other people can suffer but not them?

thats what elites think, you suffer yr problem but if I suffer I will quit country let u all jobless

kl2015

My job is more important than yours, really elitists mindset. Probably they look down on cleaners also.

yah, if u don't I ask ppl boycott PAP and make sure opposition win
or quit country ensure all jobless

kl2015

I tot EDMW all high pay one? Why are so many bashing the pilots? Sounds like a lot of jealous people lol.

I read the article and not a single one had a sense of entitlement. Just stories about how they coped with the pay cut.

People earn a good living driven by market forces also cannot, want to wish them the worse. This is typically low SES thinking leh.

Even the seemingly high basic pay needs to be taken in context. Many pilots have been retrenched already. Many also were given the option to leave early. For those that remain, SIA has to pay them enough to keep them. They need to have enough good pilots as the industry picks up again. You think pilots are like Grab drivers, can next day hire all that you need meh.

Maybe the basic pay should be lowered, but none of us are really in a position to decide. Only SIA knows.

do we care? we don't.
elites never suffer at all, and now suffer abit complain complain when normal citizen suffer for years,
should have make elite suffer till they scare to become elite.
everyone wants a good living, but his complain is too much.
13k SGD more than enough if sell off both his properties
his properties sell off money can pay his children education.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.