SQ Redemption Devaluation

swatchie

I could find 4 J saver on the flight quoted above, but since you could not confirm your dates 355 days out, I guess you're stuck to waitlisting. In fact, even as of now, there are still 2 J savers available. 2 probably got taken up in the past 4 hours.

Yep I'll probably have to stick to waitlisting. Even if I could plan my leave a year in advance, I wouldn't want to fly on a Sunday. Flying on Fri or Sat (9 & 10 Mar 2018, which incidentally do not have any savers at all) would allow me to maximize my time there :D

dahnoob

what F or J? sorry i am a newbie to miles game.
i flying every year. i want to book a ticket to Europe, but to London it cost 136k after discount, while i am 6k short.

F = First
J = Business
Number of pax = self explanatory

Nobody can help you if you don't give those details, for the plans for a single traveler flying first is entirely different from a family of 4 flying economy.

If you're 6k short, just buy some SPG Starpoints and transfer to KF at 1:1.

Yep I'll probably have to stick to waitlisting. Even if I could plan my leave a year in advance, I wouldn't want to fly on a Sunday. Flying on Fri or Sat (9 & 10 Mar 2018, which incidentally do not have any savers at all) would allow me to maximize my time there :D

You're not getting my point. Someone else said SIN-CHC is defaulted to waitlist, and I was trying to prove that it wasn't. If you wanted to fly on 10 Mar 2018, you needed to book yesterday, 21 Mar 2017. The trick is to book exactly T+355 days out, when they just release the dates for booking.

bencheongcm

F = First
J = Business

Nobody can help you if you don't give those details, for the plans for a single traveler flying first is entirely different from a family of 4 flying economy.

You're not getting my point. Someone else said SIN-CHC is defaulted to waitlist, and I was trying to prove that it wasn't. If you wanted to fly on 10 Mar 2018, you needed to book yesterday, 21 Mar 2017. The trick is to book exactly T+355 days out, when they just release the dates for booking.

Agreed on this point. If not you probably need to wait till 1 week before flying to get a confirm ticketed flight based on my experience.

AMD_FREAK

F = First
J = Business

Sorry off topic! Where to buy SPG Starpoints at the lowest price?

TribleBoob

i just did a rough calculation.
e.g. to sydney one way
it changed from 46,750 miles + $172 to 58,000 miles
so in the new system, it's like i am selling my miles at 172/11250 = 1.5 cents.
it's not that bad isn't it?

elnewbie

KNN ! It's not even midnight yet and the website already updated to the new redemption levels !

elnewbie

You looking in reverse. When buying, 1.5 cents is a good deal. When selling, 1.5 cents is an awful deal.

i just did a rough calculation.
e.g. to sydney one way
it changed from 46,750 miles + $172 to 58,000 miles
so in the new system, it's like i am selling my miles at 172/11250 = 1.5 cents.
it's not that bad isn't it?

ykeen

KNN ! It's not even midnight yet and the website already updated to the new redemption levels !

no leh, i still used the discounted rate from 1150hrs-0000hrs (actually until 0004hrs) as I already added and was checking out to the payment page..

lyndonmaxewell

80f5fcd33b2e4e299685dbe508eeea80.png

Woohoo! Just did 6X suites redeemption earlier for the whole family!

elnewbie

For business class, you should be looking at 6-7 cents.

It's like as though your house worth $1M and I'm forcing you to sell to me at 250k, and you don't have a choice.

really? how much should I sell?
i thought the fair price is 2 cents per mile

juxtaposition

But I notice for Long haul flight, the miles required is more than 15% miles discount but the extra miles cost is about $0.03miles

For short haul flight, the miles required is exactly 15% miles discount but the extra miles cost is higher, about $0.06/miles

Eg: Long haul
SIN-BCL needs 59500miles but now need 76000miles, which is about 28% more miles but the cash payment is difference of $423.80 ($0.03/mile)

Eg: short haul
SIN-MLE needs 31450miles but now need 37000miles, which is exactly 15% more miles but the cash payment is difference of $306 ($0.06/miles)

chopra

For business class, you should be looking at 6-7 cents.

It's like as though your house worth $1M and I'm forcing you to sell to me at 250k, and you don't have a choice.
Broker sell 2.5
Sia selling 4.0usd
U wan sell 6-7?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.