ST Engineering

spiritGate

qft

when stocks fly, all the big cannon fairies all come out.

stock market go down, suddenly forum become quiet.

For me ok la, if got ppl want to become big cannon fairy, let them be. After all only those who really bought, huat big big. Of course, those who still have paper loss, I believe just continue holding it, you will still huat in the end

henryscy

qft

I no alibaba... :( :sad:

2.jpg

Biogentic

hiaz.. me worst, let go @ 3.65 for 16lots which i bought it at an avg price of 3.55. Didnt know it can rise till so high. i still have 4 lots with me which i purchased quite long ago but at a high price of 3.7x using OCBC Blue Chip Plan.
Now there are really nothing seemingly a good buy.

Biogentic

qft

i tend to agree with you. last time when the stock was at 3.8-4dollars, about 1-2yrs back, i followed and bought a few lots for holding. subsequently, ste didnt do very well, the price slum to 3.2x and many condemned the stock as too expensive, lousy stock and whats not but just 3mths ago, the price is raise aggressively and everyone come out and say how good the stock is. the fundamental 2yrs ago compared to now did not change.

eveee99

Ya lor, guess maybe its human nature
When the stock goes down they become fearful
Now the stock goes up they turn greedy and wanna buy

Still holding to my 6,000 shares
Current yield is 4% or less
If the yield comes down to 3% i may sell, rotate the $$ to reits or telco

No wonder we keep hearing Time in the market is more important than timong the market.

Sometimes, i just feel like shutting down the laptop for as long as possible. 😀

Perisher

Time in the market is definitely more efficient than timing the market.

blankk

In 2011 there was the european crisis... I had friends who has missed the 2008-2009 fire sale... I recommended them to buy banks and telco blue chips to keep for dividends...

yet they say dun want... want to wait for market crash then buy..
now 2015 liao... 4 years and they still holding cash and waiting for crash...

if they had invested and collect a 5% dividend yield they would be at least 20% up now... not counting capital gains...

even if the market crashes 20%... the buy and hold approach would still beat their market timing.....

thus..TIME > Timing

if you really got capital and holding power... you don't really care about market timing...like if you buy a basket of solid blue chips like STE and telcos and get 4-5% yield... every year collect dividends u song song already

even market crash 50% so what? just close your eyes and collect dividends lor.. you can't lose unless you are forced to sell out cheap

GG

ya, can wait 10 years or so, ride out the storm, in the end win.. think like patient investor not impatient trader

anyway, your friend is wahkao3?

Perisher

even market crash 50% so what? just close your eyes and collect dividends lor.. you can't lose unless you are forced to sell out cheap

Golden words. Provided the company you picked can survived one, not some enron, C, lehman etc...

MikeL09

Let me put things into perspective here.

When you lost your money in a stock market, nobody is going to feel your pain and cry with you. It is a harsh fact of life. You go to one corner and cry yourself. Nothing wrong with that. Which explains the relative quiet in a bear market. When there’s an upturn, morale rides high, volume increases, and retail investors are just happy to come out from hiding and share in the joy. Nothing wrong with that too. I don’t think people - ‘hakkinnen’, 'Dividend Warrior' (he’s in the Stock Investing Hall of Fame, mind you!:D) or myself, for that matter - are boasting when they post about their stocks suddenly doing well. It is just human nature to want to celebrate with one another.

There is no need to start using labels like ‘big cannon fairy’.:s8: This is a bit ‘extra’ as the Z-Generationers would say it. If people post to wail that their stocks have crashed, are you then going to call them ‘cry baby fairy’ or say they are making a ‘Mourning portal’ out of Hardware Zone? To those who have that high-handed 'big cannon fairy' mindset, my advice is, be careful what you say lest you become a loose cannon.

berieng

gong xi gong xi

I had 8000

sold 2000 to lock in some profits

still keeping 6,000 for long term

current dividend yield 4.1%, less attractive but still decent

What caused the share price to go up today? Any idea?

MikeL09

Volume was rather low past couple of trading days, which leads me to think some employees/ insiders probably had gotten wind of the results and bought in causing the slight spike in price.

cyl1987

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/sg/article/st-engineering-injects-more-capital-us-units

SINGAPORE (May 20): ST Engineering is injecting more capital into its US subsidiaries.

ST Engineering, the integrated manufacturing group, said Vision Technologies Aerospace Incorporated has injected US$2.06 million ($2.72 million) and US$995,000 into the capital of its wholly owned subsidiaries, Aviation Academy of America, Inc (AAA) and VT Aviation Services, Inc (VTAS) respectively.

This would bring VT Aerospace’s total investments in AAA and VTAS to US$2.86 million and US$996,000 respectively.

ST Engineering also revealed it was Vision Technologies Systems which injected US$3.05 million into the capital of VT Aerospace, to fund the capital injection into AAA and VTAS.

Marketed as part of ST Aerospace’s global network, AAA works in tandem with ST Aerospace's commercial pilot training academy, to offer an integrated suite of pilot training services to customers around the world.

ST Engineering said the capital injections are not expected to have any material impact on its consolidated net tangible assets per share and earnings per share for the current financial year.

The stock closed flat at $3.60 today.

going to have a further downfall tomolo??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.