ST Engineering

Keverus

I dunno any situation where I can only choose between buy and sell so I have never thought about it. Doing nothing is a perfectly viable choice. =:p

that's felix aka obama for you. if u hold a bull view of the stock, u must buy. if u hold a bear view, you must short. ;)

Biogentic

Our dear Keverus don't like to hear this!

haha, i have 10 lots of ST Engineering, for every counter, there are bound to be bearish and bullish view. even professional analyst in brokerage firms differ among their view. just go for those that you think are strong blue chip. there are no right or wrong.

dork32

keverus is pretty much indifferent since he has no position on st eng.

keverus still holds a bearish view on st eng.

keverus' last check on st eng shows that the stock has languised back to 3.34.

st eng drop 0.2% today. you say st eng languish, bearish coz you dont like st eng. sti dropped close to 1%, st eng did not perform too badly

silverlake drop by 2.6% yesterday, you say can load some more becoz coz you like silverlake. sti dropped by 0.03% yesterday. silverlake perform quite badly compared to sti.

dork32

you say st eng pe is 20. too high so bad
you say keppel corp pe is 8. low so good

but silverlake pe is 25. why is it good?

it is just you use certain numbers to highlight the points that you want to drive at. and hide those numbers when you feel it does not support your argument.

i tend to agree with the obama guy. which you can use his statement to defend your argument now.

you are very bias towards certain shares.

winorlose

now kev now pro investor liao sia.. can crunch numbers like CFA-certified

okt biz must be damn good until play shares now.

if you dont like him, just add to ignore list. easy...

seriously, if u can go pass CMFAS exams then go ask admin ban pple la. No need to take all, take 1B, 6A&B can liao.

Rules & Regulations

Module
Table of Content
Module 1A
Rules and Regulations for Dealing in Securities (SGX-ST Members)
Module 1B
Rules and Regulations for Dealing in Securities (Non-SGX-ST Members)
Module 2A
Rules and Regulations for Trading in Futures Contracts (for members of the Singapore Exchange Derivatives Trading Limited (“SGX-DT”))
Module 2B
Rules and Regulations for Trading in Futures Contracts (for members of the Singapore Mercantile Exchange (“SMX”))
Module 3
Rules and Regulations for Fund Management
Module 4A
Rules and Regulations for Advising on Corporate Finance
Module 4B
(Solely Debt Securities)
Module 5
Rules and Regulations for Financial Advisory Services
Module 10
Rules and Regulations for REIT Management, with Product Knowledge
& Analysis

Product Knowledge & Analysis

Module
Table of Content
Module 6
Securities Products and Analysis
Module 6A
Securities and Futures Product Knowledge
Module 8
Collective Investment Schemes
Module 8A
Collective Investment Schemes II
Module 9
Life Insurance and Investment-linked Policies
Module 9A
Life Insurance and Investment-linked Policies II

Keverus

st eng drop 0.2% today. you say st eng languish, bearish coz you dont like st eng. sti dropped close to 1%, st eng did not perform too badly

silverlake drop by 2.6% yesterday, you say can load some more becoz coz you like silverlake. sti dropped by 0.03% yesterday. silverlake perform quite badly compared to sti.

read what biogentic said below:
haha, i have 10 lots of ST Engineering, for every counter, there are bound to be bearish and bullish view. even professional analyst in brokerage firms differ among their view. just go for those that you think are strong blue chip. there are no right or wrong.

yes, i will support buying silverlake axis even tho it dropped yesterday and performed badly compared to index. i can come up with reasons why it dropped that day.

similarly, even when st eng ran up abit, i still refuse to support buying it. similarly, i can come up with reasons why it went up (actually, it's just buyback).

i'm not trying to pick a fight here. this forums exist to discuss views. sometimes my views are right, other times, they are wrong. that is the case for everyone, even Buffett. so I don't know why some of you are trying to start a pissing contest with me.

i hardly see the relevance of statements like "Our dear Keverus don't like to hear this! " :s8:

but is is alright, i dont aim to please; and neither should anyone. if you like st eng, buy lor. only time will tell who is right, who is wrong. :o

Keverus

you say st eng pe is 20. too high so bad
you say keppel corp pe is 8. low so good

but silverlake pe is 25. why is it good?

tech stock with high ROI.

it is just you use certain numbers to highlight the points that you want to drive at. and hide those numbers when you feel it does not support your argument.

that's an opinion of yours.

i tend to agree with the obama guy. which you can use his statement to defend your argument now.

ok.

you are very bias towards certain shares.

point? of course everyone has certain bias.

winorlose

all these **** happened suddenly we have keverus coming in to troll.. haiyo.. edmw not enough for him..

Keverus

now kev now pro investor liao sia.. can crunch numbers like CFA-certified

okt biz must be damn good until play shares now.

if you dont like him, just add to ignore list. easy...

seriously, if u can go pass CMFAS exams then go ask admin ban pple la. No need to take all, take 1B, 6A&B can liao.

Rules & Regulations

Module
Table of Content
Module 1A
Rules and Regulations for Dealing in Securities (SGX-ST Members)
Module 1B
Rules and Regulations for Dealing in Securities (Non-SGX-ST Members)
Module 2A
Rules and Regulations for Trading in Futures Contracts (for members of the Singapore Exchange Derivatives Trading Limited (“SGX-DT”))
Module 2B
Rules and Regulations for Trading in Futures Contracts (for members of the Singapore Mercantile Exchange (“SMX”))
Module 3
Rules and Regulations for Fund Management
Module 4A
Module 4B
(Solely Debt Securities)
Module 5
Rules and Regulations for Financial Advisory Services
Module 10
Rules and Regulations for REIT Management, with Product Knowledge
& Analysis

Product Knowledge & Analysis

Module
Table of Content
Module 6
Securities Products and Analysis
Module 6A
Securities and Futures Product Knowledge
Module 8
Collective Investment Schemes
Module 8A
Collective Investment Schemes II
Module 9
Life Insurance and Investment-linked Policies
Module 9A
Life Insurance and Investment-linked Policies II

i nvr proclaim to be pro, zai, or anything.

at least not here.

edmw is a diff matter. if you want to bring that in, then i guess, ok, you got me.

Keverus

all these **** happened suddenly we have keverus coming in to troll.. haiyo.. edmw not enough for him..

quote me a post of me trolling in SSI.

if you wanna quote anything in the sgx thread (money mind), kindly note i made that thread in edmw, some mod shifted it, i'm now appealing to move it back to edmw.

dork32

read what biogentic said below:

yes, i will support buying silverlake axis even tho it dropped yesterday and performed badly compared to index. i can come up with reasons why it dropped that day.

similarly, even when st eng ran up abit, i still refuse to support buying it. similarly, i can come up with reasons why it went up (actually, it's just buyback).

i'm not trying to pick a fight here. this forums exist to discuss views. sometimes my views are right, other times, they are wrong. that is the case for everyone, even Buffett. so I don't know why some of you are trying to start a pissing contest with me.

i hardly see the relevance of statements like "Our dear Keverus don't like to hear this! " :s8:

but is is alright, i dont aim to please; and neither should anyone. if you like st eng, buy lor. only time will tell who is right, who is wrong. :o

yes, like i said, you continue to support silverlake coz you like it.

yes like i said, you continue to be bearish towards despite positive news as quoted by biogeniz, despite the share buyback, coz you dont like the counter.

no, i dont care whether you please anyone or not. i am not trying to pick a fight as well.

i am just saying that you are bias in the statements that you have made.

Keverus

yes, like i said, you continue to support silverlake coz you like it.

yes like i said, you continue to be bearish towards despite positive news as quoted by biogeniz, despite the share buyback, coz you dont like the counter.

no, i dont care whether you please anyone or not. i am not trying to pick a fight as well.

i am just saying that you are bias in the statements that you have made.

of course all of us have some bias. it is this bias that will push us to click the button to buy/sell a stock.

as long as our bias are supported, i dont see the issue.

dork32

point? of course everyone has certain bias.

correct, everyone has certain biasness. but a statement made by someone that is bias is not worth listening.

we should make comments based on facts and not bias.

Keverus

correct, everyone has certain biasness. but a statement made by someone that is bias is not worth listening.

we should make comments based on facts and not bias.

erm, i said that as long as our biasness are supported (by facts), there is no issue.

are we having ang moh class now?

dork32

of course all of us have some bias. it is this bias that will push us to click the button to buy/sell a stock.

as long as our bias are supported, i dont see the issue.

if bias is well supported, then it is not called bias, it is called facts.

it is when facts are positive, you still view it negatively, this is bias.
it is when facts are negative, you still view it positively, this is bias.

Keverus

ok, i'm not going into this. this is just going to turn into some ang moh class. kthxbye

dork32

ok, i'm not going into this. this is just going to turn into some ang moh class. kthxbye

if your red hair cannot make it, then you soot cheque der red hair pictionary. you soot nod juz cum hear an anyhow pos.

Keverus

ok let's do this then.

bias is just our preferences towards things, in this context, a stock.

our bias/preference is supported by facts. facts are dead and do not have any direction. an example: ST ENg has a PE of 20. this is a fact, it is neither a buy nor a sell call.

we interpret facts as we see it. To some, that PE is high; to others, that PE is low. but those are not facts, the only fact is that ST Eng has a pe of 20.

to put it simply:
1. we look at facts (PE 20)
2. we interpret as we deem appropriate
3. we form our bias (buy/hold/sell)

dork32

ok let's do this then.

bias is just our preferences towards things, in this context, a stock.

our bias/preference is supported by facts. facts are dead and do not have any direction. an example: ST ENg has a PE of 20. this is a fact, it is neither a buy nor a sell call.

ok you wanna learn ang mo from me. this is the dictionary definition of bias
a particular tendency, trend, inclination, feeling, or opinion, especially one that is preconceived or unreasoned

if bias is supported by facts, it is not unreasoned so it is not bias

dork32

ok let's do this then.

to put it simply:
1. we look at facts (PE 20)
2. we interpret as we deem appropriate
3. we form our bias (buy/hold/sell)

pe 20 is a fact correct.
it is up to u to interpret
we form an opinion based on facts, not bias, you take actions (buy hold or sell)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.