Standard Chartered annual fee story

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

wongminmin

Was there usage of the card after posting of the annual fee?
yes, just clear the remaining cashback balance.

scb users been facing this since last oct...... so this is their new stance. No point staying.

$200 fees, need to clock more than 10k spending... then consider wuhua.

zuppeur

cannot cancel.
Need to pay the fees then can cancel.
i tried app, chat, call.... all cannot.

i think i spend almost 20~40k also cannot waive :rolleyes:

did you use the sc app to ask for wavier?

from what i read on fb
suppose july scb charge you the AF and you use the card on july , then you lan lan have pay the AF.
if you didnt use the card on july then can ask for cancellation without fee

coyote

Nope. No waiver allowed on mobile app. I'll just call in to cancel.

I thought my spending was below $10k but actual spend $12k no waiver for SCB Journey which should be considered entry level card.

Too bad. Just cancel.

wongminmin

did you use the sc app to ask for wavier?

from what i read on fb
suppose july scb charge you the AF and you use the card on july , then you lan lan have pay the AF.
if you didnt use the card on july then can ask for cancellation without fee
maybe coolhead can try this method, and let others know....

I feel their stance very firm. lol

Scp173

Some bank deduct from ur bal
Some is add into ur limit making u over limit

ZaiNan

Which association or CASE can write in to complain on such matter?

In times of high inflation is this even allow for banks to implement more misery to common peasants???

coolhead

maybe coolhead can try this method, and let others know....

I feel their stance very firm. lol
I tried liao but cannot waive. I wonder how much spending is required to waive for entry level card lol. I've not used the card ever since the annual fee kicked in.

Waiting for the app to show only the annual fee charges as outstanding then I call in.

zuppeur

I tried liao but cannot waive. I wonder how much spending is required to waive for entry level card lol. I've not used the card ever since the annual fee kicked in.

Waiting for the app to show only the annual fee charges as outstanding then I call in.

sc policy bery rigid one
you have to clear all outstanding first incl the AF then can cancel the card. dun clear confirm cannot cancel.

SC will then work around to refund you the annual fee. i think i read something along the line, someone complain in their fb

coolhead

sc policy bery rigid one
you have to clear all outstanding first incl the AF then can cancel the card. dun clear confirm cannot cancel.

SC will then work around to refund you the annual fee. i think i read something along the line, someone complain in their fb
Definitely have to clear all charges first except the annual fee plus GST.

pentium_f

Happened to me a few months ago.
not allowed to cancel unless pay my annual fee. (I never owe them any money)
i lodge a complain to MAS and told them i was forced to subscribe a credit card when i want to cancel.
within 2 days SCB guai guai call me and told me the card is cancelled, no need pay annual fee

SpicyBird

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.
obviously this person is not knowledgeable enough. Credit card annual fees is actually "prepaid". That mean when a bank bill you an annual fee, that fee that u are paying is actually paying for next year usage of the card. So ultimately u only need to clear your outstanding bills less the annual fees then u can cancel your card already. this apply the same to mobile bills as well. although mobile plan are called "post-paid" but u're actually paying in advance and all banks and telcos work this way. Because this is a protective measure that they scare you "赖账“ nv pay the bills then they suck thumb. so they make customers pay in advance b4 they get to use it.

SpicyBird

Happened to me a few months ago.
not allowed to cancel unless pay my annual fee. (I never owe them any money)
i lodge a complain to MAS and told them i was forced to subscribe a credit card when i want to cancel.
within 2 days SCB guai guai call me and told me the card is cancelled, no need pay annual fee
next time just lodge a police report.

Hyruga

SC sux.

They charged annual fee and then they don't even let you cancel the account until you fully paid up.

Ivan88

I call the SC hotline 6747-7000, can’t even get thru any customer officer to talk about this issue.
They charge me annual fee, I am unable to waive it thru SC app, call in the number also can’t get any office to talk to. Do they have “speak to customer officer” option in the hotline?

Feel disappointing and never experience such thing before.

call in the hotline is to get someone to talk to, end up the system automatically hang up the phone call.

alph4tang0

With SCB for many years, waived all the way, but recently classified me as 'ineligible' to waive annual fees. Going to cancel all their cards soon once clear outstanding amount less the annual fee

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.