Standard Chartered annual fee story

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

weng0202

While mine is not related to annual fee, I want to feedback on their late and interest charge too

it slipped my mind to pay my credit card on the due date and I got an sms alert 1 week later on it.
Realising my oversight, i immediately paid the amount and requested for the waiver of late charge and interest charge. They agree to waive the late charge but refused to waive on the interest.

I called the CS and explained to them that i have a bank bal with them that it is more than enough to pay my credit card amt and hence it is not a funding issue. It is an oversight on my part and I immediately paid once I realised it upon their alert.

The CS helped to put up a request which is again rejected by their credit dept.

So i decided to pay up all my current spend even though it is not due yet and cancel my card.

BUT, they dont allow me to cancel my card as there is still the outstanding balance from the interest charge!

Really unbelievable and disappointing to be with such a bank for the past 15 years!

And yes, talking to the CS is useless as they are just the lower level staff. Even asking to speak to their mgr to esculate is useless as they told me that they cannot escalate since the decision is final! Really very high handed
I think for your case, at least they cancel the late charge fees. It is reasonable for scb to charge you interest since you didn't pay at all. That's how banks earn money from credit cards. Even if you paid the min amount, they will charge interest for the remaining outstanding.

I have paid late before but it's only one day after the deadline but scb didn't charge me interest or late fees.

purplewave

heard so many stories here, moi canceled moi card liao, better than to face all these issues

IAmChiobu12M

All along I can waive. This year suddenly say I am ineligible despite using the card for last 6 yrs and every mth at least charged 1k all these years.

I'm using the spree card which is no longer available to sign up. I suspect they want to complete discontinue this card so don't let me waive.

The only option I get is:

1. Terminate and pay o/s then no need pay fees.

2. Pay and continue use the card.

Wtf?

sacrificium

Since when want to cancel still need to pay the annual fee one.. unless there’s some other story we don’t know of..

Just keep escalating not end of world, that person seems to be worrying too much..

probably is just some lousy customer service staff that she had encountered with.. but yea it’s a waste of time..
No leh, happened to many people. Customer service officer said they submit request for waiver but rejected, then claim that they can’t close the account with outstanding amount. So the credit officer keep calling to chase for payment, but say they are not in charge if waiving annual fee. Ask customers to contact other parties or say they help customers put up request but got rejected.

sacrificium

All along I can waive. This year suddenly say I am ineligible despite using the card for last 6 yrs and every mth at least charged 1k all these years.

I'm using the spree card which is no longer available to sign up. I suspect they want to complete discontinue this card so don't let me waive.

Wtf?
Very common. You wait a while more, the credit officer will call you to chase for payment and say they do not have the ability to waive charges.

sacrificium

Still have balance meaning negative or positive ?

If negative, you cannot pay the amount using AXS first then cancel meh ?

If positive, you cannot go 7-11 buy something using paywave first meh ?

Why need to pay annual fee ?
The balances are the annual fee. Once they charged the annual fees, you can’t cancel the card without them waiving the annual fees first or you paying the annual fees first.

ctan84

Wtf?
Get yourself upgraded to at least priority banking and you won't have such nonsense happening.

maxmike

Wtf?
If you are working, just cancel and apply other bank credit card with your pay slip, why die die must hold on to this CC credit card?

sacrificium

I just find it very sneaky. The CSO purposely tell me to pay first when I want to cancel, they never mentioned that I can request for refund. I think the top management instructing the CSO to do this way.

Only when I call after get the card cancelled then the CSO said that she can request for refund. Maybe they don't dare to chut this stunt now after people complaining to MAS.
Same, that’s the same that I heard their CSO scamming customers this way as well, force them to pay up the annual fees if not, bad credit on the customers. And they keep saying they can cancel after customers paid, but didn’t highlight that customers are entitled to refund of the annual fees after cancellation.

VEF888

Ya
I also dont quite understand this cancellation logic
I every year also pay for my sc cc annual fee
I never ask them waive off before
I mean, got convenient, got cashback, give something bank earn will die meh
When u sign the cc u already know will have annual fee, dont want pay then dont sign la

banks already earning tons from the fees they charge the merchants, 3%? on every transaction.
and unfavorable exchange rates every time forex is involves, which is at least 5%.

one should never pay for these annual fees, just keep cards you need and use frequently, the banks have already done their sum and know they can benefit more by waiving the fees vs. loss of income from cancellation.

stillgottheblues

I closed the credit card service 2 months ago and they did not even bother to give me back the extra money inside. Really zhao kuan bank.

Disaresta

even SCB Smart going to have annual fee soon. going to cancel all SCB CC before even giving them the chance to charge

IAmChiobu12M

If you are working, just cancel and apply other bank credit card with your pay slip, why die die must hold on to this CC credit card?
I like it is 2% Cashback with no minimum spent. Easy no brainer don't need think.

Solidus_GZ

Well somebody would cancel and sign again but there is someone who had those card link to their recuring payment and it will be a hassle to change Cc again for those payment

XiaoJinLing

I closed the credit card service 2 months ago and they did not even bother to give me back the extra money inside. Really zhao kuan bank.
I closed the card account paying all the outstanding... then still kept on sending me statement (letterbox) saying I got balance of sgd0.69 to my credit (think my closed Manhattan card got rebate)... i call up to ask lor... they say either I jus write off to them or they jus give to me... cannot jus give to my other scb card... only way to give cheque... they jus send the cheque of sgd0.69 to me n jus quick drop lor

AndreFLo

I just canceled my sc credit card couple of weeks back. Really a pain to deal with this bank. You can’t even cancel the card if you have outstanding fees (eg annual fee) due to them!

Luckily the cs on the hotline managed to help me waive the annual fee and I managed to cancel in the end. No more sc cards for me

zuppeur

even SCB Smart going to have annual fee soon. going to cancel all SCB CC before even giving them the chance to charge

where you get this info? if got annual fee, i want cancel too

ok i saw the latest update for dec 2025.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.