Standchart eSaver

ctan84

Yup facial recognition + security key is probably the best practice. I'm highly against SMS or token OTP since it is the weakest of the link too. Sometimes not even sure what the OTP is used for since it's not clear, and requires an additional step to rekey in to a site.
All these banking apps have the option of using thumb print to access leh. Isn't that the safest liao?

ctan84

there could be zero day exploits that may be able to compromise it, but usually it should be safe
Im still sticking to my more primitive way of using banking apps for my main accounts on a spare phone that has no communication apps (whatsapp etc) or data plan / sim card. Meanwhile, the banking app on my day to day phone is just a throw away account with a max of $150.

CrashWire

Im still sticking to my more primitive way of using banking apps for my main accounts on a spare phone that has no communication apps (whatsapp etc) or data plan / sim card. Meanwhile, the banking app on my day to day phone is just a throw away account with a max of $150.
But your spare phone still has wifi access? Is your spare phone on the latest iOS/Android version?

Would it be possible that someone who has backdoor access to your phone could wait until your spare phone connects to the internet (when you turn it on), then do the hijacking then?

welcomesir

Just curious, if I deposited $20,000 for an eSaver promotion on 1st April 2024, and then withdrew $5,000 on 15th April 2024, would I still receive 3.45% interest on the remaining $15,000 from 16th April to 30th May 2024?

MiloMocha

Just curious, if I deposited $20,000 for an eSaver promotion on 1st April 2024, and then withdrew $5,000 on 15th April 2024, would I still receive 3.45% interest on the remaining $15,000 from 16th April to 30th May 2024?
You will receive the eSaver bonus interest when your average daily balance (ADB) in April is higher than your ADB in March, and only on the incremental balance. The interest calculation is based on the average balance throughout the month.

~sabaisabai~

You will receive the eSaver bonus interest when your average daily balance (ADB) in April is higher than your ADB in March, and only on the incremental balance. The interest calculation is based on the average balance throughout the month.
may i know the bonus interest promo till when?

~sabaisabai~

Esaver - promo is usually valid for 2 mths only, bonus interest is based on incremental ADB compared to Mar (for current promo). Min ADB is 1k to avoid fall below fee, but you can keep zero to avoid it too.
You need to transfer money out after 2 mths as it no longer enjoy bonus interest, unlike Maribank!
but i read the tnc it has fall below fee of $5 if failed to maintain 1k for 6mths?

~sabaisabai~

Wah, for a moment I thought SCB changed tnc! I just checked, if adb fall below $1k, you will be charged $5.

How do you interpret this tnc? Actual practice, I keep zero balance at end of mth, nothing for them to deduct, no fall below fee. Dun fund until the next business day bank business hours.

Some other banks also practice this interpretation, keep zero on last day, no fall below fee - eg ocbc360.

I have 2 accounts, I have to keep zero to make my money work harder elsewhere! Maybe because I do this, I never get invited! :ROFLMAO:

Current promo is for April/May!
Oh.. okay if that works
For OCBC, if zero for 6mths they will auto close..
For sing finance, so far I also leave it zero, nothing for them to deduct. :p
Oh promo from april-may? means left only 1mth for the bonus interest:eek:
I am late for party:ROFLMAO:

sohguanh

Oh.. okay if that works
For OCBC, if zero for 6mths they will auto close..
For sing finance, so far I also leave it zero, nothing for them to deduct. :p
Oh promo from april-may? means left only 1mth for the bonus interest:eek:
I am late for party:ROFLMAO:
If you think they will start new promo in Jun 2024 keep your May 2024 adb low. This mean only left a few days in Apr 2024 to put.

~sabaisabai~

I just keep account active, I have it for donkey years liao at zero!
Not late, promo only 2 mths, I leave zero 2 accounts cos I can earn more elsewhere. I might be back for May only, still good!
Now I am with hsbc ega 4.5%, is better but BI credited 2 mths later. (I answer you here)
Open esaver now still worth, earn BI from now till May, you get April BI on 1May. Then think about it in June comparing new promos of banks in June! Your money is not locked in, all flexibilty to more around/

thank you 😊

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.