Starting Home Assistant (HA) for New Users

ferbulous

I am exploring setting up smart home using HA to control all smart devices. I will be using Alexa and Broadlink. Can they be linked to HA?
Broadlink has an integration and can be added directly
For alexa speakers to control devices added in HA can follow this guide

u_ntitled

So long it is officially supported on the HA compatibility list, I think it should be fine.

I am using the Z-wave stick from Silicom Labs for my digital door lock. But has since decommissioned it, reason being I do not see the need to remotely lock/unlock.
1zN5Wo8.jpg

hi any change you selling the z wave stick?

ferbulous

Thank you for responding.

As I am noob in HA; Is it advisable to get the HA Green?
Not necessary, you can just install on old laptop/pc and test it out first. Later you can just do a backup and restore to a different device

Just need to get sonoff dongle E for both thread & zigbee devices

u_ntitled

Hi guys how do u all automate the toilet lights? I used aqara p1 but sometimes detect no motion and the lights were off. Do i need to use presence sensor instead?

ferbulous

Hi guys how do u all automate the toilet lights? I used aqara p1 but sometimes detect no motion and the lights were off. Do i need to use presence sensor instead?
I used mmwave LD2410.
Since there’s no plugs inside the toilet, i installed sonoff basic r4 on the downlight with LD2410 wired to it.

hkchew03

Magnetic door sensor is far better and stable for toilet usage. Motion sensor will give false negative if you stay stationary while doing big one. You can also add a timer to off it off there are user who dislike closing the door, but they will have to manually switch on the light unless you install motion sensor as dual detection.

Mmwave presence sensor will work as well, but it is more costly and energy demanding, wil need to change battery much more frequently than magnetic door sensor. Plus point is if your toilet is very bright during the day even with door closed, presence sensor can measure the illuminance and you can choose not to switch on the light.

TanKianW

I can only speak for my own setup which may not be relevant to all. Not quite understand why always receive feedback on most motion sensor not suitable for their toilet use. Actually a simple way is to set a longer duration like 15min on your motion sensor will suffice, unless you want zhun zhun to off the lights the moment you stepped out (which is not necessary, like 10G broadband). I am using Aqara motion sensor for my store-room and philips Hue motion sensor in my toilet, both works really well. I find presence sensor that need to connect to a power point kind of overkill and not flexible in deployment.

And of course, I have also done my “extensive studies” that my family members do not pang sai and shower for more than 15 min (except my waifu set 20min) :ROFLMAO: Normally >15min is reading or play mobile games while pang sai, fell into toilet bowl or waste water while showering which requires prompt actions to “kiam pak” liao. ;)

hkchew03

I can only speak for my own setup which may not be relevant to all. Not quite understand why always receive feedback on most motion sensor not suitable for their toilet use. Actually a simple way is to set a longer duration like 15min on your motion sensor will suffice, unless you want zhun zhun to off the lights the moment you stepped out (which is not necessary, like 10G broadband). I am using Aqara motion sensor for my store-room and philips Hue motion sensor in my toilet, both works really well. I find presence sensor that need to connect to a power point kind of overkill and not flexible in deployment.

And of course, I have also done my “extensive studies” that my family members do not pang sai and shower for more than 15 min (except my waifu set 20min) :ROFLMAO: Normally >15min is reading or play mobile games while pang sai, fell into toilet bowl or waste water while showering which requires prompt actions to “kiam pak” liao. ;)
Motion sensor will only work if you everyone do not take long time to do business, as for duration, it depends on the sensor as well, not all motion sensor has this setting. If you are talking about timing light switch off, putting a fix timing duration isn't ideal due to toilet usage might be different. Having lights on for 15minutes just for small business is too long while being too short for big business+shower+brushing?

If it works for you then its fine, but motion sensor definitely isn't the best sensor for toilet usage.

Actually there are already couple of battery powered presence sensor in the market right now as well.

TanKianW

Motion sensor will only work if you everyone do not take long time to do business, as for duration, it depends on the sensor as well, not all motion sensor has this setting. If you are talking about timing light switch off, putting a fix timing duration isn't ideal due to toilet usage might be different. Having lights on for 15minutes just for small business is too long while being too short for big business+shower+brushing?

If it works for you then its fine, but motion sensor definitely isn't the best sensor for toilet usage.

Actually there are already couple of battery powered presence sensor in the market right now as well.

Not all sensor has this setting? You using home assistant?

Just simply set it under automations. There are even ready templates for sensor lights set up.​

hkchew03

Not all sensor has this setting? You using home assistant?

Just simply set it under automations. There are even ready templates for sensor lights set up.​
Nope, not all sensor has refresh setting, some have illuminance tho.
If you talking about automation, that would be light timer isn't it, and not sensor refresh/update.
If it is light timer, then you will have issues i said earlier, either light going out earlier or much later.

TanKianW

Nope, not all sensor has refresh setting, some have illuminance tho.
If you talking about automation, that would be light timer isn't it, and not sensor refresh/update.

You can set sensor to detect every 15 min duration.

hkchew03

I don't think motion sensor works this way, some able to set, some have its only refresh rate. Also if you are siting still while the motion is doing a detection, it will give you false negative. I had plenty of false negative when I installed it in my kitchen even with small cooking/washing movement. Problem solved after changing to presence sensor.

Only way to counter this issue of motion detection is to set lights to off after a long period of time AFTER the motion detect no movement, but that will cause light to go off a long time after you leave as well.

TanKianW

I don't think motion sensor works this way, some able to set, some have its only refresh rate. Also if you are siting still while the motion is doing a detection, it will be false negative.

Well, if it works for you. I have no problem with mine.

You probably want to check out more on HA automations. It is highly customizable unlike most other systems.​

hkchew03

Well, if it works for you. I have no problem with mine.

You probably want to check out more on HA automations. It is highly customizable unlike most other systems.​
I think what you saying is timer for the lights after detection no motion, and not the refresh rate/interval of the motion sensor. As far as I know the refresh rate can only be set in ZHA/MQTT etc, and not automation.

Anyway if it work for you then good, but again its not the idea device for toilet usage. Door sensor are just as cheap and probably more appropriate, provided all user close the door when using.

TanKianW

I think what you saying is timer for the lights after detection no motion, and not the refresh rate/interval of the motion sensor. As far as I know the refresh rate can only be set in ZHA/MQTT etc, and not automation.

Anyway if it work for you then good, but again its not the idea device for toilet usage. Door sensor are just as cheap and probably more appropriate, provided all user close the door when using.

I am not talking about refresh rate/interval in the first place but automations all this while. Your sensor also need to detect "no motion" before activating your light to turn on/off. You just simply set the duration. And it works regardless of whether you adjust the refresh rate/interval.

If you think door sensor is great and works for you, I am happy for you. Coz my family dun close the door while brushing teeth and early morning wash face. And I also want my lights to turn on upon someone entering instead of close door then activate coz I have consideration for elderly to wake up for washroom in the middle of the night. I also do not need zhun zhun for the lights to turn off coz it is not going to save much electricity on my LED lights anyway. And I always think there is more than one way of getting things done, so long it fits your life style. Some automations might even work better with a few sensor working together. As I said initially, my use case may not fit everyone.​

lobukong

Sometimes people may need brush teeth / wash hands without closing the door. If in master room, at night need to close the toilet door for aircon.
I don't think there'll be a good solution for the above 2 scenarios even if use both motion and door sensor.

TanKianW

Sometimes people may need brush teeth / wash hands without closing the door. If in master room, at night need to close the toilet door for aircon.
I don't think there'll be a good solution for the above 2 scenarios even if use both motion and door sensor.

There is no "perfect" solution but "good enough" solution. :ROFLMAO:

Maybe can use a combi of both. Or just install pressure sensor on the toilet bowl cover. Seriously I have thought about that last time. Pang sai then the lights will stay longer! :geek:

Mach3.2

i think best is have a RTSP feed back to cloud, then let a little gremlin in the cloud control your lights for you 🫣

hkchew03

I am not talking about refresh rate/interval in the first place but automations all this while. Your sensor also need to detect "no motion" before activating your light to turn on/off. You just simply set the duration. And it works regardless of whether you adjust the refresh rate/interval.

If you think door sensor is great and works for you, I am happy for you. Coz my family dun close the door while brushing teeth and early morning wash face. And I also want my lights to turn on upon someone entering instead of close door then activate coz I have consideration for elderly to wake up for washroom in the middle of the night. I also do not need zhun zhun for the lights to turn off coz it is not going to save much electricity on my LED lights anyway. And I always think there is more than one way of getting things done, so long it fits your life style. Some automations might even work better with a few sensor working together. As I said initially, my use case may not fit everyone.​
You said so earlier? Which is why i repeatedly point out...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.