Starting OpenWRT on GL.iNet Routers for New Users

TanKianW

jin envy jiak hong in jippun :crazy:

Was supposed to be a full family vacation trip. But in the end took some time driving down to meet up with a bizz partner in Sapporo to talk about some future work (security/networking) and enjoy some hokkaido wine/beer at the same time. Network people tends to network! Typical workaholic. Waifu kpkb again. :ROFLMAO:

BradenHeat

begining to suspect bro tankianW go their do sideline, do OF, and others, then sunbian sell some networking device and do network security, main jot is [ Air Eater ]

Jin SAK KITS MENHZ

BradenHeat

@TanKianW eh lai leh, intro me to your company,

i also wana travel to my wifu country for business as well, viet can boh

every half a year go there then bring different routers shioks menzzz

ps, have you ever, gotten the Unifi express ? can try see if it works as a indirect travel router ?

just a case of curious Cat here lol

halocast

Recently gotten the MT6000 unit to use.

No frills and easy.

Nice. Only no physical off switch? :o

Sometimes want to turn it off.

teoma

not sure if I can post this here, if not, apologies, please let me know and I can remove. thank you!

I was able to get an AX1800 (Flint) and got it set up at my relatives home. She has a SingTel ONR, so I removed the Mesh router that was connected to it, and plugged the cable that used to be connected to the SingTel mesh into the AX1800 WAN port. Was able to configure and browse the web without issue, so that's good.

However, seeing an issue: I'm not able to set up Tailscale. Not sure why, but every time I try to bind the device, I get an error message.

I was able to configured OpenVPN and WireGuard servers on the AX1800 and verified that I could connect to them without issue. On the ONR, I put the Flint in DMZ, but I could not find a way to edit the static IP address table to set it as such unfortunately. The ONR is a Nokia G-240G-E.

Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot?

P.S. Had another issue where I could not bind the device to GoodCloud yesterday, but it finally showed online today. Not sure why...

BradenHeat

not sure if I can post this here, if not, apologies, please let me know and I can remove. thank you!

I was able to get an AX1800 (Flint) and got it set up at my relatives home. She has a SingTel ONR, so I removed the Mesh router that was connected to it, and plugged the cable that used to be connected to the SingTel mesh into the AX1800 WAN port. Was able to configure and browse the web without issue, so that's good.

However, seeing an issue: I'm not able to set up Tailscale. Not sure why, but every time I try to bind the device, I get an error message.

I was able to configured OpenVPN and WireGuard servers on the AX1800 and verified that I could connect to them without issue. On the ONR, I put the Flint in DMZ, but I could not find a way to edit the static IP address table to set it as such unfortunately. The ONR is a Nokia G-240G-E.

Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot?

P.S. Had another issue where I could not bind the device to GoodCloud yesterday, but it finally showed online today. Not sure why...
LOl tailscale , ONR shouldnt matter iirrc @xiaofan any luck on the openwrt for Tailscal before ?

xiaofan

LOl tailscale , ONR shouldnt matter iirrc
@xiaofan
any luck on the openwrt for Tailscal before ?

No issues here with Tailscale and OpwnWRT, but I do not use SingTel ONR. I am using SingTel ONT.

SingTel ONR is not a good match with routers with good features.

Take note using DMZ function from the Singtel ONR just makes it a bit easier (less port forwarding needed) but there is no change to the fact that you are under Double NAT.

Sorry I can not help here.

xiaofan

No issues here with Tailscale and OpwnWRT, but I do not use SingTel ONR. I am using SingTel ONT.
Take note using DMZ function from the Singtel ONR just makes it a bit easier (less port forwarding needed) but there is no change to the fact that you are under Double NAT.

The real workaround is to bridge SingTel provided ONR by the user since SingTel no longer entertains new ONR bridging request since March 2022.

I do not know of any public posted methods to bridge the Nokia ONR but it is said to be possible as per some posts in this forum.

Singtel Optical Network Router (ONR)
1) Huawei HG8244H ONR -- can be bridged, methods posted

2) Huawei HG8240T5 ONR -- can be bridged, methods posted

3) Nokia G240 ONR -- as per reports, can be bridged, methods not posted as far as I know.

4) ZTE F8648P XGS-PON ONR, for 5Gbps/10Gbps, can be bridged with new FW, methods posted

5) ZTE ZXHN F620 ONR, can be bridged, methods posted

6) Huawei OptiXstar V183 ONR -- for Singtel FTTR 10Gbps plan (aggregated 6.5Gbps plan), no point to bridge as it will become 1Gbps plan even if you bridge it. The ONR has only gigabit LAN ports. The slave FTTR unit may not work either if you bridge the main FTTR ONR.

teoma

LOl tailscale , ONR shouldnt matter iirrc @xiaofan any luck on the openwrt for Tailscal before ?
That's what I'm thinking too, especially considering I was able to set up OpenVPN and WireGuard servers on the Flint without issue (and can connect also). Not sure why Tailscale set up got issue. I did run the script to update to the latest before I did any configurations, but not sure why it just hang...

Sadly, no choice, got the Nokia G-240 ONR. I did DMZ to Flint AND also port forwarded 1-65,535 for TCP/UDP to Flint (maybe overkill)? I'm fine with Double NAT since I don't really have a choice.

@teoma

you ish suay, Buay [ teo] ma? lol
teoma actually it means "expert" in Gaelic, but I'm feeling far from it on this right now LOL

The real workaround is to bridge SingTel provided ONR by the user since SingTel no longer entertains new ONR bridging request since March 2022.

I do not know of any public posted methods to bridge the Nokia ONR but it is said to be possible as per some posts in this forum.

Singtel Optical Network Router (ONR)
1) Huawei HG8244H ONR -- can be bridged, methods posted

2) Huawei HG8240T5 ONR -- can be bridged, methods posted

3) Nokia G240 ONR -- as per reports, can be bridged, methods not posted as far as I know.

4) ZTE F8648P XGS-PON ONR, for 5Gbps/10Gbps, can be bridged with new FW, methods posted

5) ZTE ZXHN F620 ONR, can be bridged, methods posted

6) Huawei OptiXstar V183 ONR -- for Singtel FTTR 10Gbps plan (aggregated 6.5Gbps plan), no point to bridge as it will become 1Gbps plan even if you bridge it. The ONR has only gigabit LAN ports. The slave FTTR unit may not work either if you bridge the main FTTR ONR.
I have #3 (Nokia G240), but I've not seen how I can get it done. Can't even set static IP address because the option is grayed out.

What makes it even more complicated is that this relative also subscribes to SingTel TV and Voice, so I'm stuck with SingTel unfortunately. Was thinking to just keep SingTel for TV and Voice, and go with another provider for Internet, but have heard conflicting information, so not sure if feasible/possible.

cyberet

i'm using ST for TV, and VQ for internet, but you'll use up your 2 fibre points so switching ISP is a pain as there will be downtime unless you pay and install additional fibre points or switch back to ST for 2yrs

teoma

i'm using ST for TV, and VQ for internet, but you'll use up your 2 fibre points so switching ISP is a pain as there will be downtime unless you pay and install additional fibre points or switch back to ST for 2yrs
Any idea if voice can stay with ST or must it go with the internet provider?

Also, why is switching ISP a pain? Do you need to cancel ISP A before being able to install ISP B? Not sure I understand the 2 year piece?

xiaofan

What makes it even more complicated is that this relative also subscribes to SingTel TV and Voice, so I'm stuck with SingTel unfortunately. Was thinking to just keep SingTel for TV and Voice, and go with another provider for Internet, but have heard conflicting information, so not sure if feasible/possible.

Yes you can go with Singtel only for TV and other ISPs with Fibre and digital voice.

Singtel will use the ONR to provide Singtel TV service to you. I am not so sure if they will give you a new ONR or keep using the same Nokia ONR.

Why do you need to go with Singtel for voice? I believe you can port Singtel digital voice number to M1/Starhub at least (not so sure about MR/VQ/WC) when changing your Fibre internet to M1/Starhub. Please check with M1/Starhub.

You can check with Singtel on the standalone digital voice pricing if you really have to stay with Singtel.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/more/telephony-services/home-digital-line

Are you still using analog line? In that case, it has nothing to do with the Fibre internet.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/more/telephony-services/home-line

xiaofan

I have #3 (Nokia G240), but I've not seen how I can get it done. Can't even set static IP address because the option is grayed out.

You can check out Singtel and WC thread and I remember people have done that.

For example, user wIndaa claims that he can log into the admin page.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ngtel-nokia-onr-to-bridge-mode.6373260/page-3

Thanks! I did not know i can use my own router in AP mode. but damn.. live with double NAT!? That's a no no

The tech that did my installation2+ years ago simply told me I couldn't use my own router. And since i was on LAN, it isn't a big issue until today when I am looking to improve my wifi signal

I'm aware of how to login to my ONR admin page & am able to switch LAN ports from ROUTER to BRIDGE mode. I have not seen online feedback of ONRs being bricked. Is this really a concern? Why would an ONR get bricked just by toggling admin settings?

teoma

Yes you can go with Singtel only for TV and other ISPs with Fibre and digital voice.

Singtel will use the ONR to provide Singtel TV service to you. I am not so sure if they will give you a new ONR or keep using the same Nokia ONR.

Why do you need to go with Singtel for voice? I believe you can port Singtel digital voice number to M1/Starhub at least (not so sure about MR/VQ/WC) when changing your Fibre internet to M1/Starhub. Please check with M1/Starhub.

You can check with Singtel on the standalone digital voice pricing if you really have to stay with Singtel.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/more/telephony-services/home-digital-line

Are you still using analog line? In that case, it has nothing to do with the Fibre internet.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/more/telephony-services/home-line
Thanks! This is super insightful and helpful!

I'm not married to SingTel for Voice, so could go with another company if needed, I just wasn't sure if I went with an ISP that did not offer Voice, what would be my option with SingTel, from that perspective.

Looking at your other thread, it seems you suggest StarHub or M1 since they both use ONT. If so, I shall look into that. Thanks!

teoma

You can check out Singtel and WC thread and I remember people have done that.

For example, user wIndaa claims that he can log into the admin page.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ngtel-nokia-onr-to-bridge-mode.6373260/page-3

I am able to log into the admin page of the ONR, that's where I set DMZ and port forwarding (but not sure if overkill to also port forward everything after putting the Flint in the DMZ).

In the Network > LAN page, the option for me to switch is all grayed out

But if I go to Network > WAN, it seems like I could switch it to Bridge mode?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.