Geo

kebinu said:
using http://www.fitsense.co.uk/fit_article.php?id=41

Bodyweight 66kg.

Chest Press: 80kg (full motion)
Dead lift: 93kg (full motion)
Squats: 93kg (thighs parallel to ground)

MAybe we can have a pic thread soon? And well, must have a link on how to pose ok?

U are another freak like Rikishi. Pls do not misunderstand, is a compliment. You body weight to the lift ratio are awesome :). Btw, squat should be full squat, i.e ass to ground: http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/Quadriceps/BBFullSquat.html

kebinu

Geo said:
U are another freak like Rikishi. Pls do not misunderstand, is a compliment. You body weight to the lift ratio are awesome :). Btw, squat should be full squat, i.e ass to ground: http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/Quadriceps/BBFullSquat.html
seriously, i dont really know if i can hit those weight.
i use 10 reps to count. May not be accurate lor, somemore u may not know if i'm just boasting.

Will try those weight mentioned someday. (soon)

ps: i check the ratio, i think a bit kua zhang leh. will check. really. very soon

fishbuff

FuryNXG said:
Hi everyone, moderators,

My name Badrun. I am a newbie here and my training buddy Donkier told me about this weight training forum from Singapore. I am from Singapore as well but currently training (and studying) in Melbourne, Australia.
I think fishbuff knows me (is that you Chee Keong? :) ) and i am glad to meet you all on this intense and educational forum. Its great to know other lifters from good old SG :)

I am not sure what is the protocol for newbie postings on this forum. Should i post an intro on the main forum ie start a new thread?
Looking forward to learning and participating in this forum. Hope i can contribute to it as well.

Cheers
FuryNXG aka Badrun

hi Badrun!

nice to see u here.
please share your training pics with us. we need your expertise on powerlifting training technique too. now i kana right shoulder injury. hope to nurse it back by end of the year. I totally drop bodybuilding routine and geared for the strength round. Hope to see u and Shaiful there at the prelims. Seriously, we need you guys back here to prop up the events and increase the competitiveness. i think u will love the 600lb tire flip, really cool!

yes, again, we never have seen asian competing in IPF before.. normally we see angmoh on youtube. U and Doinker did us proud! we cheer you on!

cheers!

galapogos

Hi kebinu! I'll add those to the list, except the squats, since squats are supposed to be ATG, not //. You're right in that the 1RM calculator isn't 100% accurate, and accuracy drops once you start doing more reps. I think there's a sweet spot somewhere where accuracy is highest, but anyway, it's just for fun and not meant to be 100% accurate anyway. Good lifts anyway!

edit: oh btw noticed that you are using a different 1RM calculator. I plugged in my lifts and they seem to be similar to the one that everyone else is using, but do try to use the one posted in the original post to keep things standard, thanks :)

FuryNXG

fishbuff said:
hi Badrun!

nice to see u here.
please share your training pics with us. we need your expertise on powerlifting training technique too. now i kana right shoulder injury. hope to nurse it back by end of the year. I totally drop bodybuilding routine and geared for the strength round. Hope to see u and Shaiful there at the prelims. Seriously, we need you guys back here to prop up the events and increase the competitiveness. i think u will love the 600lb tire flip, really cool!

yes, again, we never have seen asian competing in IPF before.. normally we see angmoh on youtube. U and Doinker did us proud! we cheer you on!

cheers!

Hi Fishbuff,

Yup, its nice to see you here too. I saw your 2006 strongman video. It really brings back memories (good AND bad) when we competed last year. We had some 'good' times during training at the CD camp huh? Remember we put 3 ppl in the Rhino and then took turns pulling it?! That was some crazy stuff! The finals were really memorable too - and i was so happy i managed to complete the tire flip! You were shouting at me the whole way, LOL!
Too bad i cant join you this year, have been in Melbourne since Feb 06 and there was no way i can be back for the prelims and finals :(
Oh well at least i manage to get involve in the actual sport of powerlifting. Still consider myself a newbie to the sport of competitive powerlifting. Will definitely posts some of my experiences with powerlifting here. Just need to figure out how to post a narrative with pics as well. Have some video clips from my 1st comp - might be able to put that on youtube i guess.
Will keep you updated.
All the best with your rehab for the shoulder bro. Thanks for your support! Looking forward to seeing you :)
Cheers, NXG

fishbuff

FuryNXG said:
Hi Fishbuff,

Yup, its nice to see you here too. I saw your 2006 strongman video. It really brings back memories (good AND bad) when we competed last year. We had some 'good' times during training at the CD camp huh? Remember we put 3 ppl in the Rhino and then took turns pulling it?! That was some crazy stuff! The finals were really memorable too - and i was so happy i managed to complete the tire flip! You were shouting at me the whole way, LOL!
Too bad i cant join you this year, have been in Melbourne since Feb 06 and there was no way i can be back for the prelims and finals :(
Oh well at least i manage to get involve in the actual sport of powerlifting. Still consider myself a newbie to the sport of competitive powerlifting. Will definitely posts some of my experiences with powerlifting here. Just need to figure out how to post a narrative with pics as well. Have some video clips from my 1st comp - might be able to put that on youtube i guess.
Will keep you updated.
All the best with your rehab for the shoulder bro. Thanks for your support! Looking forward to seeing you :)
Cheers, NXG
when will u be back? this year? hope to have a round of training session with u and shaiful.

im sorry that last time i didnt catch up with u when u were back in singapore. Reason is that i was down with vestibular neuronitis, caught it while on business trip in JKT. bedridden for days and was incapable of walking for weeks. rehab took months...

Fury NXG? wow.. u bought a squat suit? cool! how did it help u in your squat? keen to know...

kebinu

galapogos said:
Hi kebinu! I'll add those to the list, except the squats, since squats are supposed to be ATG, not //. You're right in that the 1RM calculator isn't 100% accurate, and accuracy drops once you start doing more reps. I think there's a sweet spot somewhere where accuracy is highest, but anyway, it's just for fun and not meant to be 100% accurate anyway. Good lifts anyway!

edit: oh btw noticed that you are using a different 1RM calculator. I plugged in my lifts and they seem to be similar to the one that everyone else is using, but do try to use the one posted in the original post to keep things standard, thanks :)
i used the one in the first post.

same result.

i'm going planet fitness gym this week! first time in those club gyms. (1 week trial)

btw, i learnt lots of different things from BEC VS forum/etc.

maybe i'll set up a thread later to discuss. so many points.

subchronic13

galapogos said:

yeah. new PRs

Squat 200lbs (90.7kg) 5x5
Bench 145lbs (65.7kg) 5x5
Deadlift 175lbs (79.4kg) 4x5

anyway just for the fun after my 4x5 deadlifts of 175lbs. i tried 225lbs for 1 rep with ease. doubt the 1rm calculators are all that accurate too. just a mere guage.

galapogos

Congrats subchronic. Yup the 5RM calculator isn't meant to be accurate, but at least it's consistent enough for some form of comparison. I intentionally chose the most conservative of the few that I've come across, which might explain why your actual 1RM numbers are lower than your 4RMs. When available I will always take the true 1RM, so I'll add your 1RM to the list :)

So you failed your 5x5 deadlifts today?

Anyway, failed my 5x122.5kg squat today AGAIN. I only managed 2 reps last week, and 3 reps today. My legs are definitely taking a beating. I did manage to gain 2.5kg on my bench though for a new 5RM of 97.5kg as well as a minor 1.1kg improvement on my pendlay rows to 88.6kg.

subchronic13

galapogos said:
Congrats subchronic. Yup the 5RM calculator isn't meant to be accurate, but at least it's consistent enough for some form of comparison. I intentionally chose the most conservative of the few that I've come across, which might explain why your actual 1RM numbers are lower than your 4RMs. When available I will always take the true 1RM, so I'll add your 1RM to the list :)

So you failed your 5x5 deadlifts today?

Anyway, failed my 5x122.5kg squat today AGAIN. I only managed 2 reps last week, and 3 reps today. My legs are definitely taking a beating. I did manage to gain 2.5kg on my bench though for a new 5RM of 97.5kg as well as a minor 1.1kg improvement on my pendlay rows to 88.6kg.

isn't deadlift days 4x5 and not 5x5 ?? didn't fail. 4 sets of 5. so that makes 5 reps still. =)

thor123

subchronic13 said:
okok. new PR

Deadlift: 185lbs (i decided to do 185lbs) 4x5 reps
Congrats to you. Wish me luck - tomorrow I am going for another pb for bench press - will try for 87.5 kgs.

FireEmblem

managed 75kg x 5 reps for bench press today so converting to 1RM=84kg.Body weight still at 71kg

galapogos

Congrats subchronic, but no update on your part since your real deadlift 1RM is way higher than your calculated 1RM based on your 5RM. You have a few weeks to go before a stats update, but keep up the good work.

Fireemblem, woah that's a huge improvement over your previous 55kg bench! I'm sure your deads and squats have gone up too, any new numbers?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.