Stats time!

addict951

Wah, can 40kg 1 side liao?? I'm still doing max5 for 35kg 1 side nia!!!

Geo

addict951 said:
Wah, can 40kg 1 side liao?? I'm still doing max5 for 35kg 1 side nia!!!

Brudder, u oso quite strong leh. Wat's yr weight and height?

addict951

Geo said:
Brudder, u oso quite strong leh. Wat's yr weight and height?

I short & pui lah, 175/77 now. :crazy:

galapogos, can put me in bp chart 1st anot? I'm 'practising' on DLs, slowly but surely. :o

flat bench: (35---20---35)kgs, 5reps, got spotter but din use his service!! :D

Geo

addict951 said:
I short & pui lah, 175/77 now. :crazy:

galapogos, can put me in bp chart 1st anot? I'm 'practising' on DLs, slowly but surely. :o

flat bench: (35---20---35)kgs, 5reps, got spotter but din use his service!! :D

Ooi, 175cm and 77kg call pui, then what abt me, 174cm and 81kg, obese? Wat's yr bodyfat%?

Geo

My waist line is also 33". Hope u r not one of those who r overly concerned abt weight.

addict951

Oh, I dun mind getting heavier, but the waistline expansion got to stop liao!!!!! :o

galapogos

You got a squat or DL number? My policy is at least 2 out of the 3 lifts before you make the list. :)

galapogos

Geo said:
Wah lau, galapogos u got 2 plates for bench press liao, congrats man. Sian.. I dnt think i will able to achieve by end of Nov :(
Yup...kinda. The spotter touched the bar on the 5th rep, you know how enthusiastic spotters are. But I'm pretty sure a few more seconds was all I needed to get the 5th rep up. I'm gonna count it since I've been stuck for so long :p

bOnkfEsT

Hello all,

This is my first post here and i thought i'd introduce myself in this thread.
I've had 4 years of serious training experience in incorporating predominately powerlifting training techniques. I've just graduated from Brisbane and i'm heading home for good. I'm 23yo, 1.71m, 81-83kg.

My 3 lifts are done raw only with chalk (No belt, straps and wraps):

Bench: 145kg (In University organised competition at 81kg bodyweight)
Squats: 210kg ATG
Deadlift: 230kg (I have not maxed out in awhile and i wish to get a bigger lift
with lifting straps next time heh)

I've known Captnj since i started training as a scrawny kid at CSC gym in Marine Parade. He's an awesome friend to have and certainly an helpful individual (note: I wasn't bribed to say this)

My goal is to hit 3X bodyweight for the deads without straps or anything. Raw Ass.

Oh and i'm interested in any upcoming strongman events in Singapore.

I look forward to chatting with you guys and learning more from this informative website.

Majestic12

Welcome dudes! This sub forum is definitely getting more hardcore and informative, and that's a very good thing!

Ragemage

bOnkfEsT said:
Hello all,

I've had 4 years of serious training experience in incorporating predominately powerlifting training techniques. I've just graduated from Brisbane and i'm heading home for good. I'm 23yo, 1.71m, 81-83kg.

I've known Captnj since i started training as a scrawny kid at CSC gym in Marine Parade. He's an awesome friend to have and certainly an helpful individual (note: I wasn't bribed to say this)

My goal is to hit 3X bodyweight for the deads without straps or anything. Raw Ass.

I look forward to chatting with you guys and learning more from this informative website.
Awesome, ur stats are quite similar to Captnj's. Care to share ur training regime?

fishbuff

welcome, Bonkfest (guess u get the nick after much enjoyment there? :))

ok, some facts... strongman contest is organised yearly by hometeamns. they will first host the prelims somewhere around mid jan and the qualifying round are; farmer walk with75kg each for 20m, 4.5ton truck pull for 20m, and 600lb tire flip. they will select the top ten for the final contest.

for the final, there will be 5 events; 100kg barrel walk for 20m, 75kg logwalk for 40m, 500lb tire flip for 20m, car pull over some humps and the usual rhino truck pull for 20m. heard that there will be 2 events to replace some, yoke walk and car deadlift. there will be some revision to the weights use too. hopefully they will up the farmer walk weightst to 100kg and stick with the 600lb tire for flips.

where are you putting up in brisbane now? toowong, redhill, indooroopilly?

galapogos

omg, bonkfest that's amazing strength. And armwrestler, that's fantastic strength to weight ratio too. Care to share how long you've been training and your height? It's extremely rare to see such lightweight people lift so much.

Edit: after tabulating the scores and charting out the results, we have a new overall winner in bonkfest! I didn't think the day that captnj's superlative numbers were relegated to 2nd place would come so soon.

Anyway, the big numbers are great, but I wish more people in other stages of training would join in the fun as well. Don't feel shy/intimidated/whatever man. Just pick up the barbell and lift lift lift!

captnj

bOnkfEsT said:
Hello all,

haha welcome bonkfest! ok guys, bonkfest is no dbout a gifted guy. Built for lifting. But hes also a good example of a guy who works hard.

remember "HArd work beats talent if talent doesnt work hard" but this guy works hard + has talent so thats a great combination. hehe!

Hes got the Thick torso, popping out traps and all. He and I will be training together when he gets back. I'm glad to have somebody to train with. He will be gunning for the strongman competitions. I will be going for the 11sec 100m dash. Quite an excitign year 2007! stay tuned:)

regds
Jonathan

Geo

Strength freaks spotted :) Don't misunderstand, is a compliment and welcome to the forum, Armwrestler and Bonkfest. Armwreslter's bench press ratio is mind blowing. This is place is 卧虎藏龙.

Made some progress on my deadlift 2day, managed to do 110kg x 6 rep which translates to 128kg 1RM. Sibeh chuan, finding it harder and harder to catch up wif the stats :o .

Armwrestler

Geo said:
Strength freaks spotted :) Don't misunderstand, is a compliment and welcome to the forum, Armwrestler and Bonkfest. Armwreslter's bench press ratio is mind blowing. This is place is 卧虎藏龙.

Made some progress on my deadlift 2day, managed to do 110kg x 6 rep which translates to 128kg 1RM. Sibeh chuan, finding it harder and harder to catch up wif the stats :o .
Thank you for the praise about ratio. I appreciate it. Let us keep on lifting!

galapogos

Armwrestler said:
My birthday is 11.11.1989. Just turned 17, I hate being older. Once, when age eleven, I watched a Bruce Lee video and started lifting light weights. Actually, the serious lifting started from 15, I would say. Height, ahem....1.61 but I hope to grow taller haha.

I thank you for the praise but I have a lot of work to do with regards to deadlift haha! Now I train at home or school. Because right, that time I go Bishan Sports Hall gym, the old instructor forbid me to bench press any weight that is heavier than the bar. Wa lao...therefore I heck care outside gyms for now. When I bulk more and look bigger, I am sure they will not stop me again.
You're 17 and you hate being older? Haha, you have a long way to go before using the word "old" man. So you've been lifting for 2 years. That's awesome progress. I guess the youth and testosterones really help. Your deadlift isn't bad for your weight man...you're way up there if you look at the charts. Anyway, occasionally I train at Bishan clubfit too, I never had a problem with the trainers there...why did he forbid you to bench any weight heavier than the bar? I don't quite get what that means. You can only bench the olympic bar by itself?

bOnkfEsT

Ragemage said:
Awesome, ur stats are quite similar to Captnj's. Care to share ur training regime?

I'm currently doing a 3 day fullbody program. Big compound movements, low volume but high frequency. I find that stimulating my muscle groups frequently works best for me. I hate doing cardio and I love supersetting my workout.

I've always set realistic benchmarks or goals for myself and it has always worked for me. Captnj and i have pretty similar builts (only he's an inch or 2 taller than me), and as far as i can remember he has always lifted some pretty big numbers. He has in turn provided me with advice and aspired me to train hard and do the same.

I'm doing a self-modified chad waterbury program that works best for me.

bOnkfEsT

Ragemage said:
I'm currently doing a 3 day fullbody program. Big compound movements, low volume but high frequency. I find that stimulating my muscle groups frequently works best for me. I hate doing cardio and I love supersetting my workout.

I've always set realistic benchmarks or goals for myself and it has always worked for me. Captnj and i have pretty similar builts (only he's an inch or 2 taller than me), and as far as i can remember he has always lifted some pretty big numbers. He has in turn provided me with advice and aspired me to train hard and do the same.

I'm doing a self-modified chad waterbury program that works best for me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.