Stats time!

fishbuff

I have decided to try 1 rm of 220kg deadlift on the 1dec .. will take a vid. Cant lift heavy anymore due to ankylosing spondylitis lol .. Should be the last heavy ass lift in my life i think . Video to keep for my kids next time haha
icon11.gif

lol.. yes, that is absolutely correct. it may not seems a big deal now but when i look back to my hey days, i can point this to my son and said; "see? daddy was strong when i was 40years of age."

BenZ_80

Oh sorry my mistake in that. ATG would be 120kg then, for 3RM. Paiseh about the mix up :look:

DOnt worry about ATG or not...in the online world here and elsewhere such as bb.com and t-nation,everyone squats ATG.:D

BenZ_80

Haha its ok I personally dont trust those calculators much. Just cos some formula says you can lift it doesn't mean you actually can. And its damn pointless to state numbers which I haven't achieved yet in my view. Thanks for your input though.

Dont ever base your 1RM on some goofy calculator.Go perform the actual 1RM itself.;)

galapogos

I have decided to try 1 rm of 220kg deadlift on the 1dec .. will take a vid. Cant lift heavy anymore due to ankylosing spondylitis lol .. Should be the last heavy ass lift in my life i think . Video to keep for my kids next time haha
icon11.gif

Wow, that's a 35kg increase in slightly more than 1 month. Good luck man.

BenZ_80 said:
DOnt worry about ATG or not...in the online world here and elsewhere such as bb.com and t-nation,everyone squats ATG.
Dont ever base your 1RM on some goofy calculator.Go perform the actual 1RM itself.
ATG is easier to judge than "parallel". You simply go all the way down until you can't go any further. There's no need to take out a protractor and measure your knee angle to make sure your thighs are parallel. If people want to cheat themselves with quarter squats to move up higher on the list, there's nothing we can do. As explained in the very 1st post, the list isn't meant to be accurate - we're not exactly posting our records to the Guinness book of records. Otherwise I'd ask for video evidence of all lifts, and that way nobody would make it to this list and that would kill all the fun. The list simply a fun way of seeing where you rank among the other people here. Simple as that.

beachbumkc

all the best x_slinger.
Do take care, lifting isnt always about the heaviest you can lift.

BenZ_80

Lifting is about dominating/being in control the weight even it means 10kg off your best.=:p

ketua

After about a year of irregular training, it's time to update my humble progress:

BW = 72kg
BP = 70kg
SQ = 100kg
DL = 120kg

Not too bad lah for a 41yo uncle.

ketua

good stuff unker.. 1.5 bw soon!

Thanks for encouragement. Yes 1.5xBW squat is my mid-term target.

But actually not so soon, because I'm also target to (clean) bulk till 75kg. So for every kg I gain, I'll be 1.5kg away from my 1.5xBW squat. :D

weibchen

you can do it!
Old folks usually underestimate themselves...

My senior female clients always say/think its too heavy, then i tell them they're doing they get shock.
Or maybe i got some mature power lifters lol!

So far one senior aussy lawyer who is late 40s with one kid is doing 14kg DB incline bench, 10kg db per side Single leg deadlifts - which translate to 40kg normal deadlifts...
14kg DB swings for 4 sets of 30/30 intervals and 4 mins 20 secs for leg matrix is her PR..

So it can be done, just need determination and drive and you'll reach your goal.. never too old to be strong!

ketua

never too old to be strong!

Thanks! This is very encouraging. I'm going to print on the iron-on paper and print on my workout T-shirt. :D

But I never 'under estimate' myself. I pushed till cannot liao then only set these humble PR. ha ha

Will surely work hard towards setting a more decent PR.

Uncle 当自强!

zantan

After about a year of irregular training, it's time to update my humble progress:

BW = 72kg
BP = 70kg
SQ = 100kg
DL = 120kg

Not too bad lah for a 41yo uncle.

dont underestimate your potential despite your age

you can be really strong despite your age

there are world class powerlifters still lifting competitively at around your age.

fishbuff

Me 67 too.

Didn't know you're as 'young'.
Then it's really another motivating factor since you can still be strong. No excuse for me. :)

Aiya, it is sg culture to coin people over 40 as "old". and 50s as obsolete. that is one thing i hate about work culture in sg; >35 is baaaaaad.

my fellow colleagues here in IT are in their 40 to 60s and they are still working as engineers/developers/administrators.

X_slinger

I did my 200 kg deadlift today.. though form not great.. but still happy with it . 220!!!!! SOON!!!:yawn:

ketua

I did my 200 kg deadlift today.. though form not great.. but still happy with it . 220!!!!! SOON!!!:yawn:

Wow! this kind of poundage can only happen in my dream. :s22:

For now, I'm taking baby-steps. Next major milestone would be 300lb (136kg). Jia You!!

BenZ_80

Wa 220 was a total failure , cant even move the weight haha.

From 200 to 220kg within a month is really hasty. Don't worry,deload and try it during the week before Chinese New Year,you have my support,good luck!:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.