STI ETF

Mecisteus

Is STI a good dividend stock to hold?

You need to look at the overall or total returns perspective.

STI is known to be generous with dividends payouts.

But capital gain may be limited. ie price may be sideways.

If you are looking for a simple savings plan and an expected total returns of 4-6% pa, then go and sign up for a regular savings plan with STI.

If you are looking for higher expected returns, then go to the US market.

Iyarash11

Don't think it's high risk. I also bought with my CPF OA this morning.;)

also dont understand why high risk?
if use cpf buy means will hold for long
unless STI go way below 2500 now and unable to recover for more than 2 years?
div if est. at 10-12cents per share per year, that is higher than cpf 2.5%
that's good reason to hold for longer period till capital gain.

Mecisteus

Don't think it's high risk. I also bought with my CPF OA this morning.;)

I think he probably meant whether it is worth the risk.

CPF is 2.5% (risk free)

Cash is near 0%

STI ETF expected return is 4-6%

It might be worth it if investing using cash. But using CPF, is the additional returns worth the risk?

ahboy_ahboy

Hi all, i just bought yesterday @ $2.518

2000 shares (first investment)

because i read too much all suggest buy ETF for a start

Am i correct?

looking to buy UOB,Singtel,KIT,OCBC.
when drop to a desired level

Any expert can guide?

Mr. Wood

Am i correct?

Any expert can guide?

u need oso confidence and conviction.
do u know wht u are buying into?
can u hold and not sell when others telling u sti is a scam, is terrible, is lousy? if u dunno all these or dun wan to know, the better safer investment is world equity index etf or CPF.

2. need reality check. do u know the expected returns of STI vs other instruments?
if u expecting 7-10% like the good old days, u need to revisit yr strategy and allocation.

reddevil0728

Am i correct?

Any expert can guide?

What’s considered a desired level?

wutawa

Am i correct?

Any expert can guide?
Congrats on your 1st step.

Buying by suggestion is a common mistake, even for veterans. How do u determine the desired level of the counters u have mentioned?

Keep a record of your investment portfolio and assess it periodically. Good luck! :)

(not vested)

ahboy_ahboy

u need oso confidence and conviction.
do u know wht u are buying into?
can u hold and not sell when others telling u sti is a scam, is terrible, is lousy? if u dunno all these or dun wan to know, the better safer investment is world equity index etf or CPF.

2. need reality check. do u know the expected returns of STI vs other instruments?
if u expecting 7-10% like the good old days, u need to revisit yr strategy and allocation.

Hi, thanks for the advice, yeah did research on that and willing to hold for good 5-10 years. Also understand the dividends wont be that great as well. Currently only know for SGX there's nikko and SPDR.. so only purchased SPDR as the only course of investment.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.