(Storage) SSD Discussion Thread

cscs3

And if my os is install in ssd while other data on normal hardisk ,will there any diff in perfomance?
I just install new win7 ultimate 64bit but feeel the startup still slow.the old harddisk already 8years old 80gb toshiba.
Thanks

Save the money and buy a bigger capacity hardisk is a better way. Many people buy ssd for fast boot, this is wrong concept. The better place to use ssd is those database or data you need to access very frequently.

some1outthere

Save the money and buy a bigger capacity hardisk is a better way. Many people buy ssd for fast boot, this is wrong concept. The better place to use ssd is those database or data you need to access very frequently.

The OS and program files are precisely the type of data that needs to be accessed "very frequently".

fast boot is a bonus.

wackykid

Most bloatware like? I installed Windows 8 :p

Bootup time is about 8 secs from hitting the power on till everything is loaded in Windows. It's a netbook though.

8 seconds that sounds very fast... some more it's "only" a netbook...

regards,
wacky

human_shieldz

8 seconds that sounds very fast... some more it's "only" a netbook...

regards,
wacky

Think part of the reason also cos it's Win 8. I didn't have many things in it also, just office and the AV is MS security essential. Shutting down was like 5 secs. I'm more happy with the boot and shutdown than the usage itself, which is really what's more important lol.

human_shieldz

err so fast or not
my desktop take more than 15 sec:(

I did a benchmark leh and what i had compare to some benchmarking review i saw online the read and write is only like half of what they have???? :s11:

That person is using a better machine for sure but does that impact so much to be twice the speed of mine???

George Soros

I did a benchmark leh and what i had compare to some benchmarking review i saw online the read and write is only like half of what they have???? :s11:

That person is using a better machine for sure but does that impact so much to be twice the speed of mine???
Maybe hardware also affect ??
But now i dun noe which brand to go ...
Any suggestion,?

human_shieldz

Maybe hardware also affect ??
But now i dun noe which brand to go ...
Any suggestion,?

Think need more pro to recommend. I thought Intel, a big name, is good to go but then unfortunately it gave me more problem than it's worth but a good learning experience though. Next one i would consider is Sandisk but then think not many here got it? I only consider it cos use their memory card and flashdrive good only :s13:

mistersatki_

intel 330 is cheap n gd what
get a 120gb shld be ok le ba

install ur OS and all the prog inside
ur video n music can throw inside hdd

human_shieldz

intel 330 is cheap n gd what
get a 120gb shld be ok le ba

install ur OS and all the prog inside
ur video n music can throw inside hdd

Not for me lor. So problematic from the start. Another user here seems working fine for him but not me but i also read online from people having issues on it too.

zabuton

Got my intel 330 when price drop. So far ok. Running SATA2 cos old mobo. Didn't bother switch to ACHI. Just cloned and disabled some settings to optimized (based on SSD tweak guide).

goenitz33

what are good smaller sized budget SSDs to consider?

my friend is looking for upgrade but his is SATA 2 mobo

goenitz33

SSD works optimally with Windows 7 right?

there is a performance degrade with XP ?

is it true?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.