(Storage) SSD Discussion Thread

xonix

SSD works optimally with Windows 7 right?

there is a performance degrade with XP ?

is it true?

SSD performance will degrade on both Win 7 and Win XP.

Just that it will degrade faster on XP due to the lack of native TRIM support.

However, some SSDs makers like Intel, provide a tool for users to run TRIM manually or on a schedule.

The difficulty in setting AHCI on Win XP also hurts performance (very) slightly.

human_shieldz

SSD performance will degrade on both Win 7 and Win XP.

Just that it will degrade faster on XP due to the lack of native TRIM support.

However, some SSDs makers like Intel, provide a tool for users to run TRIM manually or on a schedule.

The difficulty in setting AHCI on Win XP also hurts performance (very) slightly.

Any idea why would my TRIM not be working? Keep saying i got RAID ARRAY and there's definitely none, unless they consider partitioning a RAID :s13: But that's the boot partition leh. I installed Windows 8 fresh somemore.

bladez87

what is TRIM for? paiseh i really know nuts about SSD, anywhere i can read up for more info?

zabuton

Detection of storage devices works on both AHCI & IDE mode.

There are some added features missing if you do not using AHCI but do not affect detection.

Read: AHCI vs IDE

Performance advantages seems to apply for disc based NCQ only. Hotplug not useful for boot SSD.

This review will assist better,
SSD Benchmark Tests: SATA IDE vs AHCI Mode | AHCI vs IDE,SSD,AHCI,IDE,SATA,Solid State Drive,Benchmark Performance SSD Testing AHCI vs IDE,Benchmark Performance SSD Testing: Intel ICH10 SATA AHCI vs IDE Mode Speed and IOPS Comparison

My point of view, I'm on SATA2, it works. No need to hassle over AHCI or IDE and just enjoying the boost.

George Soros

i also using SATA2 for my intel 330... my mobo can't even find ACHI option but can detect...

regards,
wacky
So just plug n install la
Then i see there a thread must enable achi...

Ankther question,trim is auto enable liao?
Need setting or not??

wackykid

So just plug n install la
Then i see there a thread must enable achi...

Ankther question,trim is auto enable liao?
Need setting or not??

i dunno about windows but i think need setting...

i'm using linux mint... i needed to modify my fstab to enable auto trim....

regards,
wacky

asus zenbook ssd replacement

Look for U100 specifically or msata SSD in general?

i seriously am in doubt , is there a proper way to get it upgraded to another brand ? by the way i am using a 256GB version from Sandisk. Want to buy a backup in case this technology does not go far.Thanks

xonix

i seriously am in doubt , is there a proper way to get it upgraded to another brand ? by the way i am using a 256GB version from Sandisk. Want to buy a backup in case this technology does not go far.Thanks

SSD despite it's limitations will go quite farther than you think when used in conjunction with a compatible OS and it's built in controller wear levelling.

As for the mSATA slot, I am not familiar with it's variations in the current products but have come across this article so take care when looking for a replacement.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.