(Storage) SSD Discussion Thread

human_shieldz

I did fresh Win7 installation on my Intel 330 last Sat, so far so good never encounter freezing (touch wood)

Changed my BIOS SATA Controller set to AHCI Mode before installation. I follow this Solid State Drive (SSD) Tweaks for Windows 7

TRIM is enabled by default after installation. My BootRacer timing is 16 sec.

Cool, some of the things worth trying but i think my Windows 8 was installed fresh, the initial upgrade was done on the HDD before if i didn't remember wrongly.

Calvin.Lee

What if the laptop (like the HP DV6 7009TX) BIOS does not indicate if SATA is configure at AHCI mode? There is no available settings on the BIOS to change any settings on the SATA controller mode.

So can I assume it is running on AHCI mode? Is there a way to check if it is running at AHCI mode if BIOS does not indicate?

ordway

Been using the OCZ revodrive 3 x2 480gb for the past week. Had to reflash bios and firmware to get the same scores on the benchmarks on review sites. Before the flash was scoring around 1000 on AS SSD, after flash 1480 score.

Thoughts (in comparison to Intel 520 480gb):

Slower boot-time definitely, given you have to load the onboard RAID drivers. Extra 5-7 sec on the Asus Rampage IV Formula motherboard I'm using.

Intel 520 was no slouch when it came to responsiveness of the OS, but you see the difference between the drives when you load up bigger programs such as Diablo 3, Photoshop, Adobe Premier Elements. Start up are faster, Filters process faster etc...

Big question is was it worth the USD700 premium over the Intel 520 SSD? Definitely not from a performance perspective unless you're a very heavy user of video editing software or want to plug this card into a server, but I guess the incremental performance at this level commands a premium price.

Comparison to magnetic platter drives: bitc* please... :)

adrianlee

Plextor M5 Pro
Expreview.com

Plextor M5 Pro 256GB Review
Expreview.com

Plextor M5 Pro on sale in Japan
Akiba-pc.watch.impress.co.jp

sfpx3.jpg

adrianlee

human_shieldz

Cool, some of the things worth trying but i think my Windows 8 was installed fresh, the initial upgrade was done on the HDD before if i didn't remember wrongly.

Woah? I disable indexing and defragmentation schedule and the freezing is gone?? But i think what did the trick was removing indexing. Kinda F up that i have to go thru so many things to fix it. Intel should have done a better job.

arch angelz

Intel 330 SSD user.

Hi, I want to find out if any peeps here using intel 330 SSD in their 2008-2009 MacBook pro?
Any issue arises after installation? I'm planning to get one for my 2008 MBP but read a mixed reviews...

human_shieldz

Hi, I want to find out if any peeps here using intel 330 SSD in their 2008-2009 MacBook pro?
Any issue arises after installation? I'm planning to get one for my 2008 MBP but read a mixed reviews...

I think this Intel 330 SSD seems to be problematic leh. Not sure if its me or this SSD in particular. I read many people has freezing every now and then. My freezing is terrible to the point that i almost couldn't do anything until i disable indexing. I'm using Windows though.

melvin612

I can't decide on getting the Intel 520 [240GB] or Kingston HyperX 3K [240GB] for my desktop.

The price difference is like USD$15 more for the Intel 520 but I'm not too concerned with the prices. I'm mostly into performance, reliability and durability of the SSD. I have read through reviews and scanned through comparison charts and still unable to come to a conclusion. Results are so similar, so I really need some opinions before I buy.

I'm currently using an Alienware Area 51, running on i7 990x processor; 12GB 1600mhz RAM; Nvidia GTX580 SLI; 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue HDD. I use it to play graphics intensive games such as Skyrim & BF3 with the highest possible video settings.

Please advise!

arch angelz

I think this Intel 330 SSD seems to be problematic leh. Not sure if its me or this SSD in particular. I read many people has freezing every now and then. My freezing is terrible to the point that i almost couldn't do anything until i disable indexing. I'm using Windows though.

Thanks for the info.

human_shieldz

Ok tried installing Windows 8 from scratch and........TRIM still does not work zzzzz. Still say i got RAID ARRAY.

xtwis7

I think Windows Update is giving me problems. First 2 installations of Win 7 I updated the impt files and gave me several BSODs such as BADPOOLHEADER, MEMORY MANAGEMENT. 3rd try I disabled Win 7 update completely and I think I'll just update drivers as long as they don't touch Windows files. Shall continue to monitor because after complete shutdown and power off, next time booting up again problems might surface despite previous usage not having any problems. I don't know why my cpu temp is higher now with the ssd installed. Would flashing the BIOS to a more updated firmware help?

human_shieldz

I think Windows Update is giving me problems. First 2 installations of Win 7 I updated the impt files and gave me several BSODs such as BADPOOLHEADER, MEMORY MANAGEMENT. 3rd try I disabled Win 7 update completely and I think I'll just update drivers as long as they don't touch Windows files. Shall continue to monitor because after complete shutdown and power off, next time booting up again problems might surface despite previous usage not having any problems. I don't know why my cpu temp is higher now with the ssd installed. Would flashing the BIOS to a more updated firmware help?

Think you can try update BIOS then see how lor. What SSD are you using? The SSD i bought giving me problem more than the benefit of it haha.

wackykid

my intel 330 so far running for 2 weeks... dun have issues so far....

i running on linux mint though... :D

regards,
wacky

human_shieldz

my intel 330 so far running for 2 weeks... dun have issues so far....

i running on linux mint though... :D

regards,
wacky

Even Mac users has this issue. I'm sure it's not 90% of users has this, just that those problems seems so common, you can hardly run from it.

:p Maybe Linux the way to go haha.

xtwis7

Just followed Sean's guide for creating a junction from HDD to SSD for my steam games. This is extremely valuable man.

xtwis7

Think you can try update BIOS then see how lor. What SSD are you using? The SSD i bought giving me problem more than the benefit of it haha.

I got the crucial m4 256gb lor. So far today no problem. Installed a few drivers also okay. So shall not touch it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.