Structured cabling in HDB flat

derrickgoh

Don't worry lah... HDB engineers must have given a great deal of thought during the planning and design stage. Just imagine the complexity of running all these electrical, scv and structured cables concealed. While fiber cable became public knowledge not too long ago, HDB must have known it long before us. If telephone wire from Singtel can be pulled in concealed into this utility room, the same must apply to fiber cable too.

By the way, did you manage to get the drawings or take a look at them?
Guess you are right. After all even the OpenNet guide booklet talked about the first choice location for TP being in the utility cabinet so there must be a way.

Nope. Only floor plan, no other drawings. BTW only those points with D can be used to plug in RJ45 cable right? Those with T are telephone points and can't be used for RJ45 right?

Here's one of the T points I found. Seems to be lots of them around the house. Need so many phone sockets for what sia? LOL!
okr4lj.jpg

Not very clear but here's the D point beside the SCV point in "my" room.
97iro4.jpg

Also, based on my earlier photo, any idea if that point inside the utility closet is a data point? Crap lah wish I made a note or took a clearer pic.

mrsun18

Nope. Only floor plan, no other drawings. BTW only those points with D can be used to plug in RJ45 cable right? Those with T are telephone points and can't be used for RJ45 right?
Those who are already enjoying the features please enlighten.

romanohairi

My TP near the telephone port. So Im using the phone port to utility box and then to my bedroom data port. I assume it's the same as I can get the actual bandwidth. Refer to my previous post.

mrsun18

My TP near the telephone port. So Im using the phone port to utility box and then to my bedroom data port. I assume it's the same as I can get the actual bandwidth. Refer to my previous post.
If I understand you correctly, then RJ45 ports are used for both ethernet and telephone? People who use telephone will have problem with the sockets inside the unit?

liangtam

It depends on what socket was fitted and what cable was used behind the T outlets.

An RJ11 modular plug can fit in an RJ45 wallplate

derrickgoh

Hmm, so I guess its still safer to plug the ethernet cable into ports specifically labelled as D and not try the T instead.

liangtam

Hmm, so I guess its still safer to plug the ethernet cable into ports specifically labelled as D and not try the T instead.

No. The point is, it might be a RJ45 socket with UTP eth wiring at the back of the panel.

Then the T or D labeling no longer matters. They could just be using the same cable and panel socket for the whole thing.

You can check the pins first, if theres 4 maybe you can still make some 100Mbps eth connectivity.

derrickgoh

No. The point is, it might be a RJ45 socket with UTP eth wiring at the back of the panel.

Then the T or D labeling no longer matters. They could just be using the same cable and panel socket for the whole thing.

You can check the pins first, if theres 4 maybe you can still make some 100Mbps eth connectivity.
No point then. Might as well just use the "D" one. BTW, you know the earlier pic I posted, any idea what is that white socket beside the circuit breaker? Is that for plugging in the fibre modem?

mrsun18

Using RJ45 For Telephone Port

Took out my spare ADSL modem for an experiment.

1. RJ11 male to the RJ11 female, easy with a nice click feeling when it is properly seated. Easy to pull out too.

2. Managed to insert RJ11 male to the RJ45 female but needed considerable force. Hard to pull out. The feel is not right. The compatibility of wiring not considered.

While technically it may be possible to use RJ45 for both telephone and ethernet ports, it is inconceivable that HDB engineer will specific RJ45 for telephone ports unless flexibility overrides other considerations.

I hope derrickgoh can help to verify this when his family take possession of the apartment.

upgrade

Took out my spare ADSL modem for an experiment.

1. RJ11 male to the RJ11 female, easy with a nice click feeling when it is properly seated. Easy to pull out too.

2. Managed to insert RJ11 male to the RJ45 female but needed considerable force. Hard to pull out. The feel is not right. The compatibility of wiring not considered.

While technically it may be possible to use RJ45 for both telephone and ethernet ports, it is inconceivable that HDB engineer will specific RJ45 for telephone ports unless flexibility overrides other considerations.

I hope derrickgoh can help to verify this when his family take possession of the apartment.

I agree.

The RJ11 (RJ14 and RJ25) are not designed to fit a RJ45.

The plug and socket we know as the telephone plug and socket are designed as the same except for the number of wires used:

RJ11:
Only the 2 inner most wires are used - wires 3 and 4 in the link below.

RJ14:
The 4 inner most wires are used - wires 2, 3, 4 and 5 in the link below.

RJ25:
All 6 wires are used.

How to Wire a Phone Jack (Voice or Telephone RJ-11 thru RJ-14)

Telephones approved by iDA and sold need only the inner 2 wires, therefore RJ11. In Singapore the wall socket is expecetd to be RJ11. When you buy a phone, the provided wire is usually RJ11 and can be RJ14. The phone extension cable you buy from the shop can be RJ11 or RJ14 - both can be used. Wires 2 and 5 are redundant.

RJ45 are designed thinner and wider than RJ11/14/25 so they are NOT designed to fit.

If the wall phone socket are installed as RJ45, then you buy any new phone home, you will not have the wire to fit and use the phone. Therefore, the wall phone socket must be RJ11/14.

mrsun18

I agree.

The RJ11 (RJ14 and RJ25) are not designed to fit a RJ45.

The plug and socket we know as the telephone plug and socket are designed as the same except for the number of wires used:

RJ11:
Only the 2 inner most wires are used - wires 3 and 4 in the link below.

RJ14:
The 4 inner most wires are used - wires 2, 3, 4 and 5 in the link below.

RJ25:
All 6 wires are used.

How to Wire a Phone Jack (Voice or Telephone RJ-11 thru RJ-14)

Telephones approved by iDA and sold need only the inner 2 wires, therefore RJ11. In Singapore the wall socket is expecetd to be RJ11. When you buy a phone, the provided wire is usually RJ11 and can be RJ14. The phone extension cable you buy from the shop can be RJ11 or RJ14 - both can be used. Wires 2 and 5 are redundant.

RJ45 are designed thinner and wider than RJ11/14/25 so they are NOT designed to fit.

If the wall phone socket are installed as RJ45, then you buy any new phone home, you will not have the wire to fit and use the phone. Therefore, the wall phone socket must be RJ11/14.
Excellent details!! As I said earlier, it is inconceivable for HDB engineers to specify RJ45 for RJ11. Engineers design based on specs and regulations.

liangtam

No, there are a number of offices where they repatch the panel meant for data, for phone purposes - due to misplanning or flexibility purpose.

Try hooking the 6P2C/6P4C RJ11 connector into an RJ45 outlet. They will connect over the middle pin(i.e. pin 4 & 5) and the line will work as is.
Sometimes, the company doing the job might just use UTP eth wiring instead for bulk cost reasons instead, so they can be easily converted for both data and voice purposes.

NOTE: A RJ45 jack will NOT fit a 6P/RJ11 outlet!!!

mrsun18

No, there are a number of offices where they repatch the panel meant for data, for phone purposes - due to misplanning or flexibility purpose.

Try hooking the 6P2C/6P4C RJ11 connector into an RJ45 outlet. They will connect over the middle pin(i.e. pin 4 & 5) and the line will work as is.
Sometimes, the company doing the job might just use UTP eth wiring instead for bulk cost reasons instead, so they can be easily converted for both data and voice purposes.

NOTE: A RJ45 jack will NOT fit a 6P/RJ11 outlet!!!
Whatever can or cannot be done, and what were actually done by some companies, let's find out what is done actually by HDB. The information will be most helpful to a lot of people.

romanohairi

7836006996_f38cf616f9_n.jpg

T & D are using UTP cat 5e cable.... it's all depend on the socket on the face place. But mine is all RJ45..... :)

mrsun18

7836006996_f38cf616f9_n.jpg

T & D are using UTP cat 5e cable.... it's all depend on the socket on the face place. But mine is all RJ45..... :)
Finally the truth is out... I was sure owners were given the diagram. Looks like I was wrong on the telephone sockets in the rooms.

derrickgoh

So if the sockets are all using 5e, when i plug my mac into the socket, is it ok if i use a cat 6 cable, or must it b cat 5e?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.